BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Saving Graces: Finding Solace and Strength from Friends and Strangers

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fantabulous!

This was an outstanding book. I hope for Elizabeth Edwards to tell her story helped her a bit. To lose a child has to be the worst thing in the world and then to have breast cancer (which has to be the second worse thing in the world), and to come out of it a wonderful ...
This was an outstanding book. I hope for Elizabeth Edwards to tell her story helped her a bit. To lose a child has to be the worst thing in the world and then to have breast cancer (which has to be the second worse thing in the world), and to come out of it a wonderful person is totally awesome. Definitely a book to read for all. I couldn't put this down and read it it record time.

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

Apparently I'm in the minority here, but I was very disappointed in this book. Mrs. Edwards spent a lot of time trying to convince her readers that she's 'just one of us,' but she left me feeling exactly the opposite - that she's among the wealthy elite and has forgotte...
Apparently I'm in the minority here, but I was very disappointed in this book. Mrs. Edwards spent a lot of time trying to convince her readers that she's 'just one of us,' but she left me feeling exactly the opposite - that she's among the wealthy elite and has forgotten from whence she came. Of course, John's $400 haircuts and their new $6 million, 28,000 square foot house do nothing to dispel that, so maybe I'm a little biased. The excessive name-dropping quickly grew tiresome (did she really have to include the name of every single person she's ever had personal contact with?) and the pages of transcribed emails and blogs seemed completely unnecessary. I do feel a little bad about bashing her, given everything she's been through, but still ... I was fairly ambivalent about her before reading this book, but that's no longer a problem. I now know exactly how I feel about her. (And lest you think this is political, I'm a registered Democrat!)

posted by Anonymous on October 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Very disappointing

    Apparently I'm in the minority here, but I was very disappointed in this book. Mrs. Edwards spent a lot of time trying to convince her readers that she's 'just one of us,' but she left me feeling exactly the opposite - that she's among the wealthy elite and has forgotten from whence she came. Of course, John's $400 haircuts and their new $6 million, 28,000 square foot house do nothing to dispel that, so maybe I'm a little biased. The excessive name-dropping quickly grew tiresome (did she really have to include the name of every single person she's ever had personal contact with?) and the pages of transcribed emails and blogs seemed completely unnecessary. I do feel a little bad about bashing her, given everything she's been through, but still ... I was fairly ambivalent about her before reading this book, but that's no longer a problem. I now know exactly how I feel about her. (And lest you think this is political, I'm a registered Democrat!)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    ok

    I bought this book because I am a 22 yr stage II breast cancer survivor, plus the same age as Elizabeth.

    It went into great detail about how she felt when she lost her son, Wade. I suppose like me, at the time she was dealing with other issues and she never thought she could not beat this disease. At times I think I have beaten the disease, but with every pain or health issue I think "is it back."

    I give it only a three star because it seemed more about her grief of Wade's death than anything else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    INSPIRATIONAL

    I have enjoyed reading Saving Graces and, no doubt, will enjoy reading it again. Since the recent death of my wife and soul mate, I have suffered so. I am grateful to share in the understanding that I am not alone. Spiritual healing is what I get from this book. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Fantabulous!

    This was an outstanding book. I hope for Elizabeth Edwards to tell her story helped her a bit. To lose a child has to be the worst thing in the world and then to have breast cancer (which has to be the second worse thing in the world), and to come out of it a wonderful person is totally awesome. Definitely a book to read for all. I couldn't put this down and read it it record time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    Insightful

    In 1979, my son died from cancer, and I still think about him everyday. It's just not an easy thing to accept, so I especially appreciated Elizabeth Edward's generosity in sharing her feeling about her son with me, the reader. A part of me will forever be sad by the loss of my son, but I am also spiritually renewed by this book. Additionally, it would be an understatement for me to tell you that the story of the lady and 'her found money' in the book is forever part of my heart memories. This book is truly ointment for the soul because it is a love story of a family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Poignant and eloquent

    I would vote for ELIZABETH Edwards any day. She has incredible insight and wisdom and wow can she write!! I felt empathy with her grief and admiration for her conduct during the campaign. I recommend this book to anyone as a reminder of how to approach life in general as well as how to deal with adversity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Amazing book by an Amazing woman

    This is an extremely touching memoir by a remarkable lady. I highly recommend it to anyone who has experienced loss or is going through a trying time in their own life. She writes eloquently of the things that can separate us and, more importantly, of the things that bring us together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Bless you, dear Elizabeth

    Sweet, insightful, wise...worthwhile reflections from a great lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Very Enlightening!

    This is a very poignant book written by a very remarkable woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Enjoyed

    Sad but all telling the strength that Elizabeth had was incredible! I was impressed by how much her family supported her. There is nothing like a close family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    Great Book By A Great Woman

    Elizabeth Edwards' book captures the remarkable story of a remarkable woman. her legacy will live on in her children. For any woman who has face the trials and tribulations of infidelity in her own life, I'd recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score..." an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. It is a must read for any woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    heartwarming

    It's a true from the heart read...Can't wait to finish and start Resilience !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    Amazing

    This book was an amazing glimpse into the grace that this family shows in the darkest moments. I am humbled and inspired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3