Customer Reviews for

Saturday

Average Rating 3
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

McEwan Shines to No Surprise

After reading Atonement, I felt that McEwan had done it--written a novel that could not be topped. I was wrong. Saturday, in its own way, is just as good if not better than Atonement merely in its ability to create tension out of thin air.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disapointing

I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assum...
I had to read this for a literature class, and having read a synopsis of the book, I was very excited. This excitment, however, turned to disapointment as the book dragged on forever. Not only does the author make the characters over anyalize things, but he also assumes that his audidence will understand extreemly difficult medical terms that he himself only learned while shadowing a neurological surgeon. This novel is also very confusing because it jumps around constantly between scenes, characters, and time periods.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    McEwan Shines to No Surprise

    After reading Atonement, I felt that McEwan had done it--written a novel that could not be topped. I was wrong. Saturday, in its own way, is just as good if not better than Atonement merely in its ability to create tension out of thin air.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    highly recommended

    I love this man's writing- he manages to control the time dimension- he takes the random, wandering mind that changes over milliseconds and gives each thought voice, and then turns around and develops each character in intimate detail, and accomplishes both within a plot that happens over a 24 hr time span and peaks with equal power to any action, suspense novel ever written. I plan to read everything he has published.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Worth the Read!

    I wanted to keep reading. Beautifully written.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was amazing. In fact, I read most of it in one sitting, staying up way too late one night before finally turning off the light at about 3am. I thought the writing was taut and at the same time, quite lyrical and ultimately it was a very moving book. I actually liked it better than Atonement, which I read after this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    A moving story

    Saturday brilliantly depicts life in a post 9/11 environment and successfully portrays a world of divergent but understandable differences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Beautiful

    Such real feelings I could truly understand his feelings even though I did not agree with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Excellent Work

    I simply cannot understand the apparently uniform panning of this great book in the reviews listed here. Perhaps these reviewers should simply stop reading and return to the movie theaters for this summer's crop of wham-bang, unsubtle entertaintment if they are as intellectually un-curious as their disdain of SATURDAY would suggest. This author is a master. Perhaps his talents are wasted in American culture as it exists today. The book is a genuinely insightful look into the character's psyche. Unlike others' opinions listed here, I cannot recommend this book highly enough - to intelligent readers. I urge these readers to challenge themselves beyond the typical resentment and charge of British 'elitism' and experience the bright rewards this book proffers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Thought-provoking and well-written

    This story takes place in one day, a Saturday, a unique Saturday, a frightening Saturday. While Ian McEwan is British, the events of Tuesday, September 11, 2001, in America had a tremendous effect on him. For a time, he says, he couldn't write. I know the feeling. I was writing at the time and stopped for one-and-a-half years because my story included a terrorist element. I simply couldn't continue for awhile. This book is a product of McEwan's own introspection regarding the events of 9/11. Henry Perowne, the central character in Saturday, is a neurosurgeon and a family man. His wife is a lawyer. He has two healthy and very capable children. In the middle of the night he awakes to see what he thinks is a meteor streaking toward Earth. The meteor turns out to be an airplane, engulfed in flame, about to crash not far off. The event shakes him to his core and he spends the rest of the day thinking about this horrific incident, about the possibilities as to its cause, and, eventually, about his own life, his very existence. He shares with his readers the intimate details of his world as he tries to make sense of the terror he feels as the day progresses. Perowne's obsession with work seems less necessary as he reviews his life and the things he's deemed to be important. His interactions with people, especially those he loves the most, are not all he would like them to be. He looks inward, seeking and discovering his own spirituality, rejected long ago. He finds comfort there, if not understanding. The events of the day become more horrific as time goes on and Perowne has to come to terms with his own demons in order to deal with the situation his family faces. Parts of this book remind me of The Shoes of the Fisherman by Morris West because there is so much personal introspection and less plot-driven text. It's a very thought-provoking read. I highly recommend it. Carolyn Rowe Hill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1