Customer Reviews for

Savage Continent: Europe in the Aftermath of World War II

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I Thought WWII Ended in May, 1945

SUMMARY: Many book discuss World War II and the events leading up to the war, but few books cover the aftermath of the war. Everyone knows about the lives lost and the buildings destroyed, but few have studied the human and emotional cost paid after the war. Think of a ...
SUMMARY: Many book discuss World War II and the events leading up to the war, but few books cover the aftermath of the war. Everyone knows about the lives lost and the buildings destroyed, but few have studied the human and emotional cost paid after the war. Think of a society filled with hate with no electricity, no running water, no law and order, no food distribution, no medical facilities, etc. Families trying to find on another and get home while other families being relocated by force. What did Norway do with mothers and their babies fathered by Germans soldiers? Why were young women in France paraded naked through the streets with shaved heads while some men walked free for their collaboration? Which country, invaded by Germany, did the least to prosecute Nazi collaborators after the war? Savage Continent answers these questions.

BEST ABOUT THE BOOK: Most English authors focus on British contributions and points of view. Keith Lowe is even handed in his analysis, praise, and criticism of all participants. Why did so many German POW's die in American care after the war? England stood "alone" during the Battle of Britain, but where did 20 percent of their fliers come from? (Answer: not the UK) Lowe does declare Hitler as pure evil with Stalin not too far behind. Western Europe was dominated with a carrot (Marshall Plan) while Eastern Europe was controlled with a stick (Red Army). In the book, Keith Lowe compares a supertanker, which requires 10 miles to stop, to WWII which required years to end. World War II ended for Poland, for example, in 1989 when Soviet Forces were recalled to Russia.

WORSE ABOUT THE BOOK: Maps and charts do not show up well on the Nook, which is bad. Savage Continent covers only the European Theater of war. Lowe's book does not go into detail in such areas as military government and occupation, economic recovery, political aspects, and the Cold War. Lowe does cover the human side such as anger, hate, and the largest movement of people in history. After World War I the national boundaries were redrawn to accommodate minorities. After World War II the minorities were moved, while the boundaries stayed the same. Eleven million people were relocated after the war, many against their will. The only fault with the book was too much detail in some areas. The book could have been shorter with the same impact.

OVERALL: Anyone interested in WWII should read this book. It explains many of the problems we see today such as the ethnic tensions seen in the former Yugoslavia. It was the war and the events after the war that has brought continued peace and prosperity to Europe in the 21st century. No one wants to go through the 1940's again with 35 million death in Europe alone.

posted by 2012Colorado on August 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Keith Lowe seems to be very slanted when it comes to Poland ;for

Keith Lowe seems to be very slanted when it comes to Poland ;forgetting that this country was invaded by two superpowers of the time.
(I shudder to think what would have been going on in the United States if it was invaded by just one of these superpowers.) It seems to ...
Keith Lowe seems to be very slanted when it comes to Poland ;forgetting that this country was invaded by two superpowers of the time.
(I shudder to think what would have been going on in the United States if it was invaded by just one of these superpowers.) It seems to me the author is implying equal guilt on the level of the nazi's to post-war Poland.Perhaps Mr.Lowe is unaware of numerous instances of Polands minorities openly collaborating with the invaders(eg.Ukrainian nazi's during the Warsaw uprising and their role in the slaughter of a quarter of a million poles or jews from the Polish borderlands who welcomed the invading soviets with banners,salt and bread.) He discusses the practically bloodless communist takeover of Romania,however fails to mention how the Polish underground numbering in the hundreds of thousands was relentlessly hunted,subjected to showtrials and executed. Lastly,Moscow is also considered a part of Europe and should have been addressed proportionately.Mr.lowe's section on the Baltic partisans is laughable and shows a serious lack of research on what truely transpired after the war. I recommend Timothy Snyder's,Bloodlands:Europe Between Hitler And Stalin ,as a proper precursor to Keith Lowe.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I Thought WWII Ended in May, 1945

    SUMMARY: Many book discuss World War II and the events leading up to the war, but few books cover the aftermath of the war. Everyone knows about the lives lost and the buildings destroyed, but few have studied the human and emotional cost paid after the war. Think of a society filled with hate with no electricity, no running water, no law and order, no food distribution, no medical facilities, etc. Families trying to find on another and get home while other families being relocated by force. What did Norway do with mothers and their babies fathered by Germans soldiers? Why were young women in France paraded naked through the streets with shaved heads while some men walked free for their collaboration? Which country, invaded by Germany, did the least to prosecute Nazi collaborators after the war? Savage Continent answers these questions.

    BEST ABOUT THE BOOK: Most English authors focus on British contributions and points of view. Keith Lowe is even handed in his analysis, praise, and criticism of all participants. Why did so many German POW's die in American care after the war? England stood "alone" during the Battle of Britain, but where did 20 percent of their fliers come from? (Answer: not the UK) Lowe does declare Hitler as pure evil with Stalin not too far behind. Western Europe was dominated with a carrot (Marshall Plan) while Eastern Europe was controlled with a stick (Red Army). In the book, Keith Lowe compares a supertanker, which requires 10 miles to stop, to WWII which required years to end. World War II ended for Poland, for example, in 1989 when Soviet Forces were recalled to Russia.

    WORSE ABOUT THE BOOK: Maps and charts do not show up well on the Nook, which is bad. Savage Continent covers only the European Theater of war. Lowe's book does not go into detail in such areas as military government and occupation, economic recovery, political aspects, and the Cold War. Lowe does cover the human side such as anger, hate, and the largest movement of people in history. After World War I the national boundaries were redrawn to accommodate minorities. After World War II the minorities were moved, while the boundaries stayed the same. Eleven million people were relocated after the war, many against their will. The only fault with the book was too much detail in some areas. The book could have been shorter with the same impact.

    OVERALL: Anyone interested in WWII should read this book. It explains many of the problems we see today such as the ethnic tensions seen in the former Yugoslavia. It was the war and the events after the war that has brought continued peace and prosperity to Europe in the 21st century. No one wants to go through the 1940's again with 35 million death in Europe alone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    Fascinating; I knew about German expulsions from Eastern Europe,

    Fascinating; I knew about German expulsions from Eastern Europe, but never realized how much violence went on basically everywhere on the Continent for years after the war. Unfortunately nobody is innocent (other than perhaps King Michael of Romania, who is the only person in this book who seems to have done nothing wrong)- even the US was pretty harsh in some respects. A must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Mr Lowe has done an excellent job of dispelling the myth that V-

    Mr Lowe has done an excellent job of dispelling the myth that V-E Day was the end of war and violence in Europe. As he stated in his closing chapter, much of the War and Post-War years have been "remembered" in quite mythological terms:- "The Bad Guys lost and the Good Guys won, and life immediately went on in much rosier terms."

    However, I was quite surprised to find that he did not mention the severe suffering imposed on the German population by US policy from May 1945 until July 1947. "Oopular history" would tell us that "Germany surrendered and a magnanimous US then immediately instituted the Marshall Plan to help them recover". Actually, the first two years following Germany's surrender were under America's directive JCS-1067, a modified version of the "Morganthau Plan". The US military government of occupation in Germany was ordered to "…take no steps looking toward the economic rehabilitation of Germany [or] designed to maintain or strengthen the German economy" and it was also ordered that starvation, disease and civil unrest were to be kept below such levels where they would pose a danger to the troops of occupation. By 1947. the mortality rates for adults was four times that of 1941, and for children, 10 times that of 1941, primarily due to severe malnutrition, lack of housing and lack of medical care.

    In short, the US policy may not have been physical violence those two years, but it was indeed economic and humanitarian violence. The daily ration of food in the US Zone was about 1,000 calories/day, while those in the Soviet Zone had 1,500. Finally, in concern that the Western Germans would turn to Stalin, the US Commander, General Clay, petitioned President Truman to put an end to JCS-1067. Additionally, Churchill feared that Germany would become a "concrete weight" on England's economy forever. Thus, the Marshall Plan aid to Germany was not motivated by humanitarian ideals, but pure and simple anti-Stalin fears and European economic necessity.

    What these two years of JCS-1067 contributed to the savagery Lowe describes could be the subject of another volume. It was, without question, not one of America's finest hours of humanitarian behavior, and in actuality, similar to the Nazi treatment of some of the countries they occupied.

    Thank you Mr Lowe for dispelling many of the myths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    We live in Europe and my husband's family is one of the expelled

    We live in Europe and my husband's family is one of the expelled Germans from Poland (Pomerania). We had planned on visiting for genealogy purposes. not anymore!  There's nothing left and we were finally told that German cemeteries were desecrated after the war. another tragic loss... Such an incredible read. We are European history buffs and appreciate the honesty, even if many folks disagree. Don't listen to others' opinions. Read for yourself and learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    one of the most important books about world war II everyone shou

    one of the most important books about world war II everyone should read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    Excellent read, I highly recommend for any interested in Europe

    Excellent read, I highly recommend for any interested in Europe after the war. Explains a lot about why things are as they are in certain parts of Europe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    I always wanted to know what happened after the last artillery r

    I always wanted to know what happened after the last artillery round fell in Europe at the close of World War Two. I grew up in the aftermath of this conflict, and thought I had good understanding of all the players involved. Reading Keith Lowe's account astounded me, in what I thought I knew.
    Figuratively, the aftermath of WW2 was more viscous and senseless as the war itself and the allies were totally unprepared to deal with it, at least of those that were on the ground and had to deal with the ensuing carnage that continued, that was started by the Nazis and continued by the myriad of ethnic groups that still had axes to grind with each other.
    To a large extent the hatred that caused this whole conflagration is very prevalent today. Americans tend to toss the word, "Hate," around like a ping pong ball and never really understand the true meaning of the word.. But in the aftermath of World War Two, Hate literally permeated the very soul of the European Continent.
    Keith Lowe's book is just plain fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    WWII didn't end in 1945

    This is one of the best works on Europe in the immediate years after the offical close of WWII, the post-war 'wars' that are still working out in events overseas. How did Greece get in such a mess? The former Yugoslavia? The rise in anti-semitism and racial politics of every country in Europe? A must read for anyone who wonders more about 'what happened after the war was over.' And it raises a more philosophical question, "Do wars ever end, even if we sign a treaty to say the armed conflict is over?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    A must for readers interested in WWII.

    I like reading about events prior to and including WWII in Europe. I never gave much thought to what followed VE Day - the Allies won, everyone goes home and life returns to normal. This well written book explores events after the liberation of Europe: poverty, lack of infra-structure, no functioning governments, civil wars, revenge, ethnic cleansing. Savage Continent gives a great deal of information and much food for thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1