Customer Reviews for

Save Me from Myself: How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Drugs, and Lived to Tell My Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!!

I really enjoyed reading Brian's book. I grew up with rock'nroll in the 70's and my son grew with with Korn in the 90's. All that I've heard about living on the road as a rock band was confirmed in Brian's story.

I am so happy for Brian that he has found Jesus and w...
I really enjoyed reading Brian's book. I grew up with rock'nroll in the 70's and my son grew with with Korn in the 90's. All that I've heard about living on the road as a rock band was confirmed in Brian's story.

I am so happy for Brian that he has found Jesus and with that, peace.
I asked to be in God's light when my son was born, over 20 yrs. ago.

What Brian says about the struggles that Christians face in these pages are so true and he says it so eloquently.

I have been inspired by your story, Brian, God Bless You!!

posted by gin-gee on August 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Informational

I have been a huge Korn fan for about 10 years, Head was always my fav. I was sad when he left Korn and always wondered why. The book really explains alot. Mostly all of the mistakes that he made though out his life and his recovery. It kept me going becuase I am a Korn...
I have been a huge Korn fan for about 10 years, Head was always my fav. I was sad when he left Korn and always wondered why. The book really explains alot. Mostly all of the mistakes that he made though out his life and his recovery. It kept me going becuase I am a Korn fan and I wanted to know what exactlly happen that made him leave Korn. It was interesting to see inside the life of Korn. It would be a great read for someone that loves inspirational stories. Overall I am glad that I have read it just for the fact that I wanted to know what happened.

posted by gothic_skittles on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    SnowStorm

    Let's continue chatting at "pol"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    To leo

    Sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    LEO

    zoeg @ prodigy .net do you know how to be a nook friend and all that?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    Reading Brian's story was amazing. I am a Christian myself and I know that feeling when you literally feel God putting his hands on your shoulder and say to you. "Don't worry, everything is going to be okay."

    Amazing job Brian. Keep God first and everything will be okay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great read

    This was a very good book. It was intresting to read about the korn days as well as hear about the drastic change he went through. His testimony is a wild ride for sure, as well as an inspirational one. I like how he didn't sugar coat his transfomation to make it seem as though everything gets easier the more you seek God. I love the music he's writing as a christian as much if not more than the stuff he did with korn, and I'm a huge korn fan. It is a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great

    Tought me not to do drugs. Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    AWESOME

    absolutely one of the BEST books I have ever read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    korn

    this book is imspirational. head is exraordinay. p.s. i like cheese

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I thought it was a good autobio for someone whom is not a book writer

    I am in AA..NA... unfortunetely I need more than religion. I need spirituality and NOT religion as of now.
    It reminded me of a 1st step or a lifestory that we write or tell our sponsers /other addicts whom are in recovery about.
    Brian told his story in the best way he could at the time he wrote it and to me...it was like a 1st step.In treatment centers we have to write our lifestories and they dont have to be perfect.
    I do beleive for BRIAN it was a good thing to write it..cathartic. Its so hard to write a life story.Ive cried so i have kinda hurried through it and got out what I could and it works. Over time things become so much easier to talk and write about.
    I guess he had 2 years during the time he wrote the book. I will bet if he stays clean and starts workin on his stuff More will be revealed. I forgot alot. If he ever writes another I totally think it will be written better and in more detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    A beautiful testimony

    This book was so good. I finished it in two days because I couldn't put it down. I would recommend this book to christians and Korn fans alike. His testimony is so honest and beautiful. I was blown away. I consider this to be one of the best books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    Awesome!

    I saw Brain Welsh on the Life Today show, went & bought the book & couldn't put it down. I started reading it on a Tuesday around noon & had finished it the next day by 5PM. I am guessing it took me roughly 15 hours to read it. He has the most amazing testimony I have ever heard. I wish it would come out in paperback so I could afford to buy about 12 copies to give out to friends & loved ones that I know would enjoy it as much as I did. He is Raw & totally honest in this book. I pray he writes another book later on down the road with his walk with Christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    A friend of mine who is into Korn suggested I read the book and it sounded pretty interesting so I gave it a chance and I could not put the book down. He doesn't hold back or sugar coat things to make him seem like a better person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    Down-right Inspirational!

    I absolutely loved this book. Brian is so real and holds nothing back. As a Christian just starting my walk, I found this book to be very inspirational and my desire to grow an even closer relationship with our Lord grew immensely. This is a great book also for anyone looking for or needing a new start in life. And what better way then with Christ! A must have

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    a eye opener

    i starter to read 'save me from myself' and its a eye opener being depressed and hiding your emotions from people that care about you..about finish with it..its a book you cant put down you have to finish that chapter...i recommend it to anyone really..it got me rethinkin my life...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    This a life changing book!!

    I had began this book when I started going to Church a little while ago. I just finished it last night, and it was the best book I have ever read. I have been a fan of Korn up until Head left the band. I was completely obsessed with korn, and you think you know everything that happens with everyone in the band when you are as obsessed as I was. But you don't, until you read this book. As I was reading Head was went through the same experiences I was going through at time I started going to church and got saved. It was amazing!! He goes into every aspect of his life and leaves nothing out. The book itself is a little pricey, but it is WELL worth the price. I guarantee it. You will not be able to put this book down. It will inspire you in many ways.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Pure

    This book is so pure and devoid of the churchy stuff...it will bless you and inspire your faith. IT is so worth reading...and it is powerful to change your heart.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    In Save Me from Myself, former lead guitarist, Brian Welch, of Korn shares so openly, humbly and completely honestly about his life, growing up in Bakersfield, CA), his family life and the living hell he experienced, to finding his way to a sane stable life, free of drug addiction, through the life saving changing power of Jesus Christ Brian is a real hero for the millions of fans of his former rock group. The teens who also feel isolated, hurt, misunderstood and angry can now (finally) learn the real truth about the downward spiral of drug addiction, and how they can turn it around to have a much happier life. The book reads as if you're listening to a real, down-to-earth friend, who just tells it like it is. Brian isn't looking for glory here, he's sharing from his heart. By the courageous example he sets, this book should be a MUST READ for anyone who can relate to the life Brian used to have, and how to positively turn that around.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    TOUCHING!!

    this book was amazing...more power to you HEAD!! it's awesome to see how GOD can do miracles in the thoughest times. it's great to see that he didn't give up on GOD's plans for his life, and trusting HIM through it all...your reward awaits you in heaven : )

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Amazingly touching...

    I picked this book up casually by it's cover at work of all places...as I read the back, I remembered who Head is...Not to say a huge fan of Korn, but like and appreciate good music. This book has made me realize God's love and his Power. It has drawn me to get back to where I belong. It is a roller coaster...Get ready for the ride!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Inspirational

    It was amazing to read about what he went through as a child and as a member of korn. Following him on his journey from meth addict to born again Christian was inspirational. Good read for anyone who is having trouble in their life or is struggling with their faith.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5