Customer Reviews for

Saturday

Average Rating 3
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

McEwan Shines to No Surprise

After reading Atonement, I felt that McEwan had done it--written a novel that could not be topped. I was wrong. Saturday, in its own way, is just as good if not better than Atonement merely in its ability to create tension out of thin air.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disapointing

I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assum...
I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assumes that his audidence will understand extreemly difficult medical terms that he himself only learned while shadowing a neurological surgeon. This novel is also very confusing because it jumps around constantly between scenes, characters, and time periods.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretentious

    The critics love this book and this author. I am an avid reader and I am not ignorant of the world around me. So, honestly, I thought the author wanted to show off a lot of esoteric knowledge, vocabulary, etc. I have read Atonement by this author. It also was somewhat pretentious. Why do the critics love this author so much?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Still puzzled about this one.

    This book baffled me. It was boring, and I knew it was boring, but at the same time I continued to read without being overwhelmed by the boredom. Most of the narrator's thoughts were fairly mundane and pointless- albeit eloquent- but something about them, perhaps the novelty of following a person's thoughts that closely, kept me reading. The characters were certainly well-developed, which helped immensely. One aspect of the novel I found jarring was the constant insertion of analysis on the Iraq war. It seemed very out of place, and kept yanking me out of the story. I understand the importance of the topic, but the narrator seemed to think about it to the point of obsession, and it made me feel as if his thoughts on the subject were more authorial interjection than a part of the story. In the end, I'm not sure if I'd say that I enjoyed this one, but it definitely intrigued me enough to keep me until the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    interesting & boring at the same time

    i liked the topics the book tells about but it is really too long for too few ideas. the main character, perowone is always thinking about... the world, his relatives, his problems... interesting and boring at the same time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Creative Concept

    Saturday is such a creative concept I found myself intrigued from start to finish. The book is extremely detailed so you need to read very carefully from start to finish. By making it so detailed you do find yourself bored at certain points in the book. However just as you are starting to get bored, a twist or surprise is sprung at you and you are engulfed in the story once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    AN UNSATISFYING SECOND EFFORT

    This second novel by Mr. McEwan is a novel of self-introspection. Henry Perowne a highly successful neurosurgeon is surrounded by beautiful things, his home, his near perfect wife and children and a career he finds totally absorbing and satisfying. An encounter with a minor thug provides the plot, driven also by Henry¿s feeling of uneasiness since the night before while witnessing a plane crash. The upcoming war with Iraq has also left him restless, feeling that perhaps his fine tuned, ¿perfect¿ life may be changing with the times, i.e. arguments with his daughter over the righteousness of the war, etc. When Baxter returns to terrorize the family, Perowne finds himself unable to rescue his family from this ordeal. However his son proves more than adequate in handling the situation. Once Baxter is injured Perowne feels he must use his medical skills to treat him, a measure of compassion but also perhaps of gratitude in being able to return to the normalcy of his life. While I found McEwan¿s writing masterful and the material interesting I felt that his characters were weak. I finished the book feeling that it could have been something so much better, so much more fulfilling. However I feel that book clubs may enjoy this book, which is a look at how quickly one¿s life can be turned upside down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1