Customer Reviews for

Saturday

Average Rating 3
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

McEwan Shines to No Surprise

After reading Atonement, I felt that McEwan had done it--written a novel that could not be topped. I was wrong. Saturday, in its own way, is just as good if not better than Atonement merely in its ability to create tension out of thin air.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disapointing

I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assum...
I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assumes that his audidence will understand extreemly difficult medical terms that he himself only learned while shadowing a neurological surgeon. This novel is also very confusing because it jumps around constantly between scenes, characters, and time periods.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    A Day in the Life...

    A good read as the author examines aspects of a man going through events of a Saturday. McEwan manages to acquaint the reader with a professional, his wife, children, his career, his examining both his and his mother's aging and mortality, and the macrocosm of the world and war. War is not the solution unless you and yours are tortured. Henry Perowne's personal torturing events call for desperate actions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Like Atonement, this novel is a well-crafted "literary"

    Like Atonement, this novel is a well-crafted "literary" novel. By this I mean that those below who find McEwan to be "rambling" aren't really giving McEwan's the deep thought that it deserves. The novel touches on important themes such as the role of literature (reading, writing, story-telling) in society, modernism (how the 24/7 hour news cycle shapes our daily lives). Basically, everyone should read this novel if they want to read a thoughtful, insightful writer's observations of modern life (and the problems that come with it). Thank you McEwan - I loved the book! Also, amaaazing characters and an amazing family. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Worth the time to read

    I started reading this book for one of my college courses and had the mindset, "o I'm not going to enjoy this book, I'll just make it through." But I ended up finding a character that makes living inside one's head interesting. I ended up really liking the book and would recommend it, but just say to come into reading it with an open mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    worth your time

    I decided to read this book because it was on the '1001 books to read before you die' list, otherwise, a book about a single day in a man's life would not have interested me. However, I am glad that I read it. To me it shows how a single event can affect one's life and the lives of those he loves. I think it also shows how one's perceptions of things can change because of one event. McEwen is very descriptive, but, after all, it is a book about 1 single day in a man's life. I think it was definitely worth my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    A superb read

    'Saturday' is about a day-off in the schedule of a busy neuro-surgeon. It begins with Dr. Henry Perowne waking up one Saturday morning and witnessing something un-expected. His day then gets even worse, as he becomes involved in a tiff with a person suffering from a neuro-degenerative disorder. Although this book could easily be mistaken to have a lot of political undertones, since it critiques the Iraq war, this novel is more than just that. It describes the emotional stresses that a highly qualified and intellectually evolved person undergoes when pushed to the limit. This book is probably the best thriller that I have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Not my usual

    While I'm normally one for a real PAGE-TURNER such as Brown's 'Code' or McCrae's 'katzenjammer' I found myself attracted to this book. The writing is more literary than most and you'll find yourself drawn into the story. While I did like the author's first book better, this one is great, nevertheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    A good read

    Saturday is a refreshingly unpredictable novel about the day in the life of a neurosurgeon. Unfortunately McEwan does tend to give too many details about the main character's profession and related practices. Despite these areas, the story engages you and rewards you for sticking with it with several profound passages about the general human condition. I would recommend this book to someone who enjoys a good read but not to someone who only likes 'fluff' novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Nearly Prophetic

    I finished reading Ian McEwan's Saturday just a week following the terrible bombings in London and was awed at his insight in the last few pages of the novel. Henry Perowne is believable, especially given the well-researched details of his profession and the details of his relationships with other family members. I have two children of my own, and his thoughts of his children and his conflicts with them resonated. McEwan spends too much time on the squash match, which, when the book is taken as a whole, doesn't add up to much. His confrontation with Baxter and Baxter's eventual dissipation when his two friends leave him alone, was still believable to me, or was explained well enough for me to 'suspend disbelief.' A person in Baxter's condition only seems tough when others are present. I enjoyed McEwan's Atonement more than this book, but Saturday is still worth committing time to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    definately worth your $$

    At first, I thought the author was so long winded, however this was my first. Other than a extremely long-winded squash game, the rest of the book is a great read, and i will probably look for his earlier books. If you are looking to read a lot about the Iraqi war, don't bother with Saturday because it is almost an after-thought. Brilliantly written, and highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    Loved It!

    I was not a big fan of Atonement but this book was fantastic...well written and introspective. Just read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2