Customer Reviews for

Save Me

Average Rating 3.5
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

This is a great thriller

In Pennsylvania, an explosion erupts at the Reesburgh Elementary School cafeteria. Although the cafeteria was almost empty, some students and workers were still inside. Initially knocked out by the blast lunch mother Rose McKenna rescues three students (Danielle, Aman...
In Pennsylvania, an explosion erupts at the Reesburgh Elementary School cafeteria. Although the cafeteria was almost empty, some students and workers were still inside. Initially knocked out by the blast lunch mother Rose McKenna rescues three students (Danielle, Amanda and Emily) before coming to the aid of her trapped beloved daughter Melly. Three people died in the ensuing inferno.

Rose's heroic act gets noticed when she faces civil and criminal charges because Amanda went missing after being lectured by Rose. Amanda is unconscious on a stretcher when her mother Eileen accuses Rose of neglect. Rose's husband Leo Ingrassia a lawyer defends his wife's actions under the stress and chaos of the moment. The media acts like vultures tearing at Rose while legal pressure and community stress cause a schism between the hassled couple; which is ripped further asunder when the publicity opens a secret from Rose's past with a vengeance.

This is a great thriller that grips the audience from the opening explosion and never slows down Rose is vilified unfairly by the families and the media. Her only public defender is her husband until her dark secret surfaces. Readers will feel for the beleaguered heroine as much more implodes in her life, but like the Energizer Bunny she keeps on ticking.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

I don't recommend

The only saving grace was that I read this in store, and I didn't have to pay for it. I cannot remember any of her other books being so poorly written, I was cringing at points. While I liked the premise, I am not a fan of the writing or the characters.

posted by TaraO on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    I don't recommend

    The only saving grace was that I read this in store, and I didn't have to pay for it. I cannot remember any of her other books being so poorly written, I was cringing at points. While I liked the premise, I am not a fan of the writing or the characters.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Very disappointing -- wasted my money

    Based on the description, I thought this would be a book that dealt with a real issue that could happen today, but very disappointed to find it was another "whodunit" book with a mother running around the state fighting crime.

    I did not bother to finish...

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    Soccer-mom to Wonder-Woman in a few short days! Pretty unbelievable premise, outrageous plot , and sophomoric rhetoric. Along with the misspellings and grammatical errors, I found this one to be an insult to my intelligence. Authors lose their credibility in a heartbeat when they do this. Lunch-room mommy of shy kid saves the day by solving a brutal murder plot by giant conglomerate!! How soap-opera is that? Honestly, I wish I'd saved my money. Never again; I will stick to Turow and Grisham. In a word: inane.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Not as good as I thought it would be. Disappointing.

    Have read other books by this author and enjoyed them. This one seemed too far fetched. Title character had no allies. Too many other plots intertwined together.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Not a fan - would not recommend

    I thought this was very poorly developed. I've not read any other L. Scottoline novels and probably won't. It read as a child's attempt to create a story where the heroine combats evil but it was unbelievable in so many ways. I was very disappointed in the novel and was glad to finish it to move on.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Recently picked this one up from the library and I'm happy to sa

    Recently picked this one up from the library and I'm happy to say I didn't pay for it. While the initial moral issue posed in the very beginning was interesting. However it turned from a story about relationship between child and mother into a ridiculously overdone, unrealistic story about crime and murder. Think something along the line of lunch mom gone CSI within three hours. It seemed as though the author lost her train of thought in the middle of the book and the whole thing was very extreme. Another thing was the poor writing. The author relied on several phrases throughout the book that the repetition became annoying. To name a few, "on the fly.." "fed the car gas.." "chirped it unlocked..". I also noticed she was over descriptive. For example, every time she got in the car, we had to know that she started the engine, pressed the gas, backed out, and zoomed out of the parking lot. Really now? Overall, this novel was a bust. I'm telling you don't waste your time or money.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    waste of time and money

    Good idea but poorly organized. Lines in the story were repetitive. Parts of the story line were a waste. The use of time in the book didn't seem workable.
    Why would you use car accidents three times in a story as a means to kill off characters ( the little boy, the carpentar and friend, her ex husband)? How many times can you use the line," she fed the car some gas." The character Kristen Canton was pathetic, as a teacher, I can tell you she did not seem believable.

    Lisa Scottoline, I love your Philadelphia Inquirer articles but your books are very disappointing. I have read two and I'm not reading another one.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    NOT RECOMMENDED-BORROW FROM LIBRARY if you must read.

    Weak plot, no character depth, contrived situations right until the end. More for upper elementary school girls who might enjoy a story with childish HAPPY ENDING. Unrealistic. Repetitive phrasing. I hope not read the words, "ON THE FLY" or "HIT THE GAS" again. Weak editing. (why would a pony seem immensely large to Rose). Most disappointing Lisa Scottoline book read. Was it written by a ghost writer? She usually never disappoints, but this novel did. Hope there is no sequel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Unbelievable plot

    I never buy a book without reading the reviews but since I am a Scottoline fan, I did so this time. Mistake! I read them AFTER I purchased it. I agree with all the bad reviews. The first half just made me angry and the second half was such a ridiculous premise I thought about not finishing it. Totally unbelievable tripe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disappointing

    I really had to force myself to finish this. I was intrigued by the premise and couldn't wait to get it. It started weak and then went into weird detective mode. The whole thing was unbelievable and not up to Scottoline standards. The story was nothing like the synopsis. I was expecting a tear jerker and got what i wanted because I cried thinking I wasted money on this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Not Good

    This story is not believable. Poorly written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Harstan again?

    Would someone please stop this woman from writing her pathetic plot spoiling reviews please?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Terrible book.

    Unbelievable and poorly written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Wow, what a disappointment! The protagonist is a real airhead f

    Wow, what a disappointment! The protagonist is a real airhead for half the book and then becomes a supposable superhero. The characters were inconsistantly drawn and not believable.
    I have enjoyed Scottoline's early books but this one was poorly done. I also take exception the the premise that when a woman gives birth she automatically becomes a saint.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    HORRIBLE

    Never read a more rediculous, corny book in my life! This should have been listed under teen books. What's the N.Y. Times reviw thinking in their great review? I cringed with each page as the "mommy" heroine saved everyone. HORRIBLE BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Waste of money

    Far fetched and weak plot, Poorly written and all around disappointment,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Bad

    This was the most unrealistic story ever. Writing was amateurish. Waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Very disappointing.

    The book is very poorly written and the story is not gripping at all. Everything about it seems quite amateur. Don't waste your time nor money, I am very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Gave up

    I really tried to make it through. But what a sappy bunch of girlie drama... blech

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    SAD '')

    This book is sad because bullying thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3