Customer Reviews for

Save My Soul: Book 1 in the 'Save My Soul' series

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Kendra Larkin, professional photographer and rappelling enthusia

    Kendra Larkin, professional photographer and rappelling enthusiast has just run out of time. Her latest adventure has landed her squarely on the operating table of the very handsome, very eligible Dr. Adam Chamberlain. Not able to understand why she is there in the first place, unable to open her eyes, all she can do is lay there listening to everything going on around her.

    Moved to ICU after surgery, she has a most interesting encounter with a pair of angels. As it happens, they are guardian angels, hers and the good doctor's. Her guardian angel, Rhyan, tells her they are there to take her to heaven. Ceon is the doctor's guardian angel. He, on the other hand, isn't quite so eager to take Kendra and has a proposition for her.

    Kendra learns that everyone's conscience is divided into good and evil. Each side is guided by either a guardian angel or guardian demon. The two are in constant conflict with only one goal, to win that person's soul for either heaven or hell. Coen tells her the doctor has stopped believing in God and is a lost soul. Since neither angels nor demons can interfere with free will so Coen is asking for Kendra's help. If she is willing to help Adam believe in God again, she will have her life back.

    Of course, there's a catch. She only has a week in which to succeed. Coen has been a little short-coming on the finer details of the agreement. If she fails, she not only loses her life, but very possibly her soul as well. He has broken more than one rule in his efforts to save Adam's soul.

    When Kendra tells Adam that she was saved so she could get his life back on the path to God, he rudely dismisses her claim. Waiting in the wings is the doctor's guardian demon. He is more than ready to believe she survived the surgery to have time to revive the doctor's belief in God.

    Staying true to her flair for the unexpected, Haigwood gives us the anticipated curve ball when Coen exposes Rhyan's love for Kendra. How can Rhyan guide Kendra when he wants her for himself? What happens when Kendra starts to fall in love with Rhyan? How can she possibly straighten this tangle? Kendra has more than enough to handle being loved by her guardian angel, a friend who only acknowledged his feelings when he thought he'd lost her, pursued by evil to keep her from saving the doctor's soul, and rebuffed by the doctor himself. And let's not forget the doctor's guardian demon who sets himself as a romantic distraction.

    Will she avoid the pitfalls and save help Adam renew his belief in God, accept Rhyan's love for her and go to heaven with him or say yes to his guardian demon before she realizes who he is? An enjoyable paranormal romance I've already read twice. Haigwood just keeps on going. I'm looking forward to the next novel in this series.

    Review written by Joyce Hays

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very good.

    I was prepared for a sexually active book. I was pleasantly surprised. Now I am not a religious person but I am spiritual and this book was a bit of both with romance and real world added. You can have a potty mouth and love God at the same time. Nobody is perfect. Thank God!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Interesting

    This story kept my interest, and lately it's been hard for me to find a story that does.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I can't say enough

    This was a beautiful story. I was in tears many times. Great story and great characters. Such a wonderful surprise to read something this lovely.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Paranormal Lite

    How would you convince someone to believe in God in just a week, especially when your soul and theirs depend upon you doing just that? Well with the help of your guardian angel, of course. Doesn't hurt that he's hunky, gorgeous and your soul mate to boot. But don't get the idea that it's easy, especially since he gave up believing long, long ago. Can she change his mind and save both their souls?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Loved it.

    I do believe in soul mates. I found mine. Funny thing is, he wears a gun and a badge to work!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!

    For a freebe, this book was PHENOMENAL!!! Honestly loved all of it!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    234 pages good reading

    Recommend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    I loved and enjoyed every page of this book! 

    I loved and enjoyed every page of this book! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Kendra Larkin has always been unafraid. Now she is faced with th

    Kendra Larkin has always been unafraid. Now she is faced with the ultimate task. She has seven days to make Adam Chamberlin believe in God or she will lose her soul and her life. Adam is filled with bitterness. When he lost his family, he turned his back on God. Now he is a surgeon who fights death daily. When you add angels and demons and a new man in her life, Kendra has very little chance of success. You won't believe what happens. This is a wonderful paranormal story. It is filled with suspense and plenty of surprises. Kendra, Adam and Mason (the new man) will pull you into their story. I loved this book! This is a perfect start to this series. You don't want to miss this original tale of angels and demons and the power of love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    K.S. Haigwood Save My Soul Save My Soul #1 From the very firs

    K.S. Haigwood
    Save My Soul
    Save My Soul #1

    From the very first page, this book had me completely intrigued – not sure I would want to hear everything going on if I ever land up on an operating table but it made for a great start to the book. I loved the use of language, and was able to relate to the characters much more, knowing that they had issues, doubts and weren’t really sure what was going on themselves half the time. With loads of twists and turns, some expected, some not, I was turning page after page to see how things were going to end for Kendra and Adam. A thoroughly enjoyable, gripping, suspenseful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved this book. I could not put it down. Read the whole book in one day.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    I enjoyed this book, to the point that I couldn't put it down un

    I enjoyed this book, to the point that I couldn't put it down until it was done. I'll admit, I predicted a few of the outcomes but that is an extremely annoying habit that I have, and I honestly do not think most would find this story predictable as it truly isn't like anything else I've encountered before. I love Haigwood's take on Guardians and find it thought-provoking.  I became attached to the characters rather quickly and so am glad she turned this into a series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Not my normal type of read

    Where do I start? This isn't a book I normally read. When it comes to Demons , Angels, and other characters like this I don't know why but I don't get into them. (now I can sit and watch Supernatural all day.)

    But going Into the book I didn't realize it was that type. I was immediately sucked into the book within the firdt paragraph, I didn't want to stop reading.

    The more I read I started to feel not so fond of the book. I feel after she got me sucked into it it started lacking excitement. I got bored with it.

    However since I'm the type who has to read the book no matter what I continued reading. Only to find myself even more into the book, I'm guessing the author was trying to save the action closer to the end of the book.

    The book has good details, brilliant characteristics. In all it was a pretty good book. And I plan on reading Book two

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    great book

    I was surprised on how much I enjoyed this. the author developed a good story & wasn't overbearing on the religion aspect. I highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Avoid

    It became apparent pretty quick that the buzz around this series was staged. My advice, avoid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    A fantastic voyage! 1st let me say I read this eBook 1st

    A fantastic voyage!
    1st let me say I read this eBook 1st & then I bought the audiobook and listened to it. The audiobook is a totally different read to me. It is the SAME book, but in audio format with all the different voices and the story being read to me in such an exciting way, I absorbed more of the story. When I read books myself, I don't always remember what I read. Have you ever heard someone say they liked the movie, but the book was better? Audiobooks are like listening to the movie only better - the best of both worlds!
    Now that I have read this in audio, I am re-writing my review as I have lots more to say about it. K S Haigwood has drawn me into her book with the plot so well written, the excitement contagious (better in audio), & the characters are so much more memorable to me now that I heard their voices! What a fantastic voyage that was!!!
    Kendra has a terrible accident while hiking and dies, BUT then is given a 2nd chance at life by her guardian angel. Kendra is given 1 week to go back & save Adam (a doctor). Kendra has to make Adam believe in God in order to save her own life & her soul. As the story goes, Kendra falls in love with Adam too.
    With many great characters in this story, I loved Ryan (the good guardian). I didn't like Murray (the bad guardian- a real bad ass). All of Kendra's family & friends each had something to contribute to this story. She even has/had a friend with benefits! Did I mention the plot twists? Even though Murray loses Kendra, he still get's the last laugh by making people think she is suicidal. Boy I didn't see that coming!!! Each guardian has left their mark & memories with Kendra & Adam too!
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who love the paranormal reads or even anyone looking for a new adventure. With the eBook being free, you have nothing to lose & a new fabulous author to gain! Enjoy everyone!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    I just finished this book, the reviews are great, I thought it w

    I just finished this book, the reviews are great, I thought it was OK, ish.  It's certainly not any kind of religious story even
    though there are 'angels'.
    It is on my shelf as 'fluff'.There are some twists to this and it's enjoyable enough but pretty light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Uniquely Wonderful

    The suspense started on the first page and didn't end, well not until the end of the book. The way the story moves from a guardian angel to a guardian demon was excellently done. Our main character must find a way, though in the end it is likely she will die and lose her soul, to save a man she comes to love. I cannot in good conscience give away the ending, but trust me, it is worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Not my cup of tea

    As a Christian I just wish writers would know something about Christian Doctrine if they are going to write about angels. The only angels that had sex with women were the fallen angels and they were Satan's followers, a guardian angel having sex with women just wouldn't happen. All of this pseudo Christian tripe is awful. What a waste of time.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2