Customer Reviews for

Save the Date

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Great "Feel-Good" Romance!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! Jenny Jones is a wonderful author, bringing real world problems such as poor self-image, poverty, guilt, etc., and weaves them into a fantastic, "feel good" novel. The book is based in Charleston, South Carolina, and showcases the extremes on the social spectrum. Lucy is the founder of Saving Grace, which is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to providing a home and training for young women who would otherwise be out on the street and on their own after their foster care ended at 18 years of age. Lucy is about to lose her funding for Saving Grace, so she enters into a contract with Alex Sinclair to fake an engagement in order to win an election for Congress. Alex, a former pro-football player and member of the Charleston elite, will in turn give her the money she needs to keep her non-profit going. They go into this as less than friends, but soon develop feelings for each other. After learning about the person behind the facade, Lucy realizes that there is more to Alex than she gave him credit for. Lucy is not the type of person that Alex normally dates, which is exactly what makes her stand out. This is a great romance story that made me long to learn even more about this couple. I would love a sequel! I received this book free from the publisheer, and was not required to write a positive review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Great

    Loved it soooooo much


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Save the Date is one of the best reads I have picked up by a new

    Save the Date is one of the best reads I have picked up by a new author. I will most definitely be keeping an eye out for more books by Jenny B. Jones. I loved Alex and Lucy, really got to know them, and the chemistry between them was so real. The witty banter (along with exceptional characters), was the best anecdote to a dull day. I'm sure I had more than one weird look in my direction just from all the random laughter I spewed out listening to Alex and Lucy together. This book is a keeper for my shelf, and destined to well worn with care. I highly recommend you curl up somewhere cozy, get ready to release some endorphins, and 'Save the Date'!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    loved it!

    so funny-i laughed outloud:)cant wait 2 read more by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Amazing

    Couldnt put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great read

    Jenny b. Jones never dissapoints me, defintely is my new fav christian fiction author! Im looking forward to more 'grown up' books from her! Be sure to check out her blog!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This is my favorite book it is amazingm

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Amamzing must read book

    This book is amazing and had me laughing so hard. I couldn't put it down its that good. Usually im not one to read a book with out vampires or something supernatural, but the way that Jenny B. Jones placed little things like a Doctor who marathon and such just made me love it even more and i was totaly able to relate to Lucy, the main character. She was just like me in ways. And she wasn't some skinny snot like many other female characters are in most books. She gave her characters such depth and passion that I felt like i was there with them, feeling there pain and suffering, dancing with joy and singing right along with them. This book is getting a place on my top ten. ~Stevie F 20

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Great book!

    Loved it! I love reading a good clean romance between two God fearing people!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Such a fun author

    The funding for Lucy's non-profit home for girls has completely fallen through. Her plan? Attend a black tie gala, hunt down Sinclair board members, and harass them until they change their minds. It's all going exactly how one might expect-badly-when Alex Sinclair approaches. Lucy doesn't have time to be toyed with the Playboy-son of the company's owner. She continues to bother board members until disaster ensues and a board member is sitting in a pile of shrimp. For reasons Alex can't quite understand, he goes to comfort Lucy. Little did either of them know, some paparazzi got some pictures of them together that were all over the papers the next day.

    This gives Alex and idea. He needs to clean up his image if he is going to win his campaign for congress. And Lucy needs money to save her teen girls home. So Alex proposes a deal: Lucy poses as his fiancé in exchange for the money she needs.

    Jenny B. Jones is such a fun author. Her books always reel me in and keep me grinning. The premise of this one was a bit unorthodox. It both made the story fun and made me uncomfortable for Alex and Lucy. I felt bad that these two Christian characters were going on and on with this lie. Still, Jenny B. Jones managed to work it all out, entertain me, and give some great food for thought as to finding your identity in Christ. And as always, her supporting cast was very enjoyable. I loved that Lucy was a science fiction fan. Very fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Instant Favorite!!

    Words can not express how much I LOVE this book!!! This is one of the funniest books I've read since well ever. I lost count of the times I laughed out loud during this book. Lines like where Clare is praying and her prayer is "Jesus, Alex is an imbecile, and you need to fix it, Amen. Or lines like "It's on my bucket list. and the response is "So is kissing Pierce Brosnan, but that's not going to happen either." It's a very entertaining read.

    The book is about Lucy who runs a girls home called Saving Grace for girls that have aged out of the foster care system and have no where else to go. Her program is in danger of losing it's funding because it's largest contributor-Sinclair Hotels-can make it's usual donation due to the economy. Enter Alex Sinclair-former classmate of Lucy's as well as a retired NFL superstar who's running for Congress. He makes her a deal she can't refuse-he'll give her the money she needs to save Saving Grace IF she agrees to pose as his fiancee to help him win the election. Let the fun begin!!

    This is an instant favorite I will read over and over again. Now I'm dying to read Jenny B. Jones other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Save the Date

    Today, I'm going to be reviewing Save the Date by Jenny B. Jones. No, my dears, not Junie...Jenny. Haha (how many people got that one?). This one's a fiction novel...which means this chick lit fan really liked it. :)

    Enter Lucy. A single woman who works for a nonprofit that she created to take in foster girls off the street and help them learn how to be bright, young Christian women that shine the glory of God. Part of this job is finding and securing donations from local businesses and churches to help keep the organization afloat. Sinclair Enterprises has been one of her biggest donors- until now. Their VP (well, ex-VP, now) had squandered away millions (or, well, thosands. Whatever). So, in order to get back on budget, they slash their donation to 30 percent of what they had been giving Saving Grace (which is big bucks). So, Lucy must find a way to keep the home open so that they can provide a home for these girls.

    Enter Alex. Football player. You know. The one you love to hate. Has it all until a knee injury puts him out of the game. Permanently. He has it all...except for the votes he needs for his congressional campaign. Apparently the voters think he's a bit of a player...according to the tell all in People magazine...he is. He needs to find a sweet hometown beauty to win the voters hearts. And that's where Lucy comes in. She needs money to keep Saving Grace afloat. He needs a woman to stand by him. And God? Well, he has a plan bigger than either of them could EVER imagine.

    On a scale of 1 to 5...I'd give this one a 7. It's a keeper for my bookshelf...and I'd highly recommend you get yo a copy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Compelling read

    Jenny B. Jones created a compelling plot from the start. The main characters are deep and strong and independent. They also have very real issues in their life at the start of the book. And with the awesome plot twists-I adored it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Really enjoyable read!

    Enjoyed this story! Read quite a few of this authors books and liked all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Omgoshhhh

    I loveddd this book! Its amazing:)! Totally worth your money!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    A fun read by a really great author!

    Jenny B. Jones has done it again. I have enjoyed all of her books and Save the Date was one of my favorites. This was a really different sory line but so good. You will fall in love with all of the characters in this book and of course, root for true love. This book has it all; drama, comedy, heartbreak and romance. I would have to give Save the Date 5 stars. Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Save the date

    This bookis amazing!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Cant rave enough!

    After I bought one book of jenny's, I tried another one just to see if it met my standards.....then i bought another...and another! I cant stop reading jenny's books; all her characters are relateable and super funny, and the plots are always intriguing. In Save the Date, (a book with a storyline almost similar of that to My Fake Fiancee) Lucy is the coordinator of a girls home trying to make ends meet--that is, until former football star and aspiring congressman Alex comes to her with a proposition: to pose as his fake fiance for the duration of time before the election in exchange for a handsome sum that will save her girls home. Ultimately, Lucys decisions regarding Alexs proposal and her girls home will change her life dramatically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book sooooo much it is so cute and funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny,with a side of sass!

    Ok I'll admit it, I'm not someone who is easily amused. I truly wish I was the person that laughed at the drop of a hat, but I'm not. With that being said, I want to share that I laughed out loud numerous times when reading this book. "Save the Date" by Jenny B. Jones at first glance looks like a classic, cute, chick- lit kind of book. I'm thinking, it will be sweet, charming and a nice read. There is nothing wrong with that, but as I got into the book, I discovered much, much more- funny, great characters and a "deeper than meets the eye" storyline.
    Our heroine, Lucy Wiltshire is sort of a modern day Cinderella. Growing up in Charleston, South Carolina with a mother who earned her living as a maid did not give her social status at the prominent Montrose Academy where she attended as a child, and as a result endured teasing and bullying there. Fast forward to the present and Lucy is the founder of Saving Grace, a home for foster girls aged 18-21 making the transition to adulthood with her help and guidance. A major problem erupts- one of her biggest backers has pulled the plug on their contributions by a significant amount. She is in danger of losing the home and panicked about her girls, where will they go. Poor Lucy, what's a girl to do?
    Well, the hero of the story has the answer to that query- enter Alex Sinclaire- a former attendee of Montrose Academy and famous former professional football player as well. He has decided to run for a Congressional seat and Alex needs a little help overcoming his somewhat "Playboy" public perception problem. So after a chance meeting at a local gathering where both are present and pictures are taken of them together, he finds that his approval points have skyrocketed. It seems that the public likes a good Cinderella story and he hatches a plan- a staged romance with a win-win scenario- Alex gets a girl on his arm for public events and Lucy gets the funding she needs to keep Saving Grace open. Sounds like a no-brainer for everyone, but add in Lucy's social awkwardness and propensity towards clumsiness and you get some really hilarious situations.
    There is so much more going on in this story than the general romance between these two characters, Alex is dealing with grief and guilt over his twin brothers disappearance and probable death. Lucy struggles with feelings of great inferiority and worth as she describes herself at one of the many social events as " a cubic zirconia in a sea of diamonds". They truly go on a journey together in dealing with their respective "stuff". Their chemistry and banter between each other is fun and amusing in one moment and truly deep and probing in the next. Add in Lucy's love of all things science fiction, specifically Star Trek and the book just gets better and better. I couldn't go into detail on the supporting characters here, but they are well written and really, really funny. When a well know socialite winds up at one of Lucy's gatherings of her sci-fi friends and is asking questions about Star Trek, I about bust a gut.
    It truly is rare for me to find a book where I am laughing uproariously in one moment and shedding tears the next, while seeing great spiritual elements in the whole thing. Elements like our struggles with our worth and figuring out the whole man-pleasing versus God-pleasing dilemma. I highly recommend this book. You will not be disappointed and I will be keeping my eye on Jenny B. Jones in the future. I know this is

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5