Customer Reviews for

Saucer (Saucer Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great read

Stephen Coonts hits the nail on the head on the technological progress of civilizations from hunter-gathering stone age societies to modern information society and back. Here is an excerpt: 'The properties of the technological continuum that we have just talked about ar...
Stephen Coonts hits the nail on the head on the technological progress of civilizations from hunter-gathering stone age societies to modern information society and back. Here is an excerpt: 'The properties of the technological continuum that we have just talked about are rigid; in effect, they are laws. Since each level of technological achievement requires more and more people, more and more social organization, it follows that without the specialized people, the technological level cannot be sustained.' How true. Besides being a great story, Coonts insight into our technological society and its properties are magnificently presented. I highly recommend the book.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It could have been much better!

While the plot and storyline is worth the reading of this book, 'It Could have been much better!' Had the author decided to explore the origins of the saucer and how we as a race were intertwined with it, the novel would have been much more of a 'Cannot put it down' boo...
While the plot and storyline is worth the reading of this book, 'It Could have been much better!' Had the author decided to explore the origins of the saucer and how we as a race were intertwined with it, the novel would have been much more of a 'Cannot put it down' book. As it is, the petty thievery and the chase are barely able to sustain the reader through to the end. Having said this, the book is still worth a look.

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Horrible!

    Honestly, one of the worst stories I've ever read. I just wrote a particularly lengthy and scathing review of this book, but it was accidentally deleted. I don't feel that this story deserves any more of the time it would take me to re-write it. Just please, please take my advice. Stay away from this book!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    It could have been much better!

    While the plot and storyline is worth the reading of this book, 'It Could have been much better!' Had the author decided to explore the origins of the saucer and how we as a race were intertwined with it, the novel would have been much more of a 'Cannot put it down' book. As it is, the petty thievery and the chase are barely able to sustain the reader through to the end. Having said this, the book is still worth a look.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Okay

    The book was okay but was very elementary considering the Jake Grafton series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    A great read

    Stephen Coonts hits the nail on the head on the technological progress of civilizations from hunter-gathering stone age societies to modern information society and back. Here is an excerpt: 'The properties of the technological continuum that we have just talked about are rigid; in effect, they are laws. Since each level of technological achievement requires more and more people, more and more social organization, it follows that without the specialized people, the technological level cannot be sustained.' How true. Besides being a great story, Coonts insight into our technological society and its properties are magnificently presented. I highly recommend the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Good start to a wild ride of a series

    Coonts isn't known for this genre of writing, but I think he should continue. The story moves right along, the characters are compelling (the good guys likeable and the bad guys BAD). These are great vacation books, as the entertainment value is high and the reading is light.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Stupid, wanted to like it but.......................NO

    Stupid, wanted to like it but.......................NO

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Barnes & Noble....... aaarggghhhhhh. I type an extensive r

    Barnes & Noble....... aaarggghhhhhh. I type an extensive review, took me 10 minutes, and of course I was asked to register. BUT completing the registration does not post the review. This is standard stuff people! If you ask your customers to register AFTER having an available text box, keep the review!!!!!! I wonder how many reviews you've lost in thie process...............

    Book was a bit silly, but enjoyable. 2 stars.

    Waste of time this was.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unique and VERY entertaining story!

    I found the characters very likable and the story makes you want to root for them. The plot is unlikely but who cares, it's entertainment and entertain it does. The author makes the story seem very plausible. If you are interested in UFOs or not it makes a good quick read. So much so that I am currently reading the sequel Saucer:The Conquest, Which is the further adventures of the original characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2003

    The end result was exciting, however unrealistic

    Saucer is another exciting read from Coonts through most of the novel.The book is hard to put down, its just to bad the ending was a little to unrealistic.This is still an exciting journey worth taking.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Different from his normal genre.

    Much better than I expected. I really like Coonts' Jake Grafton series. But with this being such a drastic change in the authors normal genre I did not know how well it would be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book

    This book reminds me of the many science fiction stories I grew up with. This book is a great read and should be a must for any library that contains any science fiction. I do hope for a sequal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    Vance Daniel--AMW

    I greatly enjoy reading Stephen Coonts, but this book was terrible. The book was overwhelmingly cheesy--run away from this book. With that known, you ought to read Cuba,Liars & Thieves, or Under Siege. All good Stephen Coonts novels

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Total waste of time and money

    Really, that's all that can be said about this book without being unreasonably rude. It sucked. Really bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    Recommended

    An enjoyable read and more attention holding than I expected. I purchased the 2 follow-on books because of the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Check out this fun and captivating book.

    Fun book that will keep you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    A Good Sci-Fi Story

    I just read all 3 of the Saucer series. A good, semi-plausible plot. But Coonts leaves a lot of loose ends. To wit, in the second book, the White House and several other landmarks are destroyed by an anti-gravity ray run by the bad guys. But in book 3, less than a year later, the White House is prominently featured for much of the book, with no mention of its destruction or rebuilding.
    A more picky example: The benign aliens arrive in book 3, in a star ship said to be mile in diameter. They come down to visit, and ask for provisions. They are given supplies, including "a ton" of water. That's only 250 gallons, hardly enough for the 100 year voyage they are headed for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth the time or money!

    It is not often I quite a negative review, but this book was not one I would recommend to readers looking for a book that you can't put down. I was just too far out there for me to get my head wrapped around the possibility of someone finding a saucer and almost overnight be able to figure out how to get it running and then successfully fly it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    A Fun Read

    A fun sci-fi book that held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    great SF

    Frankly, I don't find anything objectionable about this book at all. I guess its a matter of an author doing a SF book, which his many fans find objectionable. This the first book I've read by this author and I really enjoyed it. I have read the other two, which I also really enjoyed. Thank you Stephen Coonts for a really great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Pretty good read

    Mv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3