Customer Reviews for

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 958 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(560)

4 Star

(231)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Brings tears to your soul and then the sunshine dries them right up

Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young gir...
Got my hands on a pre-pub ARC and I must say, I feel very fortunate indeed to have this early sneak peak. The characters are so real, you close the book wanting more; in fact, I miss them - Aunt Tootie, Oletta, Mrs Odell - they were my friends too. CeeCee is a young girl we can all relate to, with her normal fears and blunders and her good-hearted soul. The writing is phenomenal - don't speed read or you might miss an important piece of the landscape of this delightful novel. For a first-time novelist, Beth Hoffman has hit a homerun right out of the park. She takes you from tears streaming down your face to nervous anticipation, relief and outright joy and then does it again, all in what seems to be the blink of an eye. Be sure to set aside enough time to read the entire book in one sitting - yes, it's that kind of feel-good read. I'll definitely be in line to get a signed hard copy in January and plan to re-read it several times.

posted by slosch on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

?

Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourse...
Many thanks to the many big mouth plot spoilers, including the ones who revealed the ending of the book, now we dont have to buy the book. You saved us the cost of the book. When will you rude ppl ever learn that the rest of us just might want to read the book for ourselves and not have you book report it for us?????? Just stop with the plot spoilers. State if u liked it or not, dont rewrite the danged book, or give a detailed synopsis.

posted by 8888649 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 961 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 49
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    This book made me fall in love with fiction all over again...

    For years now I have stayed away from fiction after reading too many books with flat characters and uninteresting plots. This book reminded me of why I fell in love with fiction in the first place- For me, it's the romantic ride of settling into your comfortable clothes, finding that most comfortable place to sit with your favorite drink in hand, and your beloved book in your lap; and waiting, just waiting to delve into a world of colorful characters while experiencing emotions ranging from sheer hate and despair to soaring hope, optimism and love. Tears, laughing out loud and soft little girl like giggles accompanying you along the way.

    This book brought it all back for me and was such a joy to read. It is one I'll likely read again and again. Thank you Beth Hoffman, for helping me to find my love of fiction once again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

    Readable but sappy and not true to life; nothwithstanding its status as fiction, its description of the main character's life is a fairytale; the dynamics of race relations is wholly false, and the last few chapters paint a picture of cotton candy life


    ?thstanding

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    CeeCee Honeycutt has had a hard life and for twelve years she ha

    CeeCee Honeycutt has had a hard life and for twelve years she has held on.  On one tragic day everything comes tumbling down and CeeCee's world falls apart.  Since she is only twelve decisions are made for her and she doesn't like them.  As the summer rolls on CeeCee begins to realize that what she thought was wrong for her was what she needed all along.  A five star read there ever was one. Usually a book offers up one character that you fall in love with but this one has half a dozen. One of my favorite books.  I'll definitely be encouraging everyone to read it. I can't wait to see what the author writes next.   




    "It's how we survive the hurts in life that bring us strength and give us our beauty"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Delightful characters!

    A friend recommended this book to me, and she sure picked a winner. This story will cause the reader to have several emotions as he/she meets all the characters. This was one book I did not want to end. I think it would also be a great movie!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    If you liked "The Help" style of writing and atmosphere, then you'll like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    One of the best books I've read... you will want to re-read it!

    I love this book. It's funny, quirky, witty, sad and triumphant! I have it in hard cover, paperback and now on my nook. I have read this a few times and have enjoyed it immensely. I have shared it with many friends who feel the same. It's a shame they didn't make this one in to a movie!
    Don't miss out on this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Great book!

    This book is well written It has you laughing even though your heart is breaking for Ceecee

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    A delightful find. Read this and think about the relationships you have with the women in your life.

    I find it somewhere between 'The Help' and "The Secret Life of Bees."
    It is amazing how as women, we can embrace one another or exclude one another...on a whim.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    It' ok

    language wise the book was easy to read. There was a very good plot here, but I felt the author just didn't develop it enough. At times I actually felt I was reading a book that was perhaps written for younger girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Such wonderfully written imagery that it made me homesick, missing my home in South Carolina.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Saving CeeCee

    "Saving CeeCee Honeycutt" by Beth Hoffman, is a story about a twelve year old girl whose mother becomes metally ill; stuck in her past, believing she is still the 1951 Vidalia Onion queen pageant winner. When CeeCee discovers her mother has been killed, she has no where to go, until her mysterious great Aunt Tootie Caldwell comes into the picture. She take's CeeCee to her home in Savannah, where she meets all sorts of interesting people, and seems to be in a world completely run by women. From her new neighbors, to the local police officer, there are laughs that go along with every character you come across. While CeeCee makes new friends and has all sorts of adventures, she is still haunted by her mother's death. Along with Aunt Tootie and her friends, they help to clear up CeeCee's past and give her a brand new present. They are the only ones who can save sweet little Cecelia Rose Honeycutt from her fears. With every page you turn, you will either be laughing or crying the entire time. This is a heartwarming story, mostly based around the theme of "girl power." I highly recommend it. Once you start, you will not be able to put it down!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Darling!

    Hoffman's debut novel is chock-full of interesting ladies and will leave you wanting more! The interactions between the sweet (and not-so-sweet) old (?) ladies in this novel is on the "truth is stranger than fiction" level of characterization - the characters would be corny if it weren't for the fact that you know somebody JUST LIKE THAT somewhere in your life. The whirl of genteel southern ladies and their garden club socials is an alien world for most of us, as it is for the title character. Her assimilation to this new world and the life lessons she learns from the ladies she meets along the way are an entertaining and uplifting read. I wish it were longer!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    The characters in this book are fantastic and so real I felt like I knew them. CeeCee, a little girl of 12 who had a rough life until her mother died, was so perfectly developed that I could hear her voice in my head. Oletta, who was the cook and became a friend to CeeCee, is the best character in any book I've ever read. EVER! The setting was perfect and I loved how the author described Savannah, it made me want to get in my car and drive there right away. Also, the writing style is beautiful and very tight and clean. I can't say enough good things about this book, it is the best I've read in a long time.

    I loved how it made me laugh and think, and I cried a few times too. I don't want to reveal too much and ruin it for anybody else, but the wisdom that is shared with CeeCee is really unique and special. I underlined so many sentences, and that rarely happens when I read a book! I hope Ms. Hoffmann writes more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Rave a must Read

    I am truly surprise that this was Beth Hoffman's first novel. The book is an amazing read. It has an amazing story line, her writing style she has brings the characters alive, and makes you feel like you know them personally. You will find yourself, shocked, laughing, and maybe a tear or two, while reading this great story. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    A book that warms the soul....

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is such a heartwarming story. While reading this charming book, I found myself pulled in through the pages and smack dab in the middle of Savannah, Georgia. This story had me giggling so hard at times, but then lost in thought pondering over a small life lesson that the author Beth Hoffman was able to slip in every now and again, that made you say to yourself, oh my goodness, I never thought of things that way. When I finished the book I held it to my chest and just hugged it. (Never before have I found myself hugging a book!)
    Thank you Beth Hoffman, for writing such a lovely story, that warmed my heart the way this book did. This is a book that I will find myself visiting time and time again. It has been placed into my personal "Life Book".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the best book ever!

    What a wonderfully delightful book . . . such a fun read! I am usually a bit cautious about a first time author, but I thouroughly enjoyed this book - laughing loudly at some passages and with tears running down my cheeks at others. I anxiously await futher offerings from Ms. Hoffman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Heartwarming Southern Novel

    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt was a refreshingly, sweet novel about a little twelve year little girl who has goes through many hardships to finally feel like she fits in and to feel loved. Cecilia "CeeCee" has to overcome the death of her crazy, mentally unstable mother and leave her father who was never been there to take care of her or her mother. She goes to live with her great-aunt where she meets several strong-minded women who she grows to love and cherish, and finally she starts to feel like she finally has a real family.


    The characters of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt were mainly women but were so strong they overpowered the men from their past. I loved reading about CeeCee's new live as she moves to Savanna, Georgia with her generous, loving aunt. The story was nicely written and very enjoyable to read. It was pretty hard to stop reading, and at times I could picture the scenes in my head while I was reading. At one part, I even became hungry for peaches because I could just picture the scene so perfectly.


    It is set in the past in a time where African Americans weren't truly excepted yet, so there is some racial discrimination which was just horrible. I was very surprised by how much I enjoyed the book because when I first received it from LibraryThing after winning an ARC to review, I kept putting it off to read because I thought it would be unrelatable and boring. I was really wrong to delay from reading it because it is truly a great book.


    I loved the main characters so much! CeeCee along with her loving Aunt Tootie, and Oletta were amazing people and characters. The ending was just so good, and it left off at the perfect time leaving me very pleased. Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is Beth Hoffman's first book, and I'm very impressed by how it's very well-written and everything was well-developed. Altogether, it was a wonderful novel filled with Southern charm, lovable characters, and a great setting/plot. I can't wait to see how Beth's future books stack up against such a great first one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Quick Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Fast read...I picked it up to read more every chance I had. The characters were colorful and humorous with a dash of drama. Just the way I like my books. If you buy this book, choose another when you're there too cuz this one will go fast, and you will find yourself with nothing to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Truly enjoyed this book!

    Wonderful read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exceptional in so many ways

    Exceptional character development and a story that made me laugh and cry has made this a book that will always be a favorite. The author's writing is wonderful.

    This is a multi-layered story that should be read on several different levels. It is more than entertaining, it is wise, and sometimes hilarious, and very moving. Saving CeeCee Honeycutt is a celebration and tribute of and for women, their friendships, and their capacity to love, forgive, and heal one another.

    I highly recommend this uplifting book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 961 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 49