Customer Reviews for

Saving Faith

Average Rating 3.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fast, Decent Read

This book is ok. It's not spectacular, but it's not boring. It reads fast and is a good story with a nice twist at the end. You won't be blown away, but you will enjoy this book.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Predictable, boring, awful

I enjoyed earlier Baldacci books (e.g., Absolute Power), but this one was terrible. Paper thin characters, predictable plot. Not sure I'll read one of his again.

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2002

    Baldacci's newest

    A little bit long to get into but I enjoyed it immensely. It was well written and after page 200 or so I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    FBI + CIA = GOOD READ

    I live far beyond the Beltway. Beyond the Allegenies, in fact. I don't know if any of the characters in 'Saving Grace' are based on real people and I don't care. As a novel, it certainly worked for me. The 'Faith' of the title is a female assistant who works for a bleeding-heart senator. Faith has been marked for termination with prejudice. Who's behind it? A paid assassin, the CIA, both, or someone else? And how will it come down? Along the way Faith will cross paths with a Russian sniper, an embittered CIA ex-spook, a dedicated FBI woman with a heart of gold, and a studly and damn smart private investigator. 'Saving Faith' was written to be a page-turner and it succeeds well. We pretty much know who the good guys and the bad guys are, and the surprises on that level are not terribly surprising. The real fun comes in finding out HOW our heroes get out of one perilous situation after another. To me, Baldacci's strong point as a writer is his meticulous research, and his take on eavesdropping paranoia runs the gamut from funny through strange to downright scary. What I'm typing right now could be bouncing off a National Security Agency satellite--even one that was primed to alert itself for code words like FBI or CIA. Criticism: in this age of short attention spans, Baldacci is a holdout from the Elmore Leonard/Carl Hiaasen school of quick cuts and short scenes. Perhaps the beach scenes in particular were meant to crackle with tension--but all they did was bore me. (Let me say that I am over 40 and college-educated so 'boring' was not just a kneejerk teenaged crack.) I like a leisurely pace if it enables me to get in better touch with the characters. Here, unfortunately, I didn't find these characters particularly well nuanced psychologically. I cared about them, but only to the extent that I didn't want them to die. This is my first Baldacci novel; I didn't go into it with any preconceived notions; I enjoyed it. I think some of you are grading too harshly, which is why I'm upgrading my 3.5 to a 4, and I intend to get to Baldacci's other novels before too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    Solid suspense story

    This was my first Baldacci book, picked because it got the best reviews. I was not disappointed, I found this an interesting book. I don't read too many political thrillers, so to me the plot was exciting and well-detailed. Baldacci's characters were fairly well-developed. I definitely recommend this as a solid read for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    Totally believable!!!

    This was a great read. It was totally believable. I could almost see myself in Lee Adam's shoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    A good book if you're into the law/politics genre...

    This was an interesting book and I was certainly enthralled by much of it, however, let's hope Mr. Baldacci isn't churning books out every other month the way Mr. Grisham and Mr. King (dare I even call him an author??) do. This was my first Baldacci novel and it was certainly enjoyed, however, the plot seems too unrealistic for a political thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    Saving Face

    I've read and enjoyed three of David Beldacci novels. This was not one of them. It's like swimming in quicksand. Slow and slower. Alas, I have nothing good to say about this his latest book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2000

    Solid Effort

    The book has some lulls, but also has some page turning moments as well. Let's hope the quality will win over the frequency of books as Baldacci marches onward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Baldacci Strikes Again !!!

    Baldacci Strikes again, with his twists and turns he develops a complex pattern of responsible parties to this awesome thriller. A totally beliveable and gripping novel. Thanks David, when is the next one???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Fantastic! Couldn't keep it down

    What is most intriguing is the possibility of everything that happens to Faith, could happen in real life. The characters are so well instrumented to the flow of the story. I could not keep this down after I found it in the store. Definitly one for someone who likes books with consistant action. I can see this being made into a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    The Best

    I am not the avid reader that most are but I just have to say that this is the best book I have ever read. I read The Simple Truth and was just taken and this one is even better. Saving Faith has prompted me to go and buy the rest of David's books. He is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    What Happened?

    Since Absolute Power, I have purchased David Baldacci's books as soon as they were on the market. 'Saving Faith' was a huge disappointment, too long, too many abbreviations, too complicated. The page turning excitement, evident in his previous books didn't begin until about page 268. Each of the previous books was difficult to put down, this one fell out of my hands every time I tried to read it and fell asleep. Took me three weeks to plow through it, about a day and half for the previous four. Has Baldacci run out of ideas? What happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    Can't sleep? Read this book and you'll fall asleep instantly.

    This book was so unlike Balladucci's other books. Boring, dull, unimaginative, dud characters, stupid plot. I only finished it because it was a Balladucci book and it MUST be good - WRONG. I should have known better when this booked dropped off the Best Seller's list after the first week. I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    Will the 'real' David Baldacci please return.

    Totally disappointing, full of meaningless cliches and failed attempts at humor. A potentially good plot spoiled by naive writing. Seems the publisher accepted the novel based on the author's name rather than the novel itself. Where is the author of 'Absolute Power?' I wanted to give samples of excerpts that were childishly written, but realized this would encompass the majority of the book. I will not wait with baited breath for his next book like I did this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Easy Read... Not Bad

    While the quality of this book doesn't match Baldacci's previous Best Sellers, it was an easy, interesting read. The plot was interesting and the book held my attention but, after putting the book down, I had to wonder: 'did I enjoy the book?'... Not a good sign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    Extremely Disappointing!!!!!

    Dull, flat, and BORING. I had to force myself to complete this book. His early titles were excellent, but this was obviously something he didn't have his heart in when he wrote it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2000

    Hollywood Hopeful

    This book is tripping over itself in frantic exploits which are totally unbelievable. I prefer a book that at least makes a stab at reality. Too many high jinx and confusing subplots. Kept falling asleep before I could figure who was trying to do what to whom and why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Baldacci strikes again.

    In his usual style Baldacci has again stimulated the imagination of the reader. Once you start reading, it is hard to put down.Keep up the good work David.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Saving Faith

    very good detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 1999

    If not beneath him, certainly beneath us!

    This is a classic example of a gifted writer employing a formula (and poorly) to crank out a commitment book. The plot is shallow and contrived; the characters are stick figures lacking flesh and blood; and the whole book lacks the element of reality that made his other works so intriguing. He repeats portions of his text several times while otherwise often relying on cliches and canned language. He wasted his time, I wasted my time and if you read it you'll be wasting your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5