Customer Reviews for

Sarah's Key

Average Rating 4
( 2650 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1413)

4 Star

(714)

3 Star

(316)

2 Star

(107)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Sarah's Key will move you to tears...

It has been a long time since I read a book that truly made me weep. It is amazing to read about the 1942 Jewish roundups in France, known as the Vel d'Hiv. It is a part of history that has been buried. De Rosnay weaves a quite personal and believable fictional story ab...
It has been a long time since I read a book that truly made me weep. It is amazing to read about the 1942 Jewish roundups in France, known as the Vel d'Hiv. It is a part of history that has been buried. De Rosnay weaves a quite personal and believable fictional story about the character Sarah and her family with facts about the Vel d'Hiv atrocity. It is a very moving novel about something we should never accept nor forget. This is a book you cannot put down once you get started. Highly recommended!

posted by SandWitch on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Could Have Done Without Julia's Story

At first, I found myself having difficulty putting this book down. The chapters were short, Julia’s mission clear, and Sarah’s storyline was gripping, fast-paced, and terribly tragic. However, after Sarah’s voice ends, so does the interest for me. Upon first reading, I ...
At first, I found myself having difficulty putting this book down. The chapters were short, Julia’s mission clear, and Sarah’s storyline was gripping, fast-paced, and terribly tragic. However, after Sarah’s voice ends, so does the interest for me. Upon first reading, I thought that this book would be more about Sarah and her journey through the holocaust, focusing on her emotions, development, and grief. Rather, it was more about the life of Julia, the journalist, which I didn’t particularly care about. I was less interested in reading about Julia’s failed marriage and mid-life baby crisis.

I felt more satisfaction in reading about Sarah’s life and the Vel d’Hiv round-up (of which I was previously, sadly unaware), and would have liked more on the aftermath of the war and its impact on Sarah and her family. I am glad to have read the book because of the historical significance of Vel d’Hiv. However, Julia’s story took up too much of the end, felt contrived, and was too predictable.

posted by MLou72 on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1413 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 71
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    Sarah's Key will move you to tears...

    It has been a long time since I read a book that truly made me weep. It is amazing to read about the 1942 Jewish roundups in France, known as the Vel d'Hiv. It is a part of history that has been buried. De Rosnay weaves a quite personal and believable fictional story about the character Sarah and her family with facts about the Vel d'Hiv atrocity. It is a very moving novel about something we should never accept nor forget. This is a book you cannot put down once you get started. Highly recommended!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Amazing!

    One of the best books i have ever read!

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    A Great Blend of Fiction And History

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a great blend of fiction and history. Going back and forth from history to modern times kept me at the edge of my seat. It is a heartbreaking story, but there's no changing history. I found the characters appealing and the ending satisfying.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a page turner

    This book was a personal approach to history, I could not put it down. I quickly became attached to the characters and the story became alive. The story is told from the past and present and intertwined perfectly.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Read it

    It was life changing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    So moving.

    I wanted to stop reading but found i couldn't stop. I will be thinking about this book for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Compelling. A must read - especially for World War 2 history buffs.

    Since I got my Nook, I've had more of an interest in books that I probably wouldn't read otherwise.

    This is historical fiction, based in France during World War 2. It's also set in the recent past. We learn about Sarah & her family during the German occupation of France, in a part of history that the books (at least none that I read) cover - the roundup of the French Jews in and around Paris. We also meet Julia, an American expat and her French husband who doesn't seem to pay very much attention to anything that doesn't revolve around him.

    The two storylines converge in a not-so-surprising climax; I saw it coming as the story progressed, but it was still had the WHAM! factor. There's a tragedy that crosses time, and redemption.

    The end of the story left me hanging a little, wanting to know "what happened next?!" but upon reflection, that was what the author wanted us to create for ourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Sarahs key

    GREAT READ!!! Heart braking story that reminded me, people actually endured these horrors. Book was well researched and hard to put down. Recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    So much better than the movie

    As usual, the book is so much better than the movie. There were times where I didn't want to put the book down with tears rolling down my face. (don't worry...there are also happy moments) There are some parts of the book that get a little wordy but overall a wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Amazing

    I couldn't put the book down dispite all the sadness! I felt connected to both Julia and Sarah! I felt sad for how Sarah's story ended and I hope that Julia gets happiness in the end because I'm not sure she really is... Still the book is wonderful and engrossing a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Wonderful

    One of the best books I've ever had the pleasure to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Wonferful book

    Couldnt put it down, sad but gripping.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Loved this book!!!

    This was such a great book. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Best book I've read in ages!!!

    I thought this book was excellent. It brought me to tears several times. The end was a smidge predictable and somewhat abrupt, but overall, I thought it was fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Reading.....

    I really enjoyed getting into this story. I have not done research on the facts but it did seem historically accurate. I became emotional in parts of the book and was disappointed when it was over, the sign of a good read to me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book, couldn't put it down. Well written. Buy this book you wont be sorry!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Could not put this book down!

    This was an amazing and captivating tale. The historical and emotional journey seemed so real! I cannot wait to read A Secret Kept next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    could not put it down!

    I could not seem to read this fast enough. It was a heartwrentching, yet beautiful story. I will admit that I am one for a play on time and this did not disapoint. I have read it a half a dozen times and will again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Great book

    I had hard time reading this book but yet could not put it down.It was sad and horrible what sarah and her family endured.i thought this was a great book and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely loved this book from start to finish! I am not a fas

    Absolutely loved this book from start to finish! I am not a fast reader by any means, but I could not put this book down, read it in 3 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1413 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 71