Customer Reviews for

Sarah's Key

Average Rating 4
( 2652 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1414)

4 Star

(715)

3 Star

(316)

2 Star

(107)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Sarah's Key will move you to tears...

It has been a long time since I read a book that truly made me weep. It is amazing to read about the 1942 Jewish roundups in France, known as the Vel d'Hiv. It is a part of history that has been buried. De Rosnay weaves a quite personal and believable fictional story ab...
It has been a long time since I read a book that truly made me weep. It is amazing to read about the 1942 Jewish roundups in France, known as the Vel d'Hiv. It is a part of history that has been buried. De Rosnay weaves a quite personal and believable fictional story about the character Sarah and her family with facts about the Vel d'Hiv atrocity. It is a very moving novel about something we should never accept nor forget. This is a book you cannot put down once you get started. Highly recommended!

posted by SandWitch on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Could Have Done Without Julia's Story

At first, I found myself having difficulty putting this book down. The chapters were short, Julia’s mission clear, and Sarah’s storyline was gripping, fast-paced, and terribly tragic. However, after Sarah’s voice ends, so does the interest for me. Upon first reading, I ...
At first, I found myself having difficulty putting this book down. The chapters were short, Julia’s mission clear, and Sarah’s storyline was gripping, fast-paced, and terribly tragic. However, after Sarah’s voice ends, so does the interest for me. Upon first reading, I thought that this book would be more about Sarah and her journey through the holocaust, focusing on her emotions, development, and grief. Rather, it was more about the life of Julia, the journalist, which I didn’t particularly care about. I was less interested in reading about Julia’s failed marriage and mid-life baby crisis.

I felt more satisfaction in reading about Sarah’s life and the Vel d’Hiv round-up (of which I was previously, sadly unaware), and would have liked more on the aftermath of the war and its impact on Sarah and her family. I am glad to have read the book because of the historical significance of Vel d’Hiv. However, Julia’s story took up too much of the end, felt contrived, and was too predictable.

posted by MLou72 on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2672 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 134
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    Sarah's Key will move you to tears...

    It has been a long time since I read a book that truly made me weep. It is amazing to read about the 1942 Jewish roundups in France, known as the Vel d'Hiv. It is a part of history that has been buried. De Rosnay weaves a quite personal and believable fictional story about the character Sarah and her family with facts about the Vel d'Hiv atrocity. It is a very moving novel about something we should never accept nor forget. This is a book you cannot put down once you get started. Highly recommended!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Heartwrenching at times but a great read. I really liked how she broke up the book between past and present.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Amazing!

    One of the best books i have ever read!

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Could Have Done Without Julia's Story

    At first, I found myself having difficulty putting this book down. The chapters were short, Julia’s mission clear, and Sarah’s storyline was gripping, fast-paced, and terribly tragic. However, after Sarah’s voice ends, so does the interest for me. Upon first reading, I thought that this book would be more about Sarah and her journey through the holocaust, focusing on her emotions, development, and grief. Rather, it was more about the life of Julia, the journalist, which I didn’t particularly care about. I was less interested in reading about Julia’s failed marriage and mid-life baby crisis.

    I felt more satisfaction in reading about Sarah’s life and the Vel d’Hiv round-up (of which I was previously, sadly unaware), and would have liked more on the aftermath of the war and its impact on Sarah and her family. I am glad to have read the book because of the historical significance of Vel d’Hiv. However, Julia’s story took up too much of the end, felt contrived, and was too predictable.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    A Great Blend of Fiction And History

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a great blend of fiction and history. Going back and forth from history to modern times kept me at the edge of my seat. It is a heartbreaking story, but there's no changing history. I found the characters appealing and the ending satisfying.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    To old for a forth grader

    Is this book to old for a forth grader

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Drags on adding things to the plot that don't need to be there

    I lost total respect for the main character in the middle of the book.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a page turner

    This book was a personal approach to history, I could not put it down. I quickly became attached to the characters and the story became alive. The story is told from the past and present and intertwined perfectly.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Read it

    It was life changing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Sarahs Key

    I enjoyed this book to be honest, it was a bit sad and dramatic. It had adventure and it showed an innocent girl. Its also has modern life. And its about family, death of loved ones, trust, MORE death, confusion, and mostly life through a little girls life and a middle aged women. This book will make you cry 100% and its also about how life isnt always fair. And how people judge you for being yourslelf and who you are. It reflects around WWll. Though to be honest. This book is not for everyone. This book is for people who have hearts. People who understand. And people who WANT to understand. And sadly. Not everyone does.




    This book will touch your life forver. I promise you. Its truley amazing. And you wont want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    A little over the top

    I didnt feel like i could sympathize with the narrator, she was very selfish. I did enjoy the author's emotional retelling of the Vel d'Hiv roundup. That was good storytelling

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Disappointing

    I really wanted to like this book, but I found the characters to be shallow, situations resolved too easily, and I just didn't care.... I finished the book just to see if it might pick up, but it was just thoroughly disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    So moving.

    I wanted to stop reading but found i couldn't stop. I will be thinking about this book for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Compelling. A must read - especially for World War 2 history buffs.

    Since I got my Nook, I've had more of an interest in books that I probably wouldn't read otherwise.

    This is historical fiction, based in France during World War 2. It's also set in the recent past. We learn about Sarah & her family during the German occupation of France, in a part of history that the books (at least none that I read) cover - the roundup of the French Jews in and around Paris. We also meet Julia, an American expat and her French husband who doesn't seem to pay very much attention to anything that doesn't revolve around him.

    The two storylines converge in a not-so-surprising climax; I saw it coming as the story progressed, but it was still had the WHAM! factor. There's a tragedy that crosses time, and redemption.

    The end of the story left me hanging a little, wanting to know "what happened next?!" but upon reflection, that was what the author wanted us to create for ourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Awesome book!!!!

    This book was soo good

    After hearing so many good things about this book it did not disappoint loved it and recommand it to anyone you dont have to like war stories to like this book• so many emotions and not once did i feel i was wasting my time reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Sarahs key

    GREAT READ!!! Heart braking story that reminded me, people actually endured these horrors. Book was well researched and hard to put down. Recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    So much better than the movie

    As usual, the book is so much better than the movie. There were times where I didn't want to put the book down with tears rolling down my face. (don't worry...there are also happy moments) There are some parts of the book that get a little wordy but overall a wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Amazing

    I couldn't put the book down dispite all the sadness! I felt connected to both Julia and Sarah! I felt sad for how Sarah's story ended and I hope that Julia gets happiness in the end because I'm not sure she really is... Still the book is wonderful and engrossing a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Couldn't put it down...ending was disappointing

    I couldn't put this book down. I wanted more than anything to know what happened to Sarah. Her story was heart wrenching. I felt the story ended too abruptly. That is the only reason i gave this 4 stars instead of 5. I also found it strange that the French author painted the French characters in such a demeaning light. Especially since she goes on to say her own family is not that way. She really stuck to the sterotypical views of French and American people which i found a bit strange for her to later go back and try to dispel these sterotypes in her awknowledgements. I guess she does sort of rectify this in the end of the story but overall i found it strange a French author would paint her own people in such a haughty light. Anyway, overall the book was wonderful and emotional. I just would have wished for an extended ending to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    It sucked

    Bad book do not read

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2672 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 134