Customer Reviews for

Savage Run (Joe Pickett Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    When it comes to writing a successful mystery series, a memorabl

    When it comes to writing a successful mystery series, a memorable, likeable main character goes a long way toward completing the marathon. Joe Pickett has likeability in spades, and his game warden profession provides a unique perspective in a sea of detectives, PIs, and ne’er-do-wells. While the plot may have been a bit farfetched at times, it never seemed so far out there that it proved unreasonable.

    What really drew me into the story, though, was the beginning. The opening line is perfection, and the second line goes perfectly with the first. The entire opening chapter sings like an Italian opera singer in the middle of his big solo. So yeah, I was hooked like a trout in the middle of your local river, and I sped along as the hook further embedded in my gills.

    While I didn’t get the same sense of place that I’ve grown to know and love with Craig Johnson, I did find this to be a rather enjoyable read from the first page to the last. And if you’re into well-written mysteries, you probably will too.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    another clincher

    I just love the character Joe Pickett. Everybody wants to be him...the good guy. And he is the good guy in this C. J. Box novel again. But the story line is exciting, there is a little romance this time and it is a fun, fast read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loads of fun

    Original characters, not the usual perfect detective, he makes mistakes and misjudgements that make him human.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Terrible

    This book is putrid it invades peoples.nonviolence rights shooting is not the answer neither is fighting stock detectives should be shot with a bazooka I hat it being wrote about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Read on

    This is this cat
    This is is cat
    This is how cat
    This is to cat
    This is keep cat
    This is a cat
    This is idiot cat
    This is busy cat. Now go back and read the third word of every line.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Great

    I have been enjoying the Joe Pickett series. I'm on #3 and it is good as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Really like C J BOX books. Wish they were longer

    This is the second installment of the Joe Pickett, game warden series. It cost $5.99 and was 239 pages long. I wish it had been longer. It was just as good as book one. Well edited with wonderful characters, good plot, great flow and plenty of suspense. I know who the little girl, April, is from the first book and about her parents and siblings, but I would like to know how the Picketts became her foster parents, where her little brother and other siblings are and what became of her pregnant mother? I hate broken threads. This book did not have the kids or dog in it as much as the first one did. There is really graphic murder and extreme violence in this book. Sex is insinuated without any other details. No cursing or religion. A horse is killed in this book. Its death made me cringe. There are some great twists and turns. I really felt sorry for one of the main characters. This is a book for adult men and women. A strong stomach is recommended.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Austin

    "I see" he pulls it back and fires at a tree, and barely hits it on the edge. "Got it!" (Gtg sorry its so early but ill be up later tomorow) he walks back to the main camp.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Ghost

    "If you guys encounter Zeds or anything dangerous, just radio me."

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Ember

    Lays on the ground and hums.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Sorry

    Everyone move to vengeance res 1-5

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    It' A Blast- schedule X-tra reading time!

    One of his good one's, hard to put down***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    WOW

    I saw these books everywhere we went in Jackson Hole & Cody, Wyoming. Of course I had to have the on my Nook. If you like Nevada Barr books, you will love these. I have to have all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Outstanding read.....once again!

    C.J. Box once again puts Joe Pickett into the field, and you go right along with him. You can almost hear the animals around Joe, and feel the air brushing across your skin. Don't miss this one, or any of the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Great series,Must read

    Loved the war between the Ranchers and Environmentalists. Great read, will continue to read all the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Smooth Continuation from Pickett #1

    Enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Really a great read.

    I enjoyed this book. I think that the Joe Pickett series is just great. I truly enjoy the way Joe's family is brought into this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Keeps you reading til the end and then some!

    This series is great, love Joe Pickett and his honesty and he's a very upright character in a very rough environment of people and topography!
    As always when it ended, I had to get the next one immediately! Keeps you wondering all the time what is next for Joe and family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent - as usually expected from C.J. Box

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Leaves you looking for his next book

    Great story.Having been in the area there was a good "view" of that part of the state.Love the family aspect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5