Customer Reviews for

Save the Date

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended - Buy it NOW!

    "Save the Date" by Jenny B. Jones took me captive in the first paragraph of the prologue. The sassy protagonist, Lucy Wiltshire thought she was about to become engaged to her long-time boyfriend. The expected proposal turned out to be his news of a job offer...in another state.

    Two years later, Lucy found herself in dire straits when Sinclair Hotels, one of her biggest donors for Saving Grace, pulled their funding. Tough economic times, it seemed, knew no boundaries. Lucy established Saving Grace, the home for girls who age out of foster care, and her dedication to "her girls" created some comical scenes throughout the book. One of my favorites was Lucy crashing the Sinclair gala...literally. Alex, the heir to the Sinclair fortune and a candidate for Congress, swept her to the dance floor to keep her away from the affluent guests. But Mr. Zaminski didn't have a chance. Lucy knocked into a waiter, causing him to spill his tray of shrimp cocktail on the floor. The beaded strap of her second-hand gown broke at the same time. Zaminski hit the floor. Lucy, graspong her last semblance of modesty, headed for the nearest exit. Alex followed her outside. While comforting her, he inadvertently gave the news media photos of him embracing a young blonde.

    Two weeks later, Alex discovered his numbers in the polls rose dramatically because of the photos and a bogus magazine story about his romance with Lucy Wiltshire. Thus came his scheme to easily slide into his Congressional seat. Lucy needed funds to keep her home for girls open. He needed her to pose as his fiancée.

    From their first meeting to the end of the story, I watched Lucy grow from a klutzy kid to an elegant young lady. Alex grew from a self-centered football hero-playboy to a caring young gentleman.

    I identified with Lucy because she knew as much about football as I do and shopped for clothes in second-hand stores (you can find me most weekends at Life's Treasures in south Tampa - Bruno Magli shoes for $3.00!).

    I highly recommend this light-hearted romance novel. Jenny B. Jones is a master at planting seeds, setting gems, and creating sassy dialogue. Her talent for flashbacks (or back story) is pure genius. A great example for any aspiring writer to follow, this is the way a novel should be written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WITTY, FUN, MODERN, CHARMING, AND HEARTWARMING

    SAVE THE DATE is not the typical Christian fiction I'd read. The Christian fiction I usually read is more conservative If I had to sum it up in a few words, it would be: modern, witty, fun, and in the end, charming and heartwarming. SAVE THE DATE is definitely a great choice for the younger generation. It was done tastefully and is really a need for today's young people. I loved the way Jones sprinkled in God's message. There were many cute lines that will have you smiling. The last one hundred or so pages really took off for me. In the earlier pages I would never have imaged I'd be wiping tears away at the surprising and unexpected end. I was tempted to immediately read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    loved it!

    and the star war references!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    A great girlie read! A story about a girl who thinks she is on a certain pass with the man of her "dreams", when she finds her world falling apart and fast. Then a not so knight in shining armor is willing to help, but only for a price. Although predictable, it was a very nice read to curl up with on a cold weekend.

    A christian fiction read that was not overwhelming with its message, but definitely apparent that our main characters were following a godly lifestyle. I enjoyed the prayers that centered the main characters and enabled the audience to hear their true fears and worries, instead of what they were telling the rest of the "cast."

    I would pass this book onto my girlie readers who don't mind an ending that can be seen from a mile away. I would also suggest this as a great beach read under a big umbrella - sorry, this cold weather is putting my mind close to a beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Loved it!

    First, I should offer full and total disclosure. I have a thing for athletes, and I like sports. While most women have crushes on movie stars and singers, all my fake boyfriends make their living on fields or courts. I even married a stud who played college baseball. (And he still kicks butt on the softball field in his old man league.)

    For that reason alone, I fell for Alex Sinclair in Jenny B. Jones' book Save the Date from the first moment she introduced him to me. A former NFL star who was running for Congress? Sold!

    Lucy Wiltshire is both easy to root for and frustrating at the exact same time. Maybe it's because I work in the nonprofit sector and feel this tug to help others--hence my career choice--but it was easy for me to relate to Lucy on that level. She doesn't just run a home for troubled girls, but she sincerely loves each girl and genuinely wants them to find their places in life.

    Lucy's spirit is sincere, but on the surface Alex's spirit seems anything but that. When Alex presents a secret plan to Lucy to both help his campaign and save her girls' home from closing at the same time, she reluctantly signs her life away for a few months.

    As I said, I was pulling for Alex from the beginning, so there were times when Lucy's attitude and distrust toward him drove me absolutely insane, but as we learned more about both of them I slowly started to understand where Lucy was coming from. She was protecting her heart, her name, her dreams. It takes a while for Lucy to not only let down her guard, but also break down Alex's tough, playboy, cocky exterior.

    Little did Alex and Lucy know, they were both searching for the same thing--love, acceptance, forgiveness--and were able to find it in each other.

    I follow Jenny B. Jones on Twitter, and her humor is pretty obvious there. There was no shortage of funny in this book either! Almost every scene with the snooty Clare Deveraux and her wacky sidekick, Julian, cracked me up. Those scenes literally came to life in my head every time. They could have a sitcom! The ratings would be through the roof.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Jenny B. Jones doesn't disappoint with Save the Date. Her novel is chock full of continuous misfortunes and twists and turns for Lucy who is about to lose funding for her home for girls who have graduated from foster care. Along comes Alex, former pro football star, who is running for Congressman and needs a woman beside him to boost his vote-getting power. Alex offers Lucy a deal that will save her girls' home. If Lucy accepts the deal, she must live a lie for a few months. These characters are real, the plot goes from funny to heart rending, and the situations will leave you in tears or out-loud laughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, Yet Thought-Provoking!

    Save the Date is a lively and enjoyable romance novel by Jenny B. Jones. The plot sounds like a light romantic comedy - single young woman pretends to be the wife of an attractive ex-football star running for Congress to improve his chances of being elected, and in return, he makes a donation to the non-profit organization she is in charge of to keep it from closing. Of course, they can't stand each other at first, and there are many interesting plot twists to keep us reading late into the night. But the thing I liked most about this book was the subtle underlying message that all of us have insecurities and things in our past that we would not want revealed. That's a message that most of us struggle with, yet we still seem to think that we're the only ones who have problems. Jones' characters may move in a higher social circle than most of us, but their problems are familiar to everyone, and Jones deals with their issues with grace and humor, showing how God helps us grow wherever we are at in our Christian walk. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    A Must Read

    Jenny B. Jones' humor is the base of this wonderful tale. She is going to move bookstores to arrange a new category in fiction. Humor.

    She needs money...He needs votes--He has the money...The voters lover her.

    A contract signed.

    This book was a page turner from the start. You can't help but love Lucy and want the best for her. The characters that come and go in the story will have you begging for a sequel just to see what will happen next.

    My daughter came to me about her insecurities and I pulled out Save the Date and read the lies Lucy had been carrying and how they nailed it to the cross. My daughter was moved and so much stronger after I shared a section of the book.

    Life lessons, laughter, tears, and anger is what Save the Date offers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Parts of this book are hilarious

    How easy is it to pretend we love someone?
    Not easy to do in the romantic realm. Yet, Lucy Wiltshire and Alex Sinclair convince most of those in a congressional district they have super relationship. Trouble is, Lucy is in love with Matthew.
    Lucy needs a bundle of money for her ministry housing girls who turned 18 and are too old for the foster care system, but they still need a home and someone who cares about them. Alex, a handsome star has money, and in contrast to the models he usually dates, she has the appeal to help him win an election. So he saves her group home financially and they team up, fake an engagement, and act the part of a young couple in love.
    Save the Date is an exciting, often hilarious story with enough conflict to start a forest fire. Like two sticks in the hands of an expert camper, Lucy and Alex create sparks that threaten to destroy their dreams.
    Thinking the engagement to Alex is the real thing, Matthew and a pastor try to talk sense into Lucy's head. They warn her about Alex, who has the reputation of a playboy. Matthew's love for Lucy grows and he faithfully waits for her to come to her senses.
    If you like inspirational contemporary romance and want a great read, Save the Date is the book for you. But this book goes beyond contemporary romance-it's romantic comedy. I loved the book, and so will you.
    My granddaughters couldn't wait to read each sequel of Jenny B. Jones' young adult books, and when I read Save the Date I realized why. I also discovered why Jenny B. Jones is a two-time Carol award-winning author.
    Note: Jenny B. Jones and Thomas Nelson provided me with a review copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read it and be blessed.

    I love Jenny's characters and Lucy quickly wormed her way into my heart. I have a niece that gets her designer clothes at Good Will and always looks like a model. Just like Lucy. I loved Lucy's heart for her girls at "Saving Grace". I loved the way she would go to bat for them, even at her own expense and the expense of her reputation. I love the family dynamics. Love does not bloom in a vacuum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Save the Date to Fall in Love

    As always, Jenny paints larger-than-life characters that make the reader fall in love. This is not the book to help you fall asleep. I stayed up till two a.m. jiggling the mattress with silent laughter. Lucy is PMS on steroids, and Alex, deep sigh, is dreamy with a giant scoop of heart. Jenny's secondary characters-a snooty grandma and her flamboyant side kick-steal the show. Settle down for a delicious read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Mark your calendars, get comfortable, start early and Save The Date!

    I was anxiously awaiting the day Save the Date was released and the old saying "Good things come to those who wait" proved true. Save the Date introduces an unlikely couple who may or may not survive the test of time, reputations, stereotypes, bitterness, needs, finances, desires and peer pressure. Alex and Lucy both have something they need. Are they willing to do whatever it takes to get it, at any cost, sacrificing everything...even their hearts? Do they trust God enough? Both turn to each other and try to rely on God in what the next step should be to get what they want. Jenny never lets me down with her quick wit characters, her humor in all situations, her clean, steamy romance and a reminder that God's always got your back. This book did not disappoint. Save the Date is a light, humorous, sweet romance. You will root for Lucy and fall for Alex. You will laugh, cheer, gasp and love. This is a book read in very few sittings. Mark your calendars, get comfortable, start early and Save The Date! PS: I have loved all of Jenny B. Jones' books and have yet to meet one of her beaus I didn't like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Christian romance with healthy dose of humor and faith

    Save the Date by Jenny B. Jones is everything a romantic comedy should be. Lucy Wiltshire spent her youth feeling as though she never measured up to the wealthy and elite of her hometown of Charleston, and now she spends her life trying to make a better life for girls aging out of foster care by providing them with a home at Saving Grace. But her top charitable donor, Sinclair Enterprises, has pulled much of its funding due to the economy, leaving her with thirteen girls who will quickly become homeless if she can't produce some major cash fast. Alex Sinclair is heading up a campaign for Congress that seems to be doomed by his reputation as an NFL playboy. A chance encounter with Lucy shoots up his ratings when the press assumes they are a couple. Lucy is just what his campaign needs: a hometown girl with a heart of charity, so Alex approaches her with a proposition. He'll provide the money Saving Grace needs if she will pretend to date and then become engaged to him before the election. After he gets his Congressional seat, they'll announce an amicable split and go their separate ways, but that just may be far more difficult than either of them imagined. The outcome of romantic comedies, especially those pairing up complete opposites, is never in doubt from the very first page. It's the journey that takes the couples from enemies to soul mates that determines whether the book is a hit of a flop. Jones excels at writing hits. Following Lucy and Alex as they battle each other and then become best friends, and then more, is pure joy because of Jones' strong characterizations, believable plots, and zingy dialogue. There are a few hints of The Princess Diaries in Lucy's relationship with Clare, but even that is enjoyable to read. One small complaint: two sermons in a Christian fiction book are two too many; writers need to find a more clever way of bringing spiritual growth to characters. But even with that, the book is still so much fun; this is what good romance looks like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Very very cute story!

    I really really enjoyed this book. The story and the main character were so enjoyable- I kept thinking it would make a great romantic comedy movie. The main character Lucy was totally relatable and you were pulling for her the whole time. You had an idea of what the ending would be since it is a romance book- but just didnt know how you would get there. There were lots of good subplots as well. I would recommend this book and recommend any other books that this author has written- love her humor and sassiness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hoping this one gets made into a movie. Falling in love and laughs!

    What woman hasn't dreamed of the fairy tale ending to her own life? The one where you find the perfect guy, he proposes and confesses his undying love to you, you plan a wedding, get married and live happily ever after.

    That's what Lucy Wiltshire had seen coming but never imagined that the man she'd been dating for almost a year was going to say he was leaving her for his career. Yet that's what happened and she was left holding her broken heart while the tears continued to flow.

    Lucy falls back to her only remaining hope, to put herself into her non-profit project Saving Grace, a home for girls that turn 18 and are left out on the street with no source of finding work after being in the foster care system most of their lives. Lucy offers them hope. Yet when a meeting with PR rep from Sinclair Hotels tells her that they will be cutting the funding of Saving Grace by 40 percent, she fears that she will have to close the home.

    Alex Sinclair, former all star football player and local hunk is running for Congress and finds that his popularity in his head and with the women in his life isn't the same as the voters of his town. So when an unexpected opportunity falls right into his arms, by way of Lucy Wiltshire attending a fundraising party and trying her best to save Saving Grace and makes a disaster of the party, Alex is about to offer her the chance of a lifetime.

    If she will play the part of his fiancee, he will fund Saving Grace for the next 5 years and in the end she gets to walk away from it all without having to marry him. I mean how hard could it be to fake being in love?

    I received Save The Date by Jennie B. Jones compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I love the story line and fell in love with the characters of Lucy and Alex, while in the end hoping for a true fairy tale ending. I was not disappointed. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 hearts and stars! I was smitten from the first hello. For those of you that love a good old-fashioned romance with a whole lot of southern spunk, than this one is perfect for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Exactly what a romantic comedy should be!

    I can't think of anything I didn't like about this book. Honestly.

    Jones' writing style and talent amazes me - realistic characters, imaginable settings, and somehow believable situations (by the time Lucy accepts Alex's proposition you are right there with her, tormented and confused because you can totally understand how trapped she feels).

    If you love a good romantic comedy, this won't disappoint. Just be warned - it's hard to put down (I read it in one sitting).

    Jenny B. Jones has quickly risen to the Top Five in my list of favorite authors.

    *I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Phenomenal romance with lots of humor

    Save the Date is another great romance from award-winning author Jenny B. Jones. She has a gift for creating characters I want to root for and thrusting them into situations that make me laugh out loud while wondering how they can ever resolve their love life. Save the Date was no exception.

    This book is a must read. And I love what the author does with highlighting the outreach to young women who have outgrown foster care and need someone to believe in them while they transition. This book has so much heart! But the romance...sigh...it was perfect. I LOVED reading the ups and downs between Lucy and Alex. They both need each other...but the last thing either expects is love. The other thing the author does so well is incorporate a spiritual thread that adds to the story without detracting from it. This book really is a perfect blend of romance, laugh out loud moments, and heart. I give it two and a half very enthusiastic thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Save the Date is wonderful!

    Lucy is a woman on a mission - a mission to save her beloved "Saving Grace." As a woman who has known poverty and the scramble to get by, Lucy has made it her life's work to help other young women realize their potential. "Saving Grace" is more than a building, more than a place to learn and grow. It is a home and that home is in jeopardy. Funding is being taken away and the building has been sold out from under them, but Lucy believes in miracles. She has asked God to move in a bold way. Will He? What about the two men vying for Lucy's hand? Matt is the man she was certain she would marry, but he had walked away. Now he is back. Why? Alex is a millionaire, former football player, who is running for office. His proposition could save the young women she works with. What is the proposition and will she take him up on it? God truly works in mysterious, bold ways and it is up to us to follow His lead. Come along on Lucy's journey to happiness, love, and fulfillment by reading Save the Date.

    I loved this book! It has a mix of God and dilemmas, love story, and personal conviction that kept me turning the pages. The characters and story line are believable and I didn't want the book to end. Thank you so much, Net Galley, for making it possible for me to read this book. Individual readers will enjoy the captivating story and book discussion groups will enjoy bantering around the various topics presented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Save the Date ... to read this book!

    Save the Date, by Jenny B. Jones knocks the top off the Must-Read-O-Meter. I finished the book three weeks ago and still find myself wondering and worrying about the characters. That's good characterization and great storytelling.

    In a nutshell, this story focuses on two quite different individuals - Lucy, a simple girl with a big dream - to open a home for girls who have outgrown foster care but who are too young to be on their own. Enter Alex, - a former pro football jock who on the surface wants nothing more than to grow a new political career. She needs money for her venture. He needs a presentable fiancé for his public image. Nothing more.

    As the story unwinds, the reader finds out that a romance of convenience is rarely that simple. And when the pretend romance is notched up a level the reader sees the dangers of such a collaboration - but in a very intriguing way.

    Crazed paparazzi are only one peril that threatens Lucy's dream. There's the aging eccentric and her side kick companion, both determined to make a "proper society girl" out of Lucy. Marinell, the newest addition to Lucy's girls who refuses to abide by house rules, and a greedy debutante wants to throw Lucy and her young charges out in the street.

    In the midst of it all, Lucy finds things she didn't anticipate. Romance - yes. Redemption - most definitely. Acceptance and grace - in abundance. But she finds something else ... closure for a past deed that has tainted her outlook on life.

    Each book penned by Ms. Jones is a bit like another brilliant rose added to an already stunning bouquet. This one is no exception.

    Alert: Do not read this while sipping a beverage. Dialogue between the characters is guaranteed to cause uncontrollable laughter and spewing of liquids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    I Simply Love this Book!

    Unexpected. Love. Lively. Romantic.

    Those are the words I would use to describe Save the Date by Jenny B. Jones. This is an real heartwarming story about Lucy and Alex. Alex is a ex pro football player turned wanna be Congressman. He is an emotionally unstable Playboy. Lucy is a normal middle class girl with this insatiable urge to give back to young girls that have been dealt a bad hand in life. When funding for Lucy's girls home starts to fall through, she will resort to anything to save it.

    There are some very unexpected twists and turns that will grow these two closer together. It is amazing to find love in the unlikeliest of places.

    This was a page turner that I just could not put down! I will be looking out for more books by Jenny B. Jones!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5