Customer Reviews for

Sarah (Women of Genesis Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Through the eyes of a Woman

    It's not often you get to read a Bible story through the eyes of a woman, and Orson Scott Card does a remarkable job at doing exactly that. He portrays the oft told story of Abraham, but from the view point of his wife Sarah, which gives the story a twist you never would have imagined. Card probes into the mind of Sarah so well, with such detail, that I sometimes forget a man was the author of this remarkable book. I would reccomend this book to any Orson Scott Card fans, or Bible fans, or anybody looking for a fantastic book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    I laughed and I cried

    I loved this book from the first chapter. I couldn't put it down. The dialog between Sarah and Abraham is quite funny at times. It also made me cry because he writes so that you feel like you know Sarah. I am buying Rebekah right now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2005

    Wonderful...

    A truly incredible book, with surprising insight and novelty of which I greatly relished. I had never before read Orson Scott Card, as I was never a science fiction enthusiast; however he expresses a remarkable ability to infuse humanity and life into a character most know only superficially and cannot relate to. Sarah is presented with as much strength and inner fire as I imagined, and I gleefully found her to be a person of wisdom worthy of her position as Mother of a Nation. Rejoice, for this book, as well as the rest of the `trilogy,¿ comes highly recommended, from me to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Sarah

    I loved this book. After I read it, I looked in the book of Genesis for the story of Sarah, and Abraham, and Lot and everyone else. Orson Scott Card was extremely accurate on most everything. The reason I say MOST is because there is this one part where Hagar runs into the desert when Sarah was mean to her, and also there were some age stuff (like how old they were when a specific event took place--but that might be just me.) Like I said before, I just LOVE this book, and I recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    WOW this book was amazing!

    Card once again leaves me astonished. This was a wonderfully written historical novel about an amazing woman. I am in awe of the author's ability to take on the characters personality. I found that as a reader it was easy to identify with Sarah, she was such a supremely real character that it was hard not to fall in love with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    Card scores again

    This book gets you into the head of these powerful women and gives you a positive attitude. 'Sarah' is one of those books you just can't put down. I'm looking forward to the following titles in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    great read

    excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Wow!

    What a great understanding of scripture and the strength needed by this woman. Great biblical fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    A great read

    This is a fabulous book. The story of Sarah and Abraham is presented in such a way as to make it come alive to the reader. Please read this, you will not be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    Amazing depth and humanity

    This is an incredible depiction of Sarah's point of view. It brings to life a completely believable personality; although we don't learn that much about her from the Bible, I'd really like to think this is how it was for her. I've always been flabbergasted at how she could give her handmaiden to her husband - this is really an eye opener. It opens up insights and very real feelings she may have experienced. It's amazing, how OSC could put his readers into a female's shoes so well!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    Excellent Book

    I picked this book up at the local B&N on Saturday night and finished it on Monday. I could not put it down. What got me hooked was Card's presentation of Sara, and all the other characters, as REAL people I could relate to. I found myself wanting to know more about them and what was going to happen next. It was interesting to see how they were real people living and dealing with human problems while trying to live their faith. Their issues were not Old Testament or ancient history issues, but timeless life challenging situations that people grapple with today. I can hardly wait to read the next book, Rebekah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    The Series Begins

    I enjoyed tis book emensely. I would recomend it to anyone, because you don't have to be afraid to read it to your kids. OSC is my favorite author, and I appoligize for all the typos. It is, according to my findings, almost 100% accurate, and a little bit of opinion. I really enjoyed it, and it gave me a greater appreciation for Sarah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    The Begining of a Beautiful Series

    I thought that this book was awesom. I was not totally familiar with the storie of Abraham, but doing a little reading has gotten me to realize that much of this book is accurate. I thought that it was totally inspired. I must say that every one of OSC's books will some day be contained in my library, and I recomend this book to anyone who doesn't want to be reading something that will pollute their mind. I LOVED IT. (as I do all his books)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    Sarai, the nobility of a righteous woman

    This is a stellar book about the nobility of Sarai, the wife of Abram, later Sarah, the wife of Abraham. Orson Scott Card takes this well-known story and adds new depths and insights. For a sensitive reader it may open doors and insights into the old Bible stories that the reader might never have imagined existed. Never before has the classic biblical story been retold with such attention to detail and sympathy toward one of God's most beloved of women. From Sarai's childhood promise to the Temple of Asherah, to her resolve to allow Hagar to bear Abram's child, to Sarah's old-age conception, this novel adds depths and possibilities the average (and even exceptional) Bible reader would never have considered. A well-thought out and deeply researched book. One you're sure to want to read straight through as soon as you start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2000

    I have read the first few Chapters, and WOW!

    So far I have read the first couple of chapters of this book, and so far it seems to be up to par with Cards other historical novels. It is very enjoyable, and I hope to be able to read the rest of it soon. I hope that Mr. Card continues to write books of great quality. When this book gets released, be sure to pick this one up! Its going to be great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2