Customer Reviews for

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

Average Rating 4.5
( 964 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(564)

4 Star

(231)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Brings tears to your soul and then the sunshine dries them right up

Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young gir...
Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young girl we can all relate to, with her normal fears and blunders and her good-hearted soul. The writing is phenomenal - don't speed read or you might miss an important piece of the landscape of this delightful novel. For a first-time novelist, Beth Hoffman has hit a homerun right out of the park. She takes you from tears streaming down your face to nervous anticipation, relief and outright joy and then does it again, all in what seems to be the blink of an eye. Be sure to set aside enough time to read the entire book in one sitting - yes, it's that kind of feel-good read. I'll definitely be in line to get a signed hard copy in January and plan to re-read it several times.

posted by slosch on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

?

Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourse...
Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourselves and not have you book report it for us?????? Just stop with the plot spoilers. State if u liked it or not, dont rewrite the danged book, or give a detailed synopsis.

posted by 8888649 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 967 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Brings tears to your soul and then the sunshine dries them right up

    Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young girl we can all relate to, with her normal fears and blunders and her good-hearted soul. The writing is phenomenal - don't speed read or you might miss an important piece of the landscape of this delightful novel. For a first-time novelist, Beth Hoffman has hit a homerun right out of the park. She takes you from tears streaming down your face to nervous anticipation, relief and outright joy and then does it again, all in what seems to be the blink of an eye. Be sure to set aside enough time to read the entire book in one sitting - yes, it's that kind of feel-good read. I'll definitely be in line to get a signed hard copy in January and plan to re-read it several times.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    lush, lovely, mischievous, and deep

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is a joy.

    With a history in literary criticism, I tend to be a tough reader--often digging into post-modern and modernist texts rooted in darkness and frustration (Ian McEwan, Philip Roth, and Virginia Woolf are favorites). Saving CeeCee Honeycutt was a beautiful departure.

    Ms. Hoffman's novel is playful, insightful, wise, and thought-provoking. She raises issues of motherhood, parenting, mental illness, race, life experience, and true human connection within a truly pleasurable read. There is a well-tuned balance of readability and depth.

    I am amused by the criticisms here [amazon] of characters who are not fully formed, as I think that is rather purposeful. This novel is not one written to explore the many nuances of the various female characters. Rather, it is about the ideas of influence, insight, and a community of women. Each of the singularly fabulous characters has a life to which we, as readers, are not privvy. We, like CeeCee, see only slivers of lives that have been steeped in a wide variety of influences. In many ways, this is what true human experience is--knowing the parts of people they choose to show us or that we peek at through the bushes without them knowing.

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is a moving tale about female friendship and admiration--about finding new paths, moving beyond loss, and growing up at all ages. It is one of those books you read and then want to send to each of your best friends.

    A truly enjoyable and lovely book.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    The best in southern fiction!

    I've never written a review before, but I had to write one for this book! I stayed up half the night to finish it because I couldn't stop reading. The writing is beautiful and the characters are living/breathing people.

    CeeCee is a very smart little girl living in Ohio with her mentally ill mom and her dad who is rarely home. In fact, she has never really known a true childhood because she's been taking care of her mom for a long time. In order to push away her painful life, CeeCee reads books constantly. The author painted a picture of CeeCee's life that was painful but was also very funny at times.

    After something very sad happens, CeeCee is sent to live with her aunt in Savannah and that's when her life changes in the most wonderful way! There's a housekeeper/cook named Oletta and the friendship that happens between Oletta and CeeCee is the most touching friendship I've ever read about. And there are lots of women both black and white and young and old who help CeeCee heal and eventually forgive all he things that happened to her in Ohio.

    As the mother of a very smart 13 year old girl, I really appreciated and admired the author's way of developing CeeCee's character. I laughed and I cried while reading this wonderful book and I slowed down reading when I got to the last three chapters because I didn't want the story to end!!!

    This is a book that has so much depth and it made me think about all the women I've known from childhood to the present.

    I wish I could give this book 10 stars!

    Thank you,
    Rose Morris

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    ?

    Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourselves and not have you book report it for us?????? Just stop with the plot spoilers. State if u liked it or not, dont rewrite the danged book, or give a detailed synopsis.

    15 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Fantastic!

    I read this book aloud to my eighty year old mother who can no longer see to read. We laughed, we cryed, we thoroughly enjoyed this book. Each character was described so well, we could picture each one. Loved this book, waiting for more from this author.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL!

    Cecelia Rose Honeycutt is a darling 12 year old girl struggling to find her place in a small town in Ohio. CeeCee's mother, the former beauty queen, is slipping into madness, severe mental illness. Her father is never around because he can't cope with his wife's illness. All CeeCee wants is a friend, and to be accepted by her peers but with her mother's peculiar behavior she has become an object of scorn and ridicule. When CeeCee's mother is struck and killed by a truck her great aunt takes CeeCee to her home in Savannah, Georgia. Aunt Tootie is a pure delight, a kind, warm Southern lady, who has only CeeCee's best interests at heart. Thus begins the story of CeeCee's new life in Savannah, surrounded by people who care about her and want only what is best for her. I loved this book. This is tragic at times but heartwarming and insightful, even funny and filled with hope. Wonderful!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A sweet Southern story of growing up and coming home.

    In "Saving CeeCee Honeycutt," Beth Hoffman paints an amazing portrait of life in 1960s Georgia, capturing a certain unusual gentleness of the time, with the social and political upheaval of the world a long way from the beautiful bubble CeeCee inhabited. You can almost smell the sweet magnolia blossoms and the fresh peach preserves in every word. She has also captured the rarified glory of sweet female friendship that is so indicative of women raised in the South. (That's not to say Northern gals don't have close friendships, it just different below the Mason-Dixon line, sugar!) This is gorgeous and glorious novel that celebrates the indomitable strengths of those female friendships and how very much those friendships are cherished.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    An excellent, engaging read!

    I loved this book and was sorry when it ended. The strong female characters are wise, sweet and quirky and they open CeeCee's eyes up to a whole new world. My absolute favorite is the housekeeper. The descriptions of Savannah and surrounding areas are beautiful and accurate and will make you wish you were there too. A delightful read, I highly recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    just o.k.

    in the wake of reading "the help" this book lacked any kind of depth. it was pleasant enough to read, and very predictable. it is the type of book i would recommend for someone sitting in an airport, waiting for an appointment or when you just want something light to read.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Loved the details

    I found myself wishing I lived in Savannah, Georgia on Gaston St. The characters were lovable, vibrant and so colorful! The cover of the book attracted me and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I loved this book. When you miss the characters at the end of the book, then you know it was a great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Awesome read

    A book you wish you could read for the first time again

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    a beautiful story for girls at heart

    I must talk my husband into moving to Savannah! I could not put this book down, yet I did so I wouldn't fly through it in a day. The characters are real, charming, quirky, funny, endearing. I picked this up at the library, and now plan on buying it for my own library, as well as gifts for a few *girl*friends. I absolutely loved this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    LOVED this book.  After reading, I passed it around to all of my

    LOVED this book.  After reading, I passed it around to all of my friends.  It's a wonderful, touching story that is so well-written that it pulls the reader in  Great southern drama..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was not a favorite of mine.  The story wasn't bad, and was

    This was not a favorite of mine.  The story wasn't bad, and was well written with great characters, but it just didn't jump into my heart and capture me.

    You couldn't help but have empathy for poor CeeCee who seemed like such an intelligent little girl.  There were plenty of great characters who were able to fill the story!

    I believe that the story flowed smoothly and the characters were well-defined, it just wasn't a story that held my interest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Southern reader

    This was a heartwarming book about love, loss, learning and overcoming through wonderful, supportive female relationships . It is an ending we all hope for. Another Steele Magnolias!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    A Lovely Story

    I liked this book very much. Although the story begins with sorrow it soon results in an uplifting life for the main character who is so personable, so very likable, displaying wisdom and courage beyond her age. Many of the characters who begin to surround her, to influence her, to love her, to lighten her life with humor and understanding add much enjoyment to this book which I thought moved right along. A light easy read, but so much to enjoy. I especially liked the author's metaphors, the way she compares so many things in life, ordinary things that are often taken for granted, highlighted by her creativity, the way she cleverly inserts these into the story, adding to the enjoyment of this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Not so much.

    I swallowed the publicity hook, line and sinker. If this novel was to be Steel Magnolias meets The Help, I was in. While enjoyable in a not-required-to-think-la-la-land sort of way, that sort of mindless romp was not what I was hoping for. There are some unexpected turns in the plot, which I commend, but the novel, for me, is only milquetoast.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I absolutely loved this book

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt had me captivated. I loved everything about this book. I felt as though I was right there along with them. Everytime I had to put the book down I could not wait to get back to them. I did not want the book to have and ending. I want to know more about CeeCee and her life. Thank you Beth Hoffman for writng such a heart warming captivating story. I absolutely loved it :-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    Amazing book

    This book was so heartwarming. It has joined my list of my all time favorite books!! A must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman was the first download to my new Nook. What a good book to initiate my e-reading! My heart broke for CeeCee as she tried to save her mother. She didn't even know that she needed saving herself. When she arrived in Savannah, I could empathize with how those first few days might have felt for her.
    In our lives, it is rare to have someone love us as our mothers do. CeeCee missed out on the love of her own mother, yet had three wonderful women love her as a daughter.
    Set mainly in Savannah, some attention to local details was included in the story. I wanted to travel to Savannah just to experience the hospitality and culture there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 967 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49