Customer Reviews for

Saving Grace

Average Rating 4.5
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Garwood's 'Saving Grace' is that Good!

Have you ever found yourself reading a certain book over and over again. Not because you didn't understand it, but because it was just that good? That is how I feel about Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. This book has it all. When I first bought it, I read it straight thr...
Have you ever found yourself reading a certain book over and over again. Not because you didn't understand it, but because it was just that good? That is how I feel about Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. This book has it all. When I first bought it, I read it straight through, never putting it down, except for the occasional potty break.

After looking over the elegant cover, with its simplistic style and inviting colors, I opened the book and traveled back to 13th-century England and Scotland. A timid Lady Johanna is relieved to learn that her abusive husband is dead. I found myself wanting to congradulate her. Unfortunately, her freedom is short lived, when the wicked King John wants to marry her to another abusive lord. Her brother makes a decision to save his sister and convinces the powerful highland laird Gabriel MacBain to put aside his natural disgust for all things English and wed her. Of course, he needs to agree sight unseen, and is given an incentive. He gets land that once belong to Scotland. The laird agrees and is of the mind, that he will sacrifice for the good of his people. The only problem is that the beloved brother has to convince Johanna to marry Gabriel. Johanna's first impression of Gabriel, he is a barabarian. Gabriel's first impression of Johanna, OH YES!, She will be mine. LOL, you just know he was mentally on his hands and knees thanking God, that she wasn't a walking hairy zit.

The dialog between Johanna and Gabriel was fun and exciting. Getting married proved to be a challenge in itself. Gabriel being the alpha male, is used to things being his way. Johanna, the suppressed female, is tired of being disrespected and mistreated. The bickering back and forth was well written and gave credablitly to the story. There are also moments, that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, I was like Awwwwwww. But under all the fun and fuzzy, there were some real serious and thought provoking issues.

For so long, Johanna lived in fear. Fear from her first husband and fear from the church, who's confessor taught that women were last in God's love. Now she finds herself, afraid and uncertain as to the ways of life with the clan. Johanna has difficulty adjusting to life within a clan and being the new wife of the laird. The clan women make fun of Johanna behind her back, she has a hard time trusting her new husband, always expecting the shoe to drop or should I say the hand to start flying. She also has to learn to accept that not all men of the church are as sadistic as her previous confessor. But with the friendship of an old man obsessed with golf, a little boy, and a dog, Johanna begins to step out of her shell and grow strong. Her relationship with her new husband grows into love. Unfortunately, her new strength is tested when she rescues a battered woman and all the painful memories come flooding back. Not to mention, her brother returns to reveal news so shocking, that it could very well destroy all that she has come to love.

What I appreciate about this story is the fact that there are real issues that could pertain to this day and age. There is physical and psychological abuse, political intrigue, corruption within the church, and so much more. When I say this book has it all, it does. The story is not only enjoyable, but believable and with a ending that leaves you both satisfied and wanting more. If you have never read a Garwood book, you are missing out.

posted by Lori6 on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This is not the book ordered

I ordered this book by Julie Garwoo and received the wrong one. I got a book by Denise Hunter. I have complained several times and have vreceived no response. Perhaps I should just buy elsewhere!!!!!!

posted by dw53 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Garwood's 'Saving Grace' is that Good!

    Have you ever found yourself reading a certain book over and over again. Not because you didn't understand it, but because it was just that good? That is how I feel about Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. This book has it all. When I first bought it, I read it straight through, never putting it down, except for the occasional potty break.

    After looking over the elegant cover, with its simplistic style and inviting colors, I opened the book and traveled back to 13th-century England and Scotland. A timid Lady Johanna is relieved to learn that her abusive husband is dead. I found myself wanting to congradulate her. Unfortunately, her freedom is short lived, when the wicked King John wants to marry her to another abusive lord. Her brother makes a decision to save his sister and convinces the powerful highland laird Gabriel MacBain to put aside his natural disgust for all things English and wed her. Of course, he needs to agree sight unseen, and is given an incentive. He gets land that once belong to Scotland. The laird agrees and is of the mind, that he will sacrifice for the good of his people. The only problem is that the beloved brother has to convince Johanna to marry Gabriel. Johanna's first impression of Gabriel, he is a barabarian. Gabriel's first impression of Johanna, OH YES!, She will be mine. LOL, you just know he was mentally on his hands and knees thanking God, that she wasn't a walking hairy zit.

    The dialog between Johanna and Gabriel was fun and exciting. Getting married proved to be a challenge in itself. Gabriel being the alpha male, is used to things being his way. Johanna, the suppressed female, is tired of being disrespected and mistreated. The bickering back and forth was well written and gave credablitly to the story. There are also moments, that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, I was like Awwwwwww. But under all the fun and fuzzy, there were some real serious and thought provoking issues.

    For so long, Johanna lived in fear. Fear from her first husband and fear from the church, who's confessor taught that women were last in God's love. Now she finds herself, afraid and uncertain as to the ways of life with the clan. Johanna has difficulty adjusting to life within a clan and being the new wife of the laird. The clan women make fun of Johanna behind her back, she has a hard time trusting her new husband, always expecting the shoe to drop or should I say the hand to start flying. She also has to learn to accept that not all men of the church are as sadistic as her previous confessor. But with the friendship of an old man obsessed with golf, a little boy, and a dog, Johanna begins to step out of her shell and grow strong. Her relationship with her new husband grows into love. Unfortunately, her new strength is tested when she rescues a battered woman and all the painful memories come flooding back. Not to mention, her brother returns to reveal news so shocking, that it could very well destroy all that she has come to love.

    What I appreciate about this story is the fact that there are real issues that could pertain to this day and age. There is physical and psychological abuse, political intrigue, corruption within the church, and so much more. When I say this book has it all, it does. The story is not only enjoyable, but believable and with a ending that leaves you both satisfied and wanting more. If you have never read a Garwood book, you are missing out.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    Absolutely Fantastic

    This book is so wonderfully romantic. I cried and I laughed hysterically at some parts. I was definitely upset when the book was over, I wanted it to last longer. I would really love to see a movie made out of this book exactly. I recommend this book highly. You won't be able to put it down, I couldn't.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Excellent read!

    I Love Love Love this book. Saving Grace has strong characters and an intriguing story line. It's one of those books where you don't want it to end but you need to find out what happens. This book is definitely one you'll read several times over the years. I enjoy all of Julie Garwood's books but especially her historicals.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I read and re-read this book and fall in love with the story eve

    I read and re-read this book and fall in love with the story every time! It is my second favorite book in my library! Love Love Love It! MUST READ!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    This is not the book ordered

    I ordered this book by Julie Garwoo and received the wrong one. I got a book by Denise Hunter. I have complained several times and have vreceived no response. Perhaps I should just buy elsewhere!!!!!!

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    My all time favorite Julie Garwood novel.. I fell in love with G

    My all time favorite Julie Garwood novel.. I fell in love with Gabriel and loved Johanna.  Beautifully written!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I have read several Julie Garwood books and this one is my favorite so far! I loved the charaters and the fast paced story line. This book had me laughing and crying - very well done. A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Love

    Loved this book....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    great historical.

    This book was a delightful story. I was happy to see Johanna blossom into a stronger woman. Her husband was incredibly cute in a gruff sort of way. I always like those grumbling, rough men with soft hearts. That is Gabriel, her husband.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    >>> This is one of my favorite Julie Garwood books. I have read this book twice before but I wanted to have it on my computer as well....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2015

    Great

    Another excellent novel by garland. I never have read a bad one. Very enjoyable and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    Saving Grace is one of my favorite books. I was glad when it was

    Saving Grace is one of my favorite books. I was glad when it was finally released as a nook book. The humor and romance in this book bring me to read it time and time again. The characters are so real and when I read this book I feel like I am part of the story. Julie Garwood is an exceptional author. I love her her book  "The Secret" very much, too.  It is nice to find a book that is so tastefully written. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a book that is a love story filled with so much humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Love this book!

    This is one of my all time favorites by Garwood. My paperback copy was falling apart from so many readings! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    I have read many of Julie Garwood's books and this is by far my

    I have read many of Julie Garwood's books and this is by far my favorite. In fact it is my favorite book period. I loved all of the characters and found myself laughing out loud a couple times. I can't say enough about this book. I have read it at least a dozen times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    One of her best

    One of her best books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    Ok after being an avid reader for more than 30 years I can tell

    Ok after being an avid reader for more than 30 years I can tell you this book is still one of my all time favorites. If I want a book to bring me to tears and laughter and warm fuzzy feelings, this is my go to book. I am so glad it is now available as an e book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

     This is one of my first favorite romance novels. I reread it co

     This is one of my first favorite romance novels. I reread it countless times. The story of Johanna and Gabe is a comfort read. Gabe is
    one of my favorite heroes. And Johanna's bravery is amazing every time.

    This book is at once tender, funny, emotional, and fantasy. If you love Scots, you'll love this. If you like to romance sweet and sexy,
     this is your book.

    We have intrigue, growing to a trust and the amazing background of the Highlands written by one of the best historical romance writer
    s ever to put pen to page.

    This book might fully you by seeming simply fluffy happy love  goodness. But inside of all that delight is also a poignant exploration of
    women's rights, what true love is and feels like, and bravery. Plus, they're awesome Irish will sentence and a great grumpy gruff massive handsome hero to take us  in his arms and offer a true partnership based in love and respect.

    If you call yourself an avid romance reader, your Canon of popular romantic literature is not complete without this novel in your satchel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific!

    Always a fan of Garwood's historical romances...loved the interaction between the main characters...wish the lass was a wee bit older...I prefer my heroines to be full adults, like over 25yrs old, for steamy scenes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    Love, sex, beautiful people and happy endings. This book was lik

    Love, sex, beautiful people and happy endings. This book was like fairy tale. Some people enjoy escapes like this book. If you are looking for some serious history to sink your teeth in to, this is not the book you want. I enjoyed the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Absolute favorite book!

    This is my favorite book. I reread it every now and then when I need a true feel good novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14