Customer Reviews for

Saving Francesca

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This Could be Your Story

Saving Francesca, by Melina Marchetta, was one of the best books I have ever read. I could not put this book down once I started reading it. It is witty but still serious and tells the story of depression without being boring. This book is easy to relate to and there ar...
Saving Francesca, by Melina Marchetta, was one of the best books I have ever read. I could not put this book down once I started reading it. It is witty but still serious and tells the story of depression without being boring. This book is easy to relate to and there are surprises around every corner. Francesca has just left her all-girls¿ school, St. Stella¿s, to attend a boys¿ school, St. Sebastian¿s, that has just opened its doors to girls for the first time. She loses touch with old St. Stella¿s friends, who now attend a different school, and has trouble making new ones. Just when Francesca is getting used to her new school, she finds out that her mother is in the middle of a crisis and can barely get out of bed. Francesca lives in denial and does not tell anyone about her mother¿s condition. Follow Francesca through the good times with her old and new friends and the bad times at home where she wonders how long she can continue to cope. Will her mother ever recover? Will Francesca¿s life ever be ¿normal¿ again? What will happen when she finds out the shocking piece of news that caused her mother¿s breakdown? Did her mother¿s breakdown have anything to do with Francesca? When things get really bad for Francesca, she decides to run away. In returning home, she demonstrates the courage that is necessary to face her fears. Francesca also shows us the value of friendship. Changing schools is a turning point for Francesca because she can recreate herself with her new friends. She branches out more and makes connections that help her survive. When she finds herself faced with the responsibility of taking care of her mother, Francesca also learns what it means to truly love someone and to have that love tested. People of all ages will benefit from reading this book. Francesca teaches us that depression can affect anyone, and that life can change without warning. The story also give us hope in dealing with depression. Francesca¿s story is a story that needs to be told. The author accomplishes this while captivating and entertaining her readers. This book is truly amazing and I give it the highest rating of five stars.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Depression

Francesca¿s mother, Mia, is suffering from debilitating depression and Francesca doesn¿t know what to do. She is shocked and angry when she learns the events that led up to the depression. She lashes out at her dad and tells him her mother will get better if he he¿d onl...
Francesca¿s mother, Mia, is suffering from debilitating depression and Francesca doesn¿t know what to do. She is shocked and angry when she learns the events that led up to the depression. She lashes out at her dad and tells him her mother will get better if he he¿d only let her mother vent. He tells her that he¿s respecting her privacy. She tells him he hiding because he¿s a coward. He decides to take Francesca¿s advice and listens as his wife opens up about her sadness.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    After reading Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, I fell in love with the way she creates her characters. I've read all of her books that have been released in the US, and they are all phenomenal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    This Could be Your Story

    Saving Francesca, by Melina Marchetta, was one of the best books I have ever read. I could not put this book down once I started reading it. It is witty but still serious and tells the story of depression without being boring. This book is easy to relate to and there are surprises around every corner. Francesca has just left her all-girls¿ school, St. Stella¿s, to attend a boys¿ school, St. Sebastian¿s, that has just opened its doors to girls for the first time. She loses touch with old St. Stella¿s friends, who now attend a different school, and has trouble making new ones. Just when Francesca is getting used to her new school, she finds out that her mother is in the middle of a crisis and can barely get out of bed. Francesca lives in denial and does not tell anyone about her mother¿s condition. Follow Francesca through the good times with her old and new friends and the bad times at home where she wonders how long she can continue to cope. Will her mother ever recover? Will Francesca¿s life ever be ¿normal¿ again? What will happen when she finds out the shocking piece of news that caused her mother¿s breakdown? Did her mother¿s breakdown have anything to do with Francesca? When things get really bad for Francesca, she decides to run away. In returning home, she demonstrates the courage that is necessary to face her fears. Francesca also shows us the value of friendship. Changing schools is a turning point for Francesca because she can recreate herself with her new friends. She branches out more and makes connections that help her survive. When she finds herself faced with the responsibility of taking care of her mother, Francesca also learns what it means to truly love someone and to have that love tested. People of all ages will benefit from reading this book. Francesca teaches us that depression can affect anyone, and that life can change without warning. The story also give us hope in dealing with depression. Francesca¿s story is a story that needs to be told. The author accomplishes this while captivating and entertaining her readers. This book is truly amazing and I give it the highest rating of five stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    A Quick, Enjoyable Read

    Francesca is obligated to go to a new school, and not just any school, a school that until now only allowed boys to attend. She does not get to see her group of friends as often as she used to. And, to make matters worse, her mother falls into a state of depression. Francesca is worried about her mother and is frustrated because she can't make it go away. As time passes Francesca forgets who she really is and it takes a group of the oddest, yet very likable, assortment of characters to help her find herself again.

    Another great book by Melina Marchetta. There were times when I wanted to jump into the book and give Francesca a hug. Yet, there were other times where it was impossible not to burst out laughing. By far my favorite character is Thomas. He is pretty immature, but he also is one of the funniest characters in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This should be required reading for parents of teenage girls. T

    This should be required reading for parents of teenage girls. The author really does a great job of showing the angst that is the teenage girl's life at 16. It's written honestly without being over-the-top like many other YA novels. It's also a window into the lives of a family dealing with depression and how it can affect each member of a family so profoundly.

    The author evokes emotion well and the cast of characters is fleshed out well. I really ached for this girl.

    Super read. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Good book!

    I thought the book was very good and relatable to a teenagers life as well! (:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Depression

    Francesca¿s mother, Mia, is suffering from debilitating depression and Francesca doesn¿t know what to do. She is shocked and angry when she learns the events that led up to the depression. She lashes out at her dad and tells him her mother will get better if he he¿d only let her mother vent. He tells her that he¿s respecting her privacy. She tells him he hiding because he¿s a coward. He decides to take Francesca¿s advice and listens as his wife opens up about her sadness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Saving Francesca

    Melina Marchetta brought out real problems in her book, Saving Francesca. Marchetta used realistic dialog that fit in with the teenaged theme of the book. In this book, Marchetta uses realistic situations to draw out the issue of depression. The book begins at the point in time that Francesca¿s mother stops getting out of bed. Though confused, Francesca is also happy that her mother is not lecturing her. Francesca is a high school student at St. Sebastian¿s. St. Sebastian¿s was an all boy school the year before so more than 50% is boys. Francesca hates going to St. Sebastian¿s but ends up making new friends, and one more more-than-just-a-friend friend. Francesca begins doing anything she can to help her mother with her depression. But, when Francesca uncovers the reason for her mother¿s sudden depression she becomes furious at her father and runs away. When she is brought back she realizes her father¿s strength and his love for her and who her true friends are. Saving Francesca is a great novel that brings out the very common problems of being a teenager and the less common problem of depression. By using realistic dialogue and situations Marchetta has created a convincing and realistic novel that you won¿t be able to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    great book

    I loved this book. I just finished it today and it was awsome. Some parts weren't that great but others were. At first I thought it was going to be like zoey 101 becuase of the girls going to an all boys school, but it wasn't really. this book was an overal good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    great book!!!

    i loved this book! i really like how francesca starts out thinking that all the boys are gross, and by the end you see how sweet they are. i loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Great book

    Saving Francesca is a wonderfully honest book. Things aren't perfect for Francesca, but all the things she thought were horrible -her new school, among them- turn out to be blessings in disguise. My favorites characters were Francesca and her friends Justine, Jimmy, and Thomas. This is a great book with a great message of being yourself and making the best of any situation. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Saving Francesca: The Best Book Ever

    Saving Francesca was a truly marvelous book. Francesca is sixteen years old, living with her parents and younger brother, Luca. Her family almost always gets along well. Her mother runs the family, and is forcing Francesca to attend St. Sebastian's, a former all-boys school that opened its doors to girls this year. Everything is going okay 'with the exception of Francesca hating school' until one morning, her mother can't get out of bed. And her mother is continually unable to get out of bed. She has acute depression. Francesca has to find a way to deal with this, plus the fact that she and her brother are being sent to live with various family members, plus she hates school, plus she just might be in love with a guy who she hates but totally loves, all at the same time. How could you not love this book? Francesca is a totally relatable character. I love her because she has a good head on her shoulders and she didn't fall apart when awful things started happening. Plus, she is very wise. I would reccommend this book to anybody who is over 12 years old 'this book does have some underage drinking and a bit of sexual material, but it's not really that bad'. I have read it over and over and still love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Great start and middle, bad ending

    i really liked the book, especially the parts with thomas and jimmy, they made me laugh, i also like the family parts. i think that it was good cos it had he right mixture of school/family/friends/romance. the ending could have been better but, hey it could have been worse.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2007

    okay/recommended

    It was a good book.I just read a bad book and this book got me reading again.It does leave a few blanks but it's great.Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    brought me back

    this book finaly got me out of my not reading mood. The book is great and brings up real isues not just fake ones. We all need to know that real friends will stick even if you do something terrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Good book!

    well this book was sad,funny,happy and jus plain awesome but it had too many cursing i mean like there is almost 10 a page. but other wise its one of favorites. totally recommeded to girls!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    omg this is my fave book

    i loved this book and i could read this book over and over, but there was one thing wrong with it. The ending wasnt very good. i felt like there was more that could have happened. they didnt say that her mom was completely healed.....the auther didnt really tell wat ended up completely happening between francesca and will.......are tara and thomas going to get together?......wat about justine and francois?.......and last, wut about siobhan, is she going to fix her problem and find the right guy. i think that there would be a really good sequel to this book and i would totally buy it the day it came out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    :D

    I found this book randomly at my school library, and I'm only halfway through it, but I can tell you, it's one of THE BEST I've ever read. And I read a lot. The characters are so REAL and unforgettable. READ THIS BOOK! You'll like it, I promise! =D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    it's REAL!

    Let me tell you, Saving Francesca is as real a book as there is. Trust me, I've had a lot of similar experiences with depression and stuff, and this book is just so completely real. It's painfully good, that's how good it is. It's just...simply amazing. But I've got to tell you, I'm not too crazy about the new cover art. It looks totally fake and really doesn't relate to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    ...breathtaking

    I got the book for my birthday and let me tell you the cover made it look like one of those every-guy-is-fighting-for-you books so I wasn't to interested. I started reading it and couldn't believe it was actually a great book. Its cookies and cream with a big dose of reality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    It Will Make You Laugh, It Will Make You Cry, and You'll Never Want to Put it Down!

    Francesca has been forced, by her mother, to attend an all boy's school that has recently been turned co-ed. She has to learn to cope without her old school friends, who really don't understand her at all, her immature male peers, and with her mother's new acute depression. Francesca does find hope through old friends, new ones, falling in love, and just being herself! I strongly reccomend listening to this story on tape, since Rebecca Macauley captures Francesca's spirit perfectly. Anyone who has or knows someone who has suffered depression will understand what Francesca and her family goes through. Saving Francesca is one of the best books for teenage girls to read...since we're on the path to self discovery and looking for others who understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4