Customer Reviews for

Saving Grace

Average Rating 4.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Garwood's 'Saving Grace' is that Good!

Have you ever found yourself reading a certain book over and over again. Not because you didn't understand it, but because it was just that good? That is how I feel about Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. This book has it all. When I first bought it, I read it straight thr...
Have you ever found yourself reading a certain book over and over again. Not because you didn't understand it, but because it was just that good? That is how I feel about Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. This book has it all. When I first bought it, I read it straight through, never putting it down, except for the occasional potty break.

After looking over the elegant cover, with its simplistic style and inviting colors, I opened the book and traveled back to 13th-century England and Scotland. A timid Lady Johanna is relieved to learn that her abusive husband is dead. I found myself wanting to congradulate her. Unfortunately, her freedom is short lived, when the wicked King John wants to marry her to another abusive lord. Her brother makes a decision to save his sister and convinces the powerful highland laird Gabriel MacBain to put aside his natural disgust for all things English and wed her. Of course, he needs to agree sight unseen, and is given an incentive. He gets land that once belong to Scotland. The laird agrees and is of the mind, that he will sacrifice for the good of his people. The only problem is that the beloved brother has to convince Johanna to marry Gabriel. Johanna's first impression of Gabriel, he is a barabarian. Gabriel's first impression of Johanna, OH YES!, She will be mine. LOL, you just know he was mentally on his hands and knees thanking God, that she wasn't a walking hairy zit.

The dialog between Johanna and Gabriel was fun and exciting. Getting married proved to be a challenge in itself. Gabriel being the alpha male, is used to things being his way. Johanna, the suppressed female, is tired of being disrespected and mistreated. The bickering back and forth was well written and gave credablitly to the story. There are also moments, that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, I was like Awwwwwww. But under all the fun and fuzzy, there were some real serious and thought provoking issues.

For so long, Johanna lived in fear. Fear from her first husband and fear from the church, who's confessor taught that women were last in God's love. Now she finds herself, afraid and uncertain as to the ways of life with the clan. Johanna has difficulty adjusting to life within a clan and being the new wife of the laird. The clan women make fun of Johanna behind her back, she has a hard time trusting her new husband, always expecting the shoe to drop or should I say the hand to start flying. She also has to learn to accept that not all men of the church are as sadistic as her previous confessor. But with the friendship of an old man obsessed with golf, a little boy, and a dog, Johanna begins to step out of her shell and grow strong. Her relationship with her new husband grows into love. Unfortunately, her new strength is tested when she rescues a battered woman and all the painful memories come flooding back. Not to mention, her brother returns to reveal news so shocking, that it could very well destroy all that she has come to love.

What I appreciate about this story is the fact that there are real issues that could pertain to this day and age. There is physical and psychological abuse, political intrigue, corruption within the church, and so much more. When I say this book has it all, it does. The story is not only enjoyable, but believable and with a ending that leaves you both satisfied and wanting more. If you have never read a Garwood book, you are missing out.

posted by Lori6 on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This is not the book ordered

I ordered this book by Julie Garwoo and received the wrong one. I got a book by Denise Hunter. I have complained several times and have vreceived no response. Perhaps I should just buy elsewhere!!!!!!

posted by dw53 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Garwood's 'Saving Grace' is that Good!

    Have you ever found yourself reading a certain book over and over again. Not because you didn't understand it, but because it was just that good? That is how I feel about Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. This book has it all. When I first bought it, I read it straight through, never putting it down, except for the occasional potty break.

    After looking over the elegant cover, with its simplistic style and inviting colors, I opened the book and traveled back to 13th-century England and Scotland. A timid Lady Johanna is relieved to learn that her abusive husband is dead. I found myself wanting to congradulate her. Unfortunately, her freedom is short lived, when the wicked King John wants to marry her to another abusive lord. Her brother makes a decision to save his sister and convinces the powerful highland laird Gabriel MacBain to put aside his natural disgust for all things English and wed her. Of course, he needs to agree sight unseen, and is given an incentive. He gets land that once belong to Scotland. The laird agrees and is of the mind, that he will sacrifice for the good of his people. The only problem is that the beloved brother has to convince Johanna to marry Gabriel. Johanna's first impression of Gabriel, he is a barabarian. Gabriel's first impression of Johanna, OH YES!, She will be mine. LOL, you just know he was mentally on his hands and knees thanking God, that she wasn't a walking hairy zit.

    The dialog between Johanna and Gabriel was fun and exciting. Getting married proved to be a challenge in itself. Gabriel being the alpha male, is used to things being his way. Johanna, the suppressed female, is tired of being disrespected and mistreated. The bickering back and forth was well written and gave credablitly to the story. There are also moments, that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, I was like Awwwwwww. But under all the fun and fuzzy, there were some real serious and thought provoking issues.

    For so long, Johanna lived in fear. Fear from her first husband and fear from the church, who's confessor taught that women were last in God's love. Now she finds herself, afraid and uncertain as to the ways of life with the clan. Johanna has difficulty adjusting to life within a clan and being the new wife of the laird. The clan women make fun of Johanna behind her back, she has a hard time trusting her new husband, always expecting the shoe to drop or should I say the hand to start flying. She also has to learn to accept that not all men of the church are as sadistic as her previous confessor. But with the friendship of an old man obsessed with golf, a little boy, and a dog, Johanna begins to step out of her shell and grow strong. Her relationship with her new husband grows into love. Unfortunately, her new strength is tested when she rescues a battered woman and all the painful memories come flooding back. Not to mention, her brother returns to reveal news so shocking, that it could very well destroy all that she has come to love.

    What I appreciate about this story is the fact that there are real issues that could pertain to this day and age. There is physical and psychological abuse, political intrigue, corruption within the church, and so much more. When I say this book has it all, it does. The story is not only enjoyable, but believable and with a ending that leaves you both satisfied and wanting more. If you have never read a Garwood book, you are missing out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    great historical.

    This book was a delightful story. I was happy to see Johanna blossom into a stronger woman. Her husband was incredibly cute in a gruff sort of way. I always like those grumbling, rough men with soft hearts. That is Gabriel, her husband.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific!

    Always a fan of Garwood's historical romances...loved the interaction between the main characters...wish the lass was a wee bit older...I prefer my heroines to be full adults, like over 25yrs old, for steamy scenes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jazzy

    Lovvvvvvved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Great read

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Good Read

    Liked this book. Very interesting read. The love story worked. Lots of interesting well rounded charactors too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you love Romances Book is a must read

    Great Book. Cannot wait to find out what is happening. Set in a great time in history. Perfect for Romance lovers. Cannot wait to read more of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    Great Story...

    This was another great story from Mrs. Garwood. I really enjoyed this story and wish I could find a man like Gabriel or any of the many men Garwood writes about. I really liked Nicholas and was so happy he got his happy ending. The way Johanna stood up for Clare and acted as her protector was amazing as well. Loved Auggie and his passion for "digging holes" or in other words his love for golf. If you're a fan of Garwood then pick this one up and if not become one after reading this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    Wonderful!!!

    My friend got me started reading Julie Garwood. At first, I wasn't for sure about romantic books. I loved it. I am so glad that my friend suggested reading Julie Garwood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Excellent

    I thought that this book was very captivating. Julie Garwood is one of my favorite authors and she hasn't dissapointed me yet. I wish that she would make a sequel to this to elaborate on the romance that is budding between Nicholas and Clare.I thought that the chemistry between Johanna and Gabriel was perfecet. Johanna is the epitomy of a strong woman. And Gabriel, what a hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3