Customer Reviews for

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 958 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(560)

4 Star

(231)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Brings tears to your soul and then the sunshine dries them right up

Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young gir...
Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young girl we can all relate to, with her normal fears and blunders and her good-hearted soul. The writing is phenomenal - don't speed read or you might miss an important piece of the landscape of this delightful novel. For a first-time novelist, Beth Hoffman has hit a homerun right out of the park. She takes you from tears streaming down your face to nervous anticipation, relief and outright joy and then does it again, all in what seems to be the blink of an eye. Be sure to set aside enough time to read the entire book in one sitting - yes, it's that kind of feel-good read. I'll definitely be in line to get a signed hard copy in January and plan to re-read it several times.

posted by slosch on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

?

Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourse...
Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourselves and not have you book report it for us?????? Just stop with the plot spoilers. State if u liked it or not, dont rewrite the danged book, or give a detailed synopsis.

posted by 8888649 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 560 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 28
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    The characters in this book are fantastic and so real I felt like I knew them. CeeCee, a little girl of 12 who had a rough life until her mother died, was so perfectly developed that I could hear her voice in my head. Oletta, who was the cook and became a friend to CeeCee, is the best character in any book I've ever read. EVER! The setting was perfect and I loved how the author described Savannah, it made me want to get in my car and drive there right away. Also, the writing style is beautiful and very tight and clean. I can't say enough good things about this book, it is the best I've read in a long time.

    I loved how it made me laugh and think, and I cried a few times too. I don't want to reveal too much and ruin it for anybody else, but the wisdom that is shared with CeeCee is really unique and special. I underlined so many sentences, and that rarely happens when I read a book! I hope Ms. Hoffmann writes more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Rave a must Read

    I am truly surprise that this was Beth Hoffman's first novel. The book is an amazing read. It has an amazing story line, her writing style she has brings the characters alive, and makes you feel like you know them personally. You will find yourself, shocked, laughing, and maybe a tear or two, while reading this great story. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    A book that warms the soul....

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is such a heartwarming story. While reading this charming book, I found myself pulled in through the pages and smack dab in the middle of Savannah, Georgia. This story had me giggling so hard at times, but then lost in thought pondering over a small life lesson that the author Beth Hoffman was able to slip in every now and again, that made you say to yourself, oh my goodness, I never thought of things that way. When I finished the book I held it to my chest and just hugged it. (Never before have I found myself hugging a book!)
    Thank you Beth Hoffman, for writing such a lovely story, that warmed my heart the way this book did. This is a book that I will find myself visiting time and time again. It has been placed into my personal "Life Book".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the best book ever!

    What a wonderfully delightful book . . . such a fun read! I am usually a bit cautious about a first time author, but I thouroughly enjoyed this book - laughing loudly at some passages and with tears running down my cheeks at others. I anxiously await futher offerings from Ms. Hoffman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Heartwarming Southern Novel

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt was a refreshingly, sweet novel about a little twelve year little girl who has goes through many hardships to finally feel like she fits in and to feel loved. Cecilia "CeeCee" has to overcome the death of her crazy, mentally unstable mother and leave her father who was never been there to take care of her or her mother. She goes to live with her great-aunt where she meets several strong-minded women who she grows to love and cherish, and finally she starts to feel like she finally has a real family.


    The characters of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt were mainly women but were so strong they overpowered the men from their past. I loved reading about CeeCee's new live as she moves to Savanna, Georgia with her generous, loving aunt. The story was nicely written and very enjoyable to read. It was pretty hard to stop reading, and at times I could picture the scenes in my head while I was reading. At one part, I even became hungry for peaches because I could just picture the scene so perfectly.


    It is set in the past in a time where African Americans weren't truly excepted yet, so there is some racial discrimination which was just horrible. I was very surprised by how much I enjoyed the book because when I first received it from LibraryThing after winning an ARC to review, I kept putting it off to read because I thought it would be unrelatable and boring. I was really wrong to delay from reading it because it is truly a great book.


    I loved the main characters so much! CeeCee along with her loving Aunt Tootie, and Oletta were amazing people and characters. The ending was just so good, and it left off at the perfect time leaving me very pleased. Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is Beth Hoffman's first book, and I'm very impressed by how it's very well-written and everything was well-developed. Altogether, it was a wonderful novel filled with Southern charm, lovable characters, and a great setting/plot. I can't wait to see how Beth's future books stack up against such a great first one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Quick Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Fast read...I picked it up to read more every chance I had. The characters were colorful and humorous with a dash of drama. Just the way I like my books. If you buy this book, choose another when you're there too cuz this one will go fast, and you will find yourself with nothing to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Truly enjoyed this book!

    Wonderful read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exceptional in so many ways

    Exceptional character development and a story that made me laugh and cry has made this a book that will always be a favorite. The author's writing is wonderful.

    This is a multi-layered story that should be read on several different levels. It is more than entertaining, it is wise, and sometimes hilarious, and very moving. Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is a celebration and tribute of and for women, their friendships, and their capacity to love, forgive, and heal one another.

    I highly recommend this uplifting book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Southern Story!

    This is a great Southern coming of age story about CeeCee Honeycutt, who you just can't help but fall in love with. After her mother's death she is sent to live with her Aunt Tootie in Savannah where she meets a host of amazing strong women who play very different but important roles in her life. Beth Hoffman's descriptions of Savannah are beautiful and I felt as though I were right there. She describes everything from the architecture to the gardens perfectly. I laughed at the shenanigans that take place in the book and I was deeply touched by the love and tenderness of the characters. I especially loved Mrs. Odell and Oletta. I laughed and cried several times reading this book. It really stirs up emotions. I was truly sad to see the book end even though the characters will stay in my heart for a long time. Beth Hoffman has a wonderful storytelling gift and I can't wait to read more from her in the future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    I love this book!

    A book blogger handed me the ARC of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and told me I had to read it. I was busy with the holidays so the book sat for several days before I picked it up and began reading. Then I could not put this book down!

    The author's writing is gorgeous and fluid. The story took me from tears to laughter and back again. There is so much in this book that I admire - it's filled with genuine southern storytelling and the kind of wisdom that's learned from living a life that hasn't been easy. I fell in love with CeeCee and her aunt Tootie, and Oletta the cook is now my favorite character of any book I've ever read.

    I loved every page and chapter, and there's one chapter about visiting a retirement home that is so great it could be a stand alone short story.

    This book has some sad moments and I cried several times, but I laughed even more. Worthy of 5 stars and then some.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    True Southern-style storytelling

    I just finished reading the ARC of this novel. This is a tender, funny, and completely enjoyable story about a young girl, her crazy mother, and the events that happen in the summer of 1967 that transform her life. The writing is lovely and the humor can't be beat. I laughed out loud many times. This is a terrific Southern yarn and in some ways Beth Hoffman's writing reminds me of Fannie Flagg.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    A wonderful MUST READ!!!

    This author has captured the beautiful world a young girl learning life's lessons in old time Georgia. This book will take you on an amazing spiritual yet heartfelt journey during a much simpler time when good friends and a home made meal used to mean something special...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Hauntingly Beautiful

    You will laugh and cry. This is a wonderful story that celebrates women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Best Book Ever

    Young Cee Cee's mother dies and she must go to live with her great aunt. I cried, I laughed, what a great book. Hoffman uses wonderful comparisons and words of wisdom. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    loved it

    This book is wonderfully written and full of life's mysteries. Some pages made me laugh so hard and then a few pages later I would be crying. Recommend totally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    A

    I rarely give 5 stars, but this was a beautifully written and amazing book. I loved the characters, who felt real and was truly sorry that this book had to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is a great read, and one you will not w

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is a great read, and one you will not want to put down! Beth Hoffman's ability to bring characters to life in her work is second to none. I loved the storyline and the endearing characters that as a reader I loved to follow. While reading her thought-provoking story it was a pleasure to read whether I was smiling, laughing or crying. The journey of the read was one I would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Loved ! Loved! This book

    I loved and cryed over this book. I could hardly put it down.
    It made my heart swell with happieness for the young gir in this story. I can't wait for another book form the writer.
    GREAT READ!!! 5 STARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Beautiful & strong

    is how I would describe myself as a woman and the women I surround myself with. This is the type of woman that I want to read about. Someone who can save themselves and not look to a man to rescue them. The details of the southern setting are magnificent and make me long to be in Savannah. All of the wonderful ladies in this book will help you to relate - you'll start finding similarities to the one's in your life! This is a great read and I would recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    A great book!

    I loved this book and only wish I could read it again for the first time. I want to see many more from Beth Hoffman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 560 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 28