Customer Reviews for

Sarah, Plain and Tall

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

great book for reading

Sarah Plain and Tall
Sarah plain and tall is a great book. It is a fiction book. It was written by Patricia MacLauchlan. I enjoyed reading this book I do suggest to read this book.
The main characters of this book are Sarah, Caleb, Anna, and there dad. I can iden...
Sarah Plain and Tall
Sarah plain and tall is a great book. It is a fiction book. It was written by Patricia MacLauchlan. I enjoyed reading this book I do suggest to read this book.
The main characters of this book are Sarah, Caleb, Anna, and there dad. I can identify with Sarah because we both love the sea. Pa pa is creative and funny. Seal is Sarah's cat. The cat disappears in the night.
The story takes place in the 1900's. They are in the middle of no where in Tennessee. They live on a farm with fields that reminds Sarah of the sea in Maine. There is a barn that the kids like to play in, and they keep all the animals there. The house is old but in good shape.
I think the author is trying to say people that aren't from where you are just like you. I learned to try new things and to trust people. Pa pa saw a big storm coming and he knew the roof needed to be fix so Sarah and Pa pa fix the roof together and ran inside.
Two kids and their dad live together on a farm. One day the dad put a flier out looking for a new wife because the kid's mom died and they need more help. Sarah replied to his flier saying that she is plain, tall, and loves the sea. When she got there was happy but still sad. The kids helped her feel better. They went swimming and played in the hay. Sarah wanted to lean how to ride horse and drive. One day Sarah goes to town and its dark now and she not home yet. The kids are sitting inside and the dogs start to bark and every body runs out side it Sarah.
I thought it was a great book good story, good book. The book was fun. It was slightly predicable. I would give this book four stars

posted by smcadigan on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sweet

A nice short quick read. I read the author's other book Baby and really liked it. I heard about this but for some reason hadn't read it. Now I have and it is a sweet story.

posted by SleepDreamWrite on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I read this book in third grade.I love Seal,the cat.IT was soooo

    I read this book in third grade.I love Seal,the cat.IT was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good.Read SARAH PLAIN AND TALL.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Sarah, Plain and Tall: One of My All-Time Favorites

    Although the writer of the book-cover blurbs recommends this book for ages 8-10, I disagree; it is a book for readers of all ages to enjoy. Patricia MacLachlan has created a simple, lovely, heart-warming story about the intricacies, the simplicities, and (mostly) the power of love. The reader experiences not only the hardships of life on the American prairie, but also the indomitable spirit of a motherless family struggling to survive, prosper, and to persuade Sarah, a spirited visitor from Maine, to stay permanently -- to fill a painful void in their lives. Considering the vast differences in background between Jacob's pioneer family and the gentle (but strong) East Coast native, Sarah's decision might a difficult one to make.

    Written from the point of view of Anna, the little girl in the family, the narrative is clear, concise, and totally believable. MacLachlan effectively uses a minimal number of words to create a maximal number of images -- evoking a wide range of emotional responses, from laughter to tears.

    I recommend this book to any child or adult looking to immerse oneself into a family-oriented, "feel-good" story. It's no mystery why Sarah, Plain and Tall is a Newbery Medal winner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Mail Order Bride

    Sarah, Plain and Tall is a 1986 Newbery Medal Winner. It is the story of a girl named Anna, her brother Caleb and her father Jacob and the loss of their mother soon after giving birth to Caleb. Jacob is having a hard time raising his children and taking care of the farm alone. He decides to order a mail order bride like his neighbor, which was quiet common in those days. When Anna and Caleb hear the news they begin to write Sarah letters. Sarah is from Maine and has some very interesting stories to tell about her life on the coast. The children have never seen the ocean and Sarah's stories seem to come from another world. When Sarah arrives the children are excited and seem to accept her. Even though Sarah has brought her pet cat Seal with her she still misses her aunts, brother and the sea. Of course, Sarah has grown to love the children and is torn between her feelings of where she belongs. The children have also fallen in love with Sarah and do not wish to lose her. This story is wonderful, giving the reader an insight of life on the prairie in the 1800's. As a person reads the book he/she finds him/herself falling in love with the characters and wanting them to become a family. This book is recommended to children 8-10 years of age, but I would recommend it to anyone. Sarah, Plain and Tall falls into the genre of historical fiction due to the setting, timeline and events that occur during the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Omg

    This book made me cry i thought like it would be so boring but it turned out to be a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Sarah plain and tall

    You should read the series cause I read the first three books at school and my teacher says that we should read the last two books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    I read it

    I read this book in 5th grade it is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Best book ever

    This book inspiers kids like no other book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Best book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am on the last chapter of Sarah Plain and tall and it is so interesting so far and I love the book so far!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am reading this because I have to dona project on it. P.S I am in 2nd grade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Sarah plain and tall

    WOW. I am seeing so many books i read in third grade right now. First Stone Fox, now this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Awrsum

    Read this book for a assingment is second grafe. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Sweet story of a step mother and children adjusting to her.

    Gentle and sweet pioneer story of a family set on the prairie. Very wholesome and touching. Redefines family after the loss of a mother. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Must read for girls!

    Beautiful, chaste story. Perfect for pre teens, this is the kind of material our cchildren should be exposed to, not the junk that is out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Col

    Cooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    L

    This book is great. I read it in third grade and i just finished it now. I reccomend this for kids in grades 3- whatever age. This book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Grace moran

    I love this book just like evry one says you realy need to read this amazing book ,it took me on the ride of my life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Shelby

    U used my ending good jod lol sorryppl dint usuakky listen to me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Sarah,Plain,andd Tall

    Very good book.And very kid friendly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Riley

    Best book ever!!! I love it so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Its the best book i have ever raed you will love it

    A sad yet amasingbook & exsideing story of a dad,sun & dearter they live in the cochrey he waentid to get mardyd so he rote to a gerl she werer a ylow bont on her haed & she loved the kids so mouch she marddedy ther dad & the dogs & one cat it isa good bookyou sud read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Love it!!!!!!!!!

    This book is great for kids! I enjoyed it sooooo much!! I think ADULTS mayby enjoy it! My teacher liked it! VERY good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4