Customer Reviews for

Saving Graces

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

wonderful book on friendship

I read this book almost 3 years ago and to this day it still sticks in my mind. I am one who reads all types of books from the classics to historical fiction to mainstream lit. THe writing wasn't fancy but the story was extremely well told with real emotion. I wanted...
I read this book almost 3 years ago and to this day it still sticks in my mind. I am one who reads all types of books from the classics to historical fiction to mainstream lit. THe writing wasn't fancy but the story was extremely well told with real emotion. I wanted to be friends with these girls. I do not agree with the first reviewer when she says it is confusing. If you read the name at the top of the chapter, you know exactly who is taking in that chapter of the book- not too difficult at all. ALL girls should be lucky enough to have a group of friends like the characters in this book. HIghly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice themes

An overall enjoyable read, HOWEVER, it is peppered with totally unnecessary F-words that not only dumb down the writing, but also the characters. Surely a creative writer can come up with a better word to use. I got so tired of them that I put the book down for a long...
An overall enjoyable read, HOWEVER, it is peppered with totally unnecessary F-words that not only dumb down the writing, but also the characters. Surely a creative writer can come up with a better word to use. I got so tired of them that I put the book down for a long time before I picked it up again to finish, and even considered returning it. For this reason, this book will not be a part of my permanent library.

posted by kwrunner on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    wonderful book on friendship

    I read this book almost 3 years ago and to this day it still sticks in my mind. I am one who reads all types of books from the classics to historical fiction to mainstream lit. THe writing wasn't fancy but the story was extremely well told with real emotion. I wanted to be friends with these girls. I do not agree with the first reviewer when she says it is confusing. If you read the name at the top of the chapter, you know exactly who is taking in that chapter of the book- not too difficult at all. ALL girls should be lucky enough to have a group of friends like the characters in this book. HIghly recommended.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    LISTEN UP FOLKS!!!

    I've never written a review but feel compelled to let every woman know what a MUST READ this book is. I just happened across it and grabbed it to take on vacation. Lukily I was with a bunch of women that wouldn't allow me to sit in a chair and read while in Puerto Vallarta because that's exactly what I would have done. I could barely tear myself away. I cried so hard I couldn't read the words and a little while later I was laughing so hard the tears were streaming down my face. I was literally depressed when I was nearing the end. I wanted to still be a part of these womens lives that I had come to love. I've finished the book and I miss them terribly. Every woman should read this. I don't think a man would get it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Nice themes

    An overall enjoyable read, HOWEVER, it is peppered with totally unnecessary F-words that not only dumb down the writing, but also the characters. Surely a creative writer can come up with a better word to use. I got so tired of them that I put the book down for a long time before I picked it up again to finish, and even considered returning it. For this reason, this book will not be a part of my permanent library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    one of the best womens' fiction book

    I like primarily that this book is written very well. It has great passages that all women can relate to, from relationships with other women, with men and our relationships with our kids and parents. Its insightful, smart and real about how we all have ups and downs in life and it just makes you want to have a bonding sisterhood like this one where you can share all the bitter and sweet moments in your life like the saving graces do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    My mother-in-law gave this to me and at first glance, it appeared to be stereotypical chick lit. However, this is not the case. The book was not predictable and there were enough twists and turns to make it very interesting. Once I got into it, I did not want to put it down. The characters are believable. This book is abot 4 close friends and each chapter is told by a different character. You actually get wrapped up in each life. The character's lives are believable and so is the storyline. A great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Not a favorite

    I can't say I disliked this book, just found it boring. I thought the beginning chapters were introducing each character and giving a little bit of background for the story. I like to read a story all put together, not jusr chapters on characters. Got bored and quit reading at about page 83.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Highly recommended. You must check it out.

    I have read and read this book! It is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Poignant and touching

    I may have been more moved by this book than I normally would due to my own recent diagnosis of breast cancer, however, I wasn't able to put this book down. I chose this book based on other reviews, but not really knowing what the story line was. I was not sorry! I struggled a little getting into it at first because of there being four main characters telling the story from their own point of view. By the end, the author had done an amazing job of defining each woman as an individual within the group. I would strongly recommend this book - especially to those women who have had the blessing of a longterm friendship with another woman. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written

    You will fall in love with all 4 ladies. Each has an interesting story and point of view. Hard to put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    An interesting concept for plot.

    I enjoyed hearing about a woman's group that is there for each other in all times of life. I think a book club would enjoy the camaraderie of the group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    I loved this book. I could hardly put it down. Any woman with at least one great girlfriend will laugh, cry and relate to every aspect of this book. The author did an excellent job of capturing that perfect yet unexplainable relationship we have with our girlfriends they make us laugh harder than anyone we know, let us have a good cry when needed, and keep us level headed with an honesty only they cuold get away with, even when we are angry with them their friendships would not be traded for anything! I buying this book for my best friends!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Must Read!

    This has become one of my all time favorites. Well written and gets you so emotionally involved with the characters. You will laugh and you will cry and you will not want to put this book down. One that you just didn't want to end. Enjoy!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Just stick with it...it's worth it!

    For the most part, I have given up reading fiction, because so much of it is either unbearably predictable or poorly written. However, I was looking for something fun to read while on vacation and came across The Saving Graces. Although it took a while for me to relate to the characters once I did I was unable to put the book down. I believe that we can all relate, on some level, to at least one of these women. I also believe that we can all learn at least one lesson from them. Ms. Gaffney writes as if she's speaking to you and keeps things interesting by telling the story from each characters unique perspective. Definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    OUTSTANDING!

    My daughter, who is 16, Jade. She HATES books, with a passion she once told me. One day I was reading the Saving Graces and she wanted to read it too, all of the sudden I looked at my dresser to read more into the book and I could'nt find it. It was in the bare hands of my daughter Jade, she could not stop reading it. Somedays she would want me to bring her dinner to her room so she could read more. THANK YOU SAVING GRACES! for making it so intresting to all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    Not what I expected.

    I thought this was disappointing. The book didnt get good until the last 100 pages or so. It was dragging for a while there, and got confusing at times with all the switching around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Every Women Should Read

    This book made me feel like I knew the characters personally. I could relate to all the ups and downs the Graces experienced. It makes you realize how important the support of your friends is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    One for each girlfriend

    I was so engrossed in all of these characters. You feel as if they're YOUR girlfriends! If you have girlfriends, you need this book. I belong to a similar group...The Fab 5. I'm getting the other 4 girls the book and sending it to them today. They'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    Breathtaking!

    I am usually a fast reader who wants to get through a book so I know what happens at the end. With Saving Graces, I savored every word, every moment, everything. It is now one of my all time favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    * wow *

    this book was abolutely amazing, i read alot but i generally dont get caugth up in the sotries nearly as much as i did in this book. after i ahd finish i genuinly felt like i knew all of the characters.i read the last 300 pages in one sitting, i literally couldnt put it down, and the first thing i did after i finished was recommend the book to all of my girl-friends. p.s. someone should really make this into a movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2002

    Excellent book. A real tear jerker, though. Worth the time.

    It is a very quick read, and worth the time. I, also, think this should be made into a movie, however, i don't think it is nessisarily a feminine book. It could give a guy some serious insight into the personalities of women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3