Customer Reviews for

Saving Grace (Katie & Annalise Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

204 pages

Stand alone, nice conclusion, great book, editing is 95% correct. Loved the characters. Very mild, general descriptions of murders, violence, rape. (Heroine is lawyer) some romance, no sex, no cursing. The reson, I did not give 5 stars is because of having to read about...
Stand alone, nice conclusion, great book, editing is 95% correct. Loved the characters. Very mild, general descriptions of murders, violence, rape. (Heroine is lawyer) some romance, no sex, no cursing. The reson, I did not give 5 stars is because of having to read about Nick not loving her back, ( on almost every page) Ava being so perfect and gorgeous, all men want her and she has to have all the men and this book is first person. First person is irritating to me. A lot of the comments are island pathos, which was rather interesting. I enjoyed the six dogs. They acted like dogs and none were harmed in the making of this book. The voodoo angle is more of a ghost angle, but it added a lot of interest and is not over the top, nor is it a main focus. First book was free, second $1.99, third is $3.99, a rather big jump. I do not know if there will be a fouth or not. I did buy 2 & 3. I have not read them yet. A nice cozy, clean mystery. Chick lit. Ages 16 and up.

AD

posted by 19189092 on June 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good after slow start

Thankfully the main character doesnt remain a vapid idiot in second half of book. I almost gave up but it turned out to be ok

posted by 13484779 on November 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    204 pages

    Stand alone, nice conclusion, great book, editing is 95% correct. Loved the characters. Very mild, general descriptions of murders, violence, rape. (Heroine is lawyer) some romance, no sex, no cursing. The reson, I did not give 5 stars is because of having to read about Nick not loving her back, ( on almost every page) Ava being so perfect and gorgeous, all men want her and she has to have all the men and this book is first person. First person is irritating to me. A lot of the comments are island pathos, which was rather interesting. I enjoyed the six dogs. They acted like dogs and none were harmed in the making of this book. The voodoo angle is more of a ghost angle, but it added a lot of interest and is not over the top, nor is it a main focus. First book was free, second $1.99, third is $3.99, a rather big jump. I do not know if there will be a fouth or not. I did buy 2 & 3. I have not read them yet. A nice cozy, clean mystery. Chick lit. Ages 16 and up.

    AD

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Katie Connell is a Texas attorney whose life is in a tailspin. H

    Katie Connell is a Texas attorney whose life is in a tailspin. Her career has suffered a major setback when she lost her first criminal case. She hates her job, she drinks too much, she has a failed office romance, and she lost her parents in an auto accident on the island of St. Marcos. Stressed out and needing to get away, Katie returns to St. Marcos where she hopes to uncover information about her parents' mysterious deaths in the auto accident. Once there she becomes friends with Ava, a young island girl who is having an affair with a married Senator. When the Senator ends up dead, Ava is accused of stabbing him to death, and Katie decides to defend her. While on the island, Katie falls in love with an abandoned estate called Annalise, which is rumored to be haunted. Will she be able to fulfill her dreams of refinishing the house, save Ava, and solve the mystery of her parents death?




    Saving Grace is a fast-paced entertaining mystery that has just the right amount of drama, suspense and romance that keeps the readers intrigued and turning the pages. Author Pamela Fagan Hutchins weaves an exciting and humorous tale told in the first person narrative by sassy Katie Connell. Katie takes the reader along for the ride on her journey in search of answers, while transporting them between Dallas and the island of St. Marcos. This story has clever subplots, action and suspense that entices the reader to follow along as the mystery unfolds. And if that isn't enough for you, it has some heartfelt and emotional romance and friendship thrown in the mix.




    With an engaging cast of characters who are realistic, have flaws, and who are easy to relate to; witty dialogue and interactions; and a richly descriptive island setting; Saving Grace has it all: mystery, romance, drama, suspense and laugh-out-loud humor. This exciting whodunit is one heck of an entertaining read! 




    Saving Grace is the first book in the Katie and Annalise Series.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Very good

    I enjoyed this book very much. I do agree with another comment that too much emphasis was put on the unreciprocated love theme which didn't quite gel with the hot city attorney character. The story was interesting and the characterization unique. I hated to see it end but found out it was the beginning of a series which i will definitely purchase.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the next books in the series. Not a book club choice but a great beach/vacation read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    This was a very good book, very suspenseful. I'm going to be loo

    This was a very good book, very suspenseful. I'm going to be looking for the other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Enjoyable!

    Such an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    I enjoyed it. Fun to read. Very few errors.

    I'm THRILLED that there were no sex scenes!!!
    Fun story, super cute characters, good writing.
    Thank you for not ruining the story with unnecessary, unrealistic sex.
    I'm going to look for the next book in the series right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. It kept my interest and was

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. It kept my interest and was one of those "just one more page
    before bed...ok, just one more, and one more..." and the next thing you know its midnight kind of books..
    The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the Nick angle isn't fleshed out quite as well as I felt it should have been to be such an driving force for Katie's behavior. That was a little annoying-to be the great love of Katie's life, there is precious little interaction between the two to set the groundwork.
    I just bought the second book and can't wait to get started on it. Even with the minor Nick glitch, this was such a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Good mystery

    Entertaining, quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I really enjoyed this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Liked

    This book was great . Loved everything except the Nick plot line .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    The author graciously gave me a digital copy of this book when I

    The author graciously gave me a digital copy of this book when I didn't win the book she was giving away in a contest.

    Katie Connell is a Dallas attorney who is having a bad time dealing with life after losing her parents on the US Virgin Island, St. Marcos to an auto 
    accident.  Katie is a successful attorney but has a problem in that she is attracted to her investigator that happens to be married and on top of that
     he doesn't return her interest.  Katie turns to alcohol to help deal with her pain and frustration.  Her brother and her assistant confront her to get
    into rehab to get some help but Katie decides to go to St. Marcos to try to get to the bottom of what really happened to her parents.  She isn't  
    buying what the police report says about the accident.  Her parents were celebrating their wedding anniversary and would never get into the
    kind of situation reported.  Katie loves the island, makes friends, and falls in love with an abandoned house on the island.  She tries to buy the
    house but the deal falls through so she goes back to her job in Dallas.  Once there she immediately has to take a criminal case and since she
    is not a criminal attorney, this is a problem.  She isn't prepared and the celebrity defendant tries to pay off a witness.  The whole thing blows up
    in Katie's face.  However she gets a call from St. Marcos that the house deal is on so she heads back to St. Marcos.  Adventures continue there
    and the book was hard to put down.  

    Read to find answers to how Katie deals with her situation on the island and dealing with her feelings with the investigator back in Dallas as well
    as answers to her parents' deaths.  The author does a great job making one see the island through her eyes.  There is suspense, island culture,
    as well as island politics. Things do come together for Katie.   I'm looking forward to Katie's adventures in the next two books. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2015

    Great story

    Couldnt put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    Enjoyable

    This was a very enjoyable read! It was easy to get sucked into the story and keep turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    L

    Liked the characters and the story...very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    ?..

    Good read, To much of nothing about Nick.

    SM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    4 stars

    Great paced series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Highly recommended

    very good read--looking forward to reading the sequel--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Grat Characters

    The author builds her characters into believable people I enjoyed Katie, Ava and Emily. A fast moving book - just enough mystery, fun and romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Anonymous

    I enjoyed reading such a different type of story. Am looking forward to reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3