Customer Reviews for

The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf (The Squire's Tales Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Love it

    Somtimes appearences can be decieving. Sometimes the guy of your dreams is not always the greatest looking guy in the room. This book gives the phrase "dont judge a book by its cover" a whole new meaning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Morris' masterpiece- an absolute delight

    Witty, warm, and surprising, this puts all his other novels to shame. A perfect blend of action, romance and smart humor; you will be sad to see this one end. By far my favorite of Morris' work and absolutely one of my favorite books of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    good book?

    i havent read all of it but it looks good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Couldn't put it down!!

    I read this book in one day while only stopping during classes. It had a great character devolopment without telling you anything all at once or out right. There were questions that all came together in the end and the whole book was connected. But when it was over I was sad, :( , because I just wanted to read more of this story. It was absolutely one of the best books i've ever read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    definitely his best book so far

    I love this book. It is hilarious and so witty. I love Lynet. She is the perfect heroine because she is so brave and so kind. This story isn't your traditional fairy tale but that's why I like it so much. This book is definitely one of my favorites ever. So read it! You'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    My favorite

    The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf is a great book for Tamora Pierce fans. Basically because Lynet is a very strong female character who many girls can relate to (stupid older sisters, crushes, etc.) It might be better if you know the original Sir Beaumains story beforehand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    THE FUNNIEST ONE YET!!

    If you liked Squire's Tale and The Squire, His Knight, and His Lady, you are going to LOVE this one. It has most of the characters from the previous books and many new and FUNNY characters. This one was REALLY GREAT. I LOVE the way that Gerald Morris writes!! I was laughing so much!! Just thinking about it makes me laugh!! The plot is really good and so is the romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    how can anyone not love this book?

    full of humor, this book is perfect for eather reading by a crackling fire or as a summer reading project. I personally love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    Brilliant!

    This book, overflowing with love and respect for the legends and dripping with wit, is one of the best retellings of Arthurian legend I've ever read. Morris looks at the stories from a modern viewpoint, and puts characters with modern personalities into the middle of all the silliness we see when we read them in the originals. Look out for the Pink Knight scene, and read it with tissues in hand -- prepare to laugh until you cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2002

    ...laugh out loud ride...

    This book is a laugh - out - loud ride through one of the most celebrated tales of the Knights of the Round Table. You don't have to be an Arthurian junkie and already familiar with the story of Beaumain the Kitchen Knight like me to enjoy this, either. In fact, all you really need is a sense of humor. The evil Knight of the Red Lands has lain seige to the Castle Perle, slaughtering every knight who comes his way, and demanding the hand of the beautiful but witless Lady Lyonessse. Her sister, Lynet, decides to take matters into her own hands and sneaks out of the castle (with the help of a suspiciously magical stranger), and heads for Camelot, befriending a dwarf named Roger along the way. At Camelot, however, Lynet refuses to reveal her name, fearing that her father's part in a rebellion against Arthur will stop the king from sending her any help. Unfortunately, no one wants to follow a nameless damsel in distress on a perilous quest, so Lynet, much to her disgust, has to settle for the kitchen boy, Beaumains. This hilarious romance about things not always being what they seem puts a refreshing spin on a beloved story and will leave you wanting to read more on Morris' Knights of the Round Table. In that case, I strongly recommend Gerald Morris' other works, about Sir Gawain and his squire Terence. All three books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    An enchanting tale..

    This book has delightful wit and the romance and magic in it are treated in a refreshingly novel way. One is drawn into the story from the start and Lynet and Roger are an endearing heroine and hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    That was the most amusing book......

    People, that book was GOOD! it was quite...witty, and all the characters had good personalities. I wanted the book to be longer, and I wanted more sequels, it was really good!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    I hope he writes a sequil!

    Ive just found my favorite book! this is a great book I suggest it to anyone.I really hope he writes another book these books of his are my all time favorites!This is the first time Ive liked a book so much!YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK.Its the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2000

    Gerald Morris Pulls Excalibur from Stone

    This book is truly a victory put into words. I thought Mr. Morris's past Squire Terence books were great, but this one...wow! I couldn't put it down. I started reading 'The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf' to get rid of Harry Potter withdrawal, but it turned out that I now have Squire Terence withdrawal, instead. Oh well, at least I got a good read out of it. Three times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2