BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sarah's Key

Average Rating 4.5
( 650 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(371)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

120 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

Sarah's Key

In this book, Tatiana DeRosnay creates two parallel stories which eventually intersect and each completes the other. One story takes place in 1942 when a young Jewish girl and her family are rounded up by the French police who detain them before sending them to the Nazi...
In this book, Tatiana DeRosnay creates two parallel stories which eventually intersect and each completes the other. One story takes place in 1942 when a young Jewish girl and her family are rounded up by the French police who detain them before sending them to the Nazi gas chambers. The second story concerns a modern-day journalist who discovers the fact that the French turned Jews over to the Nazis and decides to write a story about it. The journalist has troubles of her own and her pursuit of the truth threatens her husband's family and her marriage. This is an engrossing story which is based on an actual incident and is one of the best books I've read in awhile. Profoundly moving.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

67 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

Download Sarah's Key For Free

Download Sarah's Key For Free From here goo.gl/VfGrM

posted by 9450618 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    Sophie's Choice meets Bridges of Madison County...

    I'm surprised how positive the reviews of this book have been.

    I expected a lot and was disappointed.

    de Rosnay attempts to mix several genres,combining a work of historical fiction, a psychological profile, and a female midlife crisis/romance into one coherent read - but her attempt fails.

    Like a cheap TV-VCR combo - Sarah's Key ends up being a convenient and barely passable book that is ultimately not very satisfying on any of its individual merits.

    The two parallel story lines start out equally compelling, but the modern tale quickly unravels into melodrama. Substituting caricatures for characters, and trivializing the hard work and rewards that marriage provides - de Rosnay ends up diluting the historical importance of the subject of her novel with a sloppy and fantastical romance.

    Kudos to Sarah's Key for drawing attention to an underpublicized event in WWII. de Rosnay's recounting of events is very compelling - but like the main character's editor points out - the reported facts of the story leaves many unexposed and more interesting lines of investigation begging to be discovered, but left untouched here.

    55 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Sarah's Key a Bit of a Disappointment

    Sarah's Key starts out pretty good, but after the initial chapter or two I found that I kind of lost interest. I could have completely done without the modern day character and her jerk of a husband and wish that the author had developed the story line of Sarah more fully. I was especially disappointed when she just completely abandoned her after the gruesome discovery in her former home in Paris. I would have liked to understand how she dealt with the death of her brother, and her attempt to start over in America. But, we had to learn about that (in very sketchy details) after the fact. Also, the ending was strange. Call me old fashioned, but I want "details" - not just an assumption of an outcome. Yes, it has a happy ending, but instead of fleshing it out, I felt that she just left me dangling (kind of like she did with Sarah). I wouldn't recommend the book to anyone.

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Disappointing....

    I read this book based on reviews here... but I was very disappointed. It was dry, boring, and did not hold my interest. Wish I could have felt a connection with the characters, espcially since the subject matter was touching, but I could have cared less about them. Not worth the time to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    The novel gave up half way through

    While Julia was focusing on Sarah's journey with energy and intensity, the novel remained intriguing; when Sarah's story ended half way through and the novel began to focus solely on Julia, Rosnay lost it. Julia isn't half so captivating or developed a character - nor is her plight half so interesting - as when readers are offered a glimpse into the sad, forbidding details of Sarah's young life. Interwoven with historical fact, the novel remains only a mediocre read and hardly on the same level as other Holocaust fiction, despite its singular focus on France. Definitely not one to read a second time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Good story. Mediocre writing.

    Just kept stating the suffering and cruelty, didn't make you feel it. Narrator in present and husband are unsympathetic characters. Hard to get involved. Good idea. Good to show the French complicity. But just OK book. Due to a translation?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2