BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Saturday

Average Rating 3
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

McEwan Shines to No Surprise

After reading Atonement, I felt that McEwan had done it--written a novel that could not be topped. I was wrong. Saturday, in its own way, is just as good if not better than Atonement merely in its ability to create tension out of thin air.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disapointing

I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assum...
I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assumes that his audidence will understand extreemly difficult medical terms that he himself only learned while shadowing a neurological surgeon. This novel is also very confusing because it jumps around constantly between scenes, characters, and time periods.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    Disapointing

    I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assumes that his audidence will understand extreemly difficult medical terms that he himself only learned while shadowing a neurological surgeon. This novel is also very confusing because it jumps around constantly between scenes, characters, and time periods.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    Too many words and too rambling

    The rambling thoughts the main character runs thru on every page becomes mind numbing and I couldn't wait to just page thru the book to be finished. The plot was lost in all the word filled pages, so that I kept losing what was supposed to be happening at any particular time. It was just too "word-y". I was very disappointed in this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    I'm well read and hate this novel

    I'm going to dismiss outright any charges that a bad review of this novel = someone who needs to get their kicks reading either chick lit or book versions of currently playing movie hits. This is easily one of the most boring, pretentious, slow moving, overly staring at your belly button novels I have ever attempted. I'm astounded at the good reviews. I never give up on books I've started but cannot tell you how tempted I am to do so. If it weren't for a good night out with the Book Club discussing this one there is no way I would waste a single moment more reading it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    too drawn out

    I was excited to read this book but it turned out to be somewhat disappointing. It is very drawn out. The main character just thinks too much about things that are not all that exciting. There is also a lot of medical descriptions that I didn't understand as I am not a doctor. Overall not nearly as good as I thought it would be.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    When I first picked up this book I was really excited about read

    When I first picked up this book I was really excited about reading it; however, now that I’ve finished the novel it turns out that I did not enjoy it. This book not only confused me, but it really didn’t grab my attention. The narrator of the book was often very dry and very boring and that caused the book to constantly drag. I will say that the characters of the book were well-developed, we personality which help out while I read the book. The confusion started when medical terms came about. The author used very big medical terms and descriptions that most readers did not understand. Along with that, the story often jumped back and forth between the characters and scenes. Overall, Saturday was not as good as a book as I thought it would be. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mostly boring unless you are a doctor

    The Neurosurgeon gives us way to much information about what he is thinking, wearing , eating, driving, etc. Nothing really happened in this story until the middle of the book and by then, I didn't care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Not much after Atonement... Another routine novel pretending to

    Not much after Atonement... Another routine novel pretending to address a current issue. Sad for such an important literary figure...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Rambling

    I bought this book because of good reviews but I couldn't make it past the half way mark. When i realized midway through that I still had no idea what the book was about or where it was going I decided to call it quits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Really Disappointing!

    It was a quick read. I kept waiting for it to get better, but it never did. Buy a different book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Not what I expected...

    I feel somewhat disappointed after reading McEwan's novel. Not only did Henry seem to be conceited, but he had annoying issues that kept popping up throughout the novel, including putting his work before family, and his age issue. The novel itself started off slow and remained that way until the car accident, which I thought would escalate into something and didn't. The only truly enjoyable part was the confrontation at Henry's home with Baxter. However, I disliked both Baxter's 'change of heart' and Henry's deceit to get him upstairs. The novel took an even bigger turn for the worse when Henry performed perfect surgery on Baxter and wanted to drop the charges. I was extremely bothered by this, wanting instead for him to have 'accidentaly' botched the surgery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    unconvinced

    The author has a knack for description, and a tendency for over indulging in his talent. That Henry should 'forgive' this sick man Baxter for terrifying his family and then within a few hours miraculously be the only available doctor to calmly perform surgery is as believable as the fact that by the following Saturday he will be a changed man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Slow

    I found my self going back and rereading earlier chapters. Not for enjoyment, but to figure out what was going on. The book was well written but way too detailed. Took five pages to explain a surgery. Like watching grass grow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    Contrived.

    Thought Atonement was wonderful and looked forward to Saturday. Such a disappointment. Overwrought, contrived, elitist. Boring. Sorry about that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    Showing off, but tone deaf to character

    One should expect a novel that covers a single day to go into some detail, and an author should do his homework, but the excessuve details of neurosurgery, blues progressions, and squash merely come across as indulgent literary pyrotechnics. That could be forgiven, but at the same time the author is tone deaf to human characters. Simply stated, there are none in this book. The professional reviews vastly overrate this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Bleck....BORING..........

    I liked Atonement...and thought it was really well written so I was looking forward to reading Saturday. I quickly realized that this book was going to be a struggle for me to stick with. I am not one to quit a book but I am on page 200 and have decided to give the rest of the book a pass. I am bored to tears with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Save your money!

    I ADORED McEwan's last book (ATONEMENT) and was anxiously awaiting this one, buying it the day it came out and expecting to devour it in a couple of sittings. Forget that. While some sections are very well-written, particularly the opening one, the book is a big disappointment. The confrontation with the 'bad guy' seems VERY contrived and much too coincidental, the climactic scene is just bizarre, and the ending left me yawning. If you haven't read ATONEMENT, do so, but don't bother with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2