BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sarah's Key

Average Rating 4
( 2652 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1414)

4 Star

(715)

3 Star

(316)

2 Star

(107)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Sarah's Key will move you to tears...

It has been a long time since I read a book that truly made me weep. It is amazing to read about the 1942 Jewish roundups in France, known as the Vel d'Hiv. It is a part of history that has been buried. De Rosnay weaves a quite personal and believable fictional story ab...
It has been a long time since I read a book that truly made me weep. It is amazing to read about the 1942 Jewish roundups in France, known as the Vel d'Hiv. It is a part of history that has been buried. De Rosnay weaves a quite personal and believable fictional story about the character Sarah and her family with facts about the Vel d'Hiv atrocity. It is a very moving novel about something we should never accept nor forget. This is a book you cannot put down once you get started. Highly recommended!

posted by SandWitch on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Could Have Done Without Julia's Story

At first, I found myself having difficulty putting this book down. The chapters were short, Julia’s mission clear, and Sarah’s storyline was gripping, fast-paced, and terribly tragic. However, after Sarah’s voice ends, so does the interest for me. Upon first reading, I ...
At first, I found myself having difficulty putting this book down. The chapters were short, Julia’s mission clear, and Sarah’s storyline was gripping, fast-paced, and terribly tragic. However, after Sarah’s voice ends, so does the interest for me. Upon first reading, I thought that this book would be more about Sarah and her journey through the holocaust, focusing on her emotions, development, and grief. Rather, it was more about the life of Julia, the journalist, which I didn’t particularly care about. I was less interested in reading about Julia’s failed marriage and mid-life baby crisis.

I felt more satisfaction in reading about Sarah’s life and the Vel d’Hiv round-up (of which I was previously, sadly unaware), and would have liked more on the aftermath of the war and its impact on Sarah and her family. I am glad to have read the book because of the historical significance of Vel d’Hiv. However, Julia’s story took up too much of the end, felt contrived, and was too predictable.

posted by MLou72 on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 715 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Heartwrenching at times but a great read. I really liked how she broke up the book between past and present.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Sarahs Key

    I enjoyed this book to be honest, it was a bit sad and dramatic. It had adventure and it showed an innocent girl. Its also has modern life. And its about family, death of loved ones, trust, MORE death, confusion, and mostly life through a little girls life and a middle aged women. This book will make you cry 100% and its also about how life isnt always fair. And how people judge you for being yourslelf and who you are. It reflects around WWll. Though to be honest. This book is not for everyone. This book is for people who have hearts. People who understand. And people who WANT to understand. And sadly. Not everyone does.




    This book will touch your life forver. I promise you. Its truley amazing. And you wont want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Awesome book!!!!

    This book was soo good

    After hearing so many good things about this book it did not disappoint loved it and recommand it to anyone you dont have to like war stories to like this book• so many emotions and not once did i feel i was wasting my time reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Couldn't put it down...ending was disappointing

    I couldn't put this book down. I wanted more than anything to know what happened to Sarah. Her story was heart wrenching. I felt the story ended too abruptly. That is the only reason i gave this 4 stars instead of 5. I also found it strange that the French author painted the French characters in such a demeaning light. Especially since she goes on to say her own family is not that way. She really stuck to the sterotypical views of French and American people which i found a bit strange for her to later go back and try to dispel these sterotypes in her awknowledgements. I guess she does sort of rectify this in the end of the story but overall i found it strange a French author would paint her own people in such a haughty light. Anyway, overall the book was wonderful and emotional. I just would have wished for an extended ending to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great Read!

    Great and fast read. Quite a lage turner. It got a bit slow near the end; however, ever detail was vital to the story. Beautifully written story. Will look into more stories from this author. This was my first book by her, and I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    This is a must read!

    Wonderful storyline that will also teach you the history of a dark event that is not well known. Loved reading from Sarah's point of view.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Sarahs Key

    Good book but very sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Heartfelt

    I loved this book. It was an easy read that I couldn't put down. I wanted to know what was going to happen to Sarah as well as her little brother. I was annoyed at the story behind the journalist & her husband. It seems to me that all other characters represented all the way people could react to such a situation. Some people choose ignorance, others know and choose to turn the other cheek, and some people must know the truth even if it is life altering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Thought provoking

    Entertaining yet infirmative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    One you wont forget

    Great book, although I wasn't as enthralled with the second half or the end. Sarah's story was gripping and powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Very goodbook

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Great read

    Tough start but it drew me in and I couldn't put it down. Still want to watch the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Potential for greatness but....

    Good book, keeps you intrigued to try to find out who sara is and her story but more focus on narrator / main character and ends up feeling a little disappointing. Kind of depressing. Lots of cool history in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Interesting read

    If you enjoy historical reads you will find this piece of history an awakening

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Marlene

    Really good book . Like the writing style going between the two stories. I thought it could have ended sooner . I felt like it dragged out a bit. That being said.. I still highly recommend this wonderful book. I learned things that I never knew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Interesting

    Good back and forth story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I couldn't put it down! I think it could have endedd better. It really leaves you hanging and wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    The Agony of Relief

    A heartbreaking story of sweeping things under the rug and pretending they never happened. So many guilty parties in Sarah's Key---none more so than the French police. The climax is truly the agony of relief, such a paradox when the truth is revealed. This story is a lesson that reverberates in my mind: speak up against injustice, disloyalty, and always remember. Never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    -ugbbgdtv vc

    ?b : uyeby y g ybbbugvfjj ygygyt b rubh tdtgg.nh tg yn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    If the book is as good as the movie was, I'm sure it's an excell

    If the book is as good as the movie was, I'm sure it's an excellent read. However, I doubt I will purchase and read the book because the movie told the story already (though I'm sure some things were left out) but the point is clear. This is another - if not untold or hidden - story of the Holocaust at his woefully worst. It was tragic and it happened on such a broad span that one is hardly able to ascertain the magnitude of the sufferings it caused - hence the multiplicity of books and movies on the subject. Sarah's Key is another account of the suffering that touched everyone in every walk of life - not just Jewish people. But it is always especially hard to read about how it affected children. I think of my grandchildren (brother and sister) and I can't imagine this happening to them. The thought of it rips at my heart and gutt. I wish so much that the Holocaust had never happened. But I would love it if people would open their eyes to the suffering in countries that still remain today in 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 715 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36