Customer Reviews for

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 957 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(559)

4 Star

(231)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Brings tears to your soul and then the sunshine dries them right up

Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young gir...
Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young girl we can all relate to, with her normal fears and blunders and her good-hearted soul. The writing is phenomenal - don't speed read or you might miss an important piece of the landscape of this delightful novel. For a first-time novelist, Beth Hoffman has hit a homerun right out of the park. She takes you from tears streaming down your face to nervous anticipation, relief and outright joy and then does it again, all in what seems to be the blink of an eye. Be sure to set aside enough time to read the entire book in one sitting - yes, it's that kind of feel-good read. I'll definitely be in line to get a signed hard copy in January and plan to re-read it several times.

posted by slosch on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

?

Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourse...
Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourselves and not have you book report it for us?????? Just stop with the plot spoilers. State if u liked it or not, dont rewrite the danged book, or give a detailed synopsis.

posted by 8888649 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    just o.k.

    in the wake of reading "the help" this book lacked any kind of depth. it was pleasant enough to read, and very predictable. it is the type of book i would recommend for someone sitting in an airport, waiting for an appointment or when you just want something light to read.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was not a favorite of mine.  The story wasn't bad, and was

    This was not a favorite of mine.  The story wasn't bad, and was well written with great characters, but it just didn't jump into my heart and capture me.

    You couldn't help but have empathy for poor CeeCee who seemed like such an intelligent little girl.  There were plenty of great characters who were able to fill the story!

    I believe that the story flowed smoothly and the characters were well-defined, it just wasn't a story that held my interest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    It' ok

    language wise the book was easy to read. There was a very good plot here, but I felt the author just didn't develop it enough. At times I actually felt I was reading a book that was perhaps written for younger girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Recommend

    Not as good as "The Help" or "Steel Magnolias" But is was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Good light reading

    Sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Sweet Read

    I enjoyed this book. It was a light and hopeful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Wonderfull livley southern life.......but Sandy

    Can not stand to read another "comeing of age" novel! Did enjoy the warm descriptions of careing woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    kept waiting for 'fabulous'.

    I just wasn't blown away. The characters were nice. Too nice. I found myself waiting for some sinister twist to occur and add spice to the plot. The book hit it's crescendo early, so two-thirds of the book just put me to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    summer reading

    Saving CeeCee Honeyvuut is a good book. This book was the most interesting on the reading list. Its not the type of book I would pick for myself, but it was good. This book is about a young girl, who's mother died. She is then raised by her great-aunt Tootie, who everyone likes. CeeCee moves away from her home, her house, school, library and one friend, Mrs. Odell. Living with her aunt Tootie, she meets Oleeta the cook. She loves her new life, but has soon has school is mentioned CeeCee panics. She was never popular in school, in fact she never had a friend from school.
    Has the summer slowly comes to an end she regrets going to new school. CeeCee soon gets cheered up because Mrs. O. comes to visit on the way to Florida. Having so much fun with her old friend she soon forgets about school. To my surprise Mrs. O. ends up living with CeeCee and aunt Tootie.
    In the end everything turns out okay. CeeCee makes a new friend from school, an old friend is living with her she also has Oleeta and a great new aunt. Ending with happy, friend filled ending,

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    expected more..

    After reading rave reviews I was so excited to sit down with this book but I was dissapointed. I've seen this same story so many times. The crazy mother, the disinterested father, the black woman who steps in as the savior.
    Too much like a fairy tale with too many coincidences, the plot jumps around from one wacky event to another. The characters aren't fully developed and left me a bit bored. The most original part of the story was the bra picturing taking escapade. If you just want to read some southern fluff, this might be a good read for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

    I was quite disappointed in this book. I beleive it should be under the teen section because it was such a simple and short story. The lack of southern dialect really took away from its feeling of authenticity and its one dimentional plot left a lot to be desired. The characters were lovely, but it felt as thought the author took the lazy route on this one. Some of them could have easily been true gems and could have added a lot of depth to the story rather than just lie on the surface. The story was sweet and appealing, but if you enjoy depth and dimention then you'll put this down feeling particularly empty, having read this story many times before with a different cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    Light Reading

    The book was an easy read and was a bit of fluff. Not as deep as some stories such as the YaYa Sisterhood or other southern women tales. It was enjoyable and I would read this one on a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    I will be hoping for more in Beth Hoffman's next novel.

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is the story of young CeeCee coming of age in Savannah. Raised by her psychotic mother and absent father, CeeCee is left to fend for herself when her mother suddenly dies. She is immediately scooped up by her previously unknown great-aunt and transported into a female dominated, rose-scented Savannah. The book is all about the relationships women develop with each other young and old, black and white, sincere and catty.

    The women themselves are interesting if a bit on the stereotypical side. CeeCee herself is well developed showing a sometimes pleasing side, sometimes naughty side, pushing boundaries and seeking approval. My main disappointment with this book had to do with the dilemmas the characters find themselves in. The author creates some unique and challenging situations for her characters but then seems to give them an easy way out. CeeCee encounters pranks turned into potential grievous bodily harm, racially motivated robberies gone bad, and vicious gossip all that seemingly evaporate into thin air. The lush descriptions of Savannah gardens, parties, and historical houses make up for it, but I will be hoping for more in Beth Hoffman's next novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6