Customer Reviews for

Saving Hope (Men of the Texas Rangers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 284 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

This will be a favorite in 2012 for me!

This wasn't the first novel I've read by Margaret, but it is the first I've read in several years. I'm so glad I read this book. I found myself riveted to the story line and the characters. The tension was perfectly executed, in my opinion, because I couldn't stand it u...
This wasn't the first novel I've read by Margaret, but it is the first I've read in several years. I'm so glad I read this book. I found myself riveted to the story line and the characters. The tension was perfectly executed, in my opinion, because I couldn't stand it until I got to the end. But more than that, the ride compelled me to think about motivations and schemes and who could be behind everything. The fact that evil was so close to a number of main characters had me practically biting my nails at times. The faith element was balanced and clearly present without being too heavy handed. The progression of their spiritual journeys seemed natural to the characters' lives.

I loved the romantic thread in the story and found it to be warm enough to be yummy for romance lovers without taking away from the tension of the suspense portion of the story. I loved the hero and how he finally opened his heart and had to face his fears. I even liked how the author made a few of the "bad guys" seem like regular people at times. She made them seem more human, while still being dark in their nefarious intentions. They still did wrong, but I loved that they weren't one-dimensional and flat.

The heroine's mission to save children pulled into sexual slavery by predators was admirable, as was the hero's desire to fight for the same cause. The author writing about some of the miserable situations the girls living at Beacon of Hope suffered prior to their rescue in the story made me realize how more people need to step up and help rescue these children. I commend Margaret for opening my eyes to this scourge on society and writing about it.

posted by MichelleSutton on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

O

When netgalley gives you ppl this book for free for your honest and unbiased opinion, i really dont think they expect you to give away the entire book. When you do that you turn away other readers from buying the book. A review is simply to tell if you liked the book or...
When netgalley gives you ppl this book for free for your honest and unbiased opinion, i really dont think they expect you to give away the entire book. When you do that you turn away other readers from buying the book. A review is simply to tell if you liked the book or not, not to tell every single thing that happens. That is a dissertation, a book report. Pkease take it to a blog site if you want to dissect the book. Stop ruining the book for other readers here. It is rude and very inconsiderate. Now you have ruined for those of us who would have liked to have read it for ourselves, but why read it? You told us everything that happens.

posted by 8888649 on May 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This will be a favorite in 2012 for me!

    This wasn't the first novel I've read by Margaret, but it is the first I've read in several years. I'm so glad I read this book. I found myself riveted to the story line and the characters. The tension was perfectly executed, in my opinion, because I couldn't stand it until I got to the end. But more than that, the ride compelled me to think about motivations and schemes and who could be behind everything. The fact that evil was so close to a number of main characters had me practically biting my nails at times. The faith element was balanced and clearly present without being too heavy handed. The progression of their spiritual journeys seemed natural to the characters' lives.

    I loved the romantic thread in the story and found it to be warm enough to be yummy for romance lovers without taking away from the tension of the suspense portion of the story. I loved the hero and how he finally opened his heart and had to face his fears. I even liked how the author made a few of the "bad guys" seem like regular people at times. She made them seem more human, while still being dark in their nefarious intentions. They still did wrong, but I loved that they weren't one-dimensional and flat.

    The heroine's mission to save children pulled into sexual slavery by predators was admirable, as was the hero's desire to fight for the same cause. The author writing about some of the miserable situations the girls living at Beacon of Hope suffered prior to their rescue in the story made me realize how more people need to step up and help rescue these children. I commend Margaret for opening my eyes to this scourge on society and writing about it.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Another great read from Margaret Daley

    When a teenager goes missing from the Beacon of Hope School, Texas Ranger Wyatt Sheridan and school director Kate Winslow are forced into a dangerous struggle against a human trafficking organization. But the battle brings dire consequences as Wyatt's daughter is terrorized and Kate is kidnapped.
    Now it's personal, and Wyatt finds both his faith and investigative skills challenged as he fights to discover the mastermind behind the ring before evil destroys everyone he loves.


    ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

    Margaret Daley has written another thought-provoking book! She has given such depth to the characters that they become the reader's friends, too. I not only 'prayed-on' the teenage girls and their recovery, but also Kate's relationship with her parents. She has written a book that introduces the reader to the forced adolescent/teen girl prostitution rings, and also the difficulty for them to break free from this dire situation.

    Her sensitivity to the problem of human trafficking here in America makes this a great way to open dialogue with your own teenage daughter. Read it first, and if you feel it is appropriate for your daughter, let her read it... then TALK about it and what if means to you and her!

    I look forward to reading Margaret Daley's Men of the Texas Rangers series!

    I received a complimentary copy of Saving Hope from Abingdon Press from NetGalley for my honest review.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is my first book by Margaret Daley, I've seen her other boo

    This is my first book by Margaret Daley, I've seen her other books that she has published through the "Love Inspired" series, but none of those really caught my eye. This book, however, screamed at me,
    "Rick, you have to read this book, it's about the MEN of the Texas Rangers!" Now, as you know, I'm doing these reviews from a "man's perspective" and that works out well, because I'm a man. And what better kind of book for a man to review than a book about the tough Texas Rangers!


    Texas Ranger Wyatt Sheridan has settled into a good life in Texas. It's been 8 years since his wife was killed, so he shares the ranch with his mother and his teenage daughter, Maddie. Wyatt has a decent relationship with Maddie, they both love to ride their horses, but lately a wall has started building between them. His mother, on the other hand, is finished off with husband #3 and watching out for #4. It seems there are times when she's more of a hand ful then Maddie. Kate Winslow is the director of the Beacon of Hope School that assists teenage girls through court appointed intervention. She comes from the Winslow family of old money, but only the kind that donates, not the kind that actually gets in the trenches and makes a difference. This causes alot of friction between her and her mother as Kate wants to help these lost girls personally, not from a distance. First a van is stolen at the school and a girl goes missing, then another is killed after she left the school with her suspected pimp. Now, Kate's funding has been pulled from the Winslow Foundation. Will she have to close the school and turn the girls out? Can Wyatt help find the missing girl, is she even still alive? You know the rest, you'll have to read the book to find out :)

    This was a tough sell for me. I've grown up with blinders on and find it uncomfortable to think that we live in society that could and would treat children, treat other humans, as these sex traffickers do. This story, though, paints a picture of what is happening daily around the world, and right here in the United States. The author has a page on her website specifically devoted to why she decided to write about this subject, check it out: Why I Wrote Saving Hope. The characters in this book, specifically the girls from Beacon of Hope all called out to me in desparation. These are teens who want a different life, who are searching for the missing piece. Margaret does a good job of displaying the faith of Kate, I truly wish she had done more to showcase it in dealing with the girls of Beacon of Hope. Their "missing" piece is a relationship with Him and He is the only one that can fill that void.

    So is this a "man's book"? Most definitely yes. There is plenty of suspense, intrique and danger through out this book. The plot is very well defined and I'm sure that we can all see ourselves in the character of Wyatt.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1

    Saving Hope by Margaret Daley Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 Kate Winslow ran a home for girls who were taken out of prostitution, Beacon of Hope. She failed a friend once when she could not help her but she would give her all for these girls. When they find one of their vans and girls missing it starts a chain of events that eventually brings Wyatt Sheridan into Kate's life. Kate will stop at nothing to find Rose, a fifteen year old who truly wanted a new life and put anyone who needed help before herself. Which is most likely the reason she is now missing. Wyatt was working on a team to break up a child prostitution ring. Things seem to fit together when something his team finds fits with a missing girl from Beacon of Hope. What Wyatt did not expect was to feel anything for a woman, after his wife's murder he didn't believe he'd ever love again but something about Kate tugged on the armor around him. Wyatt also has to deal with his fourteen year old daughter who wants to test her wings in a world that Wyatt knows is full of danger. There are so many different things that happen in this book. Even though it's fiction it gives you a look into a world that is not fiction—child prostitution-- either runaways or others who are lured into it. A look into the life a lawmen and that things don't just fall together for them, especially when people fear for their lives. And how easily a charmer can fool a girl or woman by sweet talking and compliments. I personally enjoyed this book and will look forward to reading this series. **Book received through Netgalley for review.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great read about an important topic

    I loved reading this book. There were some very important topics covered. I will make sure my preteen daughter reads it. I also like the discussion questions at the end. Even if you only think about the questions yourself, this was an elightening book. The characters were well developed and the story was believable. Prayer is used in the story along with faith and forgiveness. Repentance and the Holy Ghost are not mentioned specifically but are eluded to especially regarding inspiration received by characters and even feelings of warning and hearing the still small voice. I would consider this an uplifting book even though it was suspenseful and about some of the most awful things some humans choose to do with their free agency.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is heart wrenching! It pulls you into the story with t

    This book is heart wrenching! It pulls you into the story with the page. It is extrememly well written with great characters and a well developed plot. I didn't get bored or feel like parts of the story were interfering with other parts. It was an excellent mix of suspense, romance, and hope. The Christian message is not shoved in your face like some books do, but it is strong enough to get the point. With God, nothing is impossible. In God, there is hope. I cannot wait to read the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Opens your eyes

    I heard about human trafficking in church not to long ago, and now reading about it again, even in fiction, I hope it helps others to look a little more closely at what is going on around them and pay attention. I was definitely on the edge of my seat through the whole book. Great read of a tough subject. I applaud Margaret Daley for putting it out there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Human Trafficking Story of Hope

    Raised with everything she wanted, Kate turns away from this life to help girls who are able to escape the awful world of human trafficking. It amazed me how easily girls are entrapped by men they thought they could trust. Kate established the "Beacon of Hope" home to help these girls overcome the circumstances they were able to escape. When Rose, one of the girls, is kidnapped, Kate does not give up on her. She even puts herself in danger to come to this girl's rescue, much to the dismay of her parents.


    This story provides a enough about the gruesome details of forced prostitution without being too descriptive. It is appropriate enough for young teenage girls to read. In fact, I highly recommend young girls read this book so they could realize how easily these men enter their lives only to take advantage of their trust. Once the trust is earned, these men can easily isolate these trusting girls from family and friends. Then, the worst happens as these trusting and innocent girls are kidnapped, transported to another area, and sold into prostitution.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Good, clean read

    I enjoyed this book. It has action, good clean romance, and kept me entertained. It explored a darker side of society and a lawman trying to change things. A woman trying to help the innocent lives tangled in greed and sin. Very good read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Anomonyoms

    This book was an amazing book it had a lot of betail and was very entertaning it was a real page turner. There was a lot of action in this dook and got better every time you turned the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Enjoyed it very much....

    I just finished reading this in one sitting and loved this book. It had characters that felt authentic and the topic was such that I felt was very important to opening the eyes of the general public. Overall, as my first book by this author, I was very pleased and will keep an eye out for others as I loved it.

    ***On another note, please keep your reviews to your opinions and not the plot spoilers many are doing! Thanks so much! ***

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story! The story is intriguing fast paced and well writt

    Great Story!

    The story is intriguing fast paced and well written. It is filled with suspense and just a little splash of romance. The story brings to light the problem of teenage prostitution and human trafficking that happens in our world. Great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Enlighteninig

    What a great book opening up about a dark issue in the world and especially in the USA

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    SMB : > EXCELENT!!!MUST READ!!!

    WHAT A GREAT BOOK! COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. CHARACTERS WERE WELL DEVELOPED. HIGH SUSPENCE, AND INTRIGUE. ROMANCE WITHOUT THE SMUT. NICE TO READ A BOOK THIS GOOD THAT IS CLEAN. ALTHOUGH, GOD AND PRAYER ARE MENTIONED IT DOESN'T COME OFF AS PREACHY.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    What!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    WOW i never thought i could buy a free CHRISTIAN book its crazy OM GOSH i am sooooooo happy right now.
    The W.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Great book

    Liked the book, looking forward to reading the next in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    best book ive read Could not put it down

    Kept me at suspence to the last page everyobe should read this in especially in the days we are in our children need protection



    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Great read!

    Loved the character development and the way I couldn't put the book down. Human trafficking is very real and something we must be on alert for. Great job, Daley! Can't wait for Shattered Silence!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Kate runs Beacon of Hope School for girls who have been prostitutes. Her mom is not happy about it and when things start to go wrong at the school her mom who controls the funding for the school pulls it. Kate as to deal with the disappearance of one of the girls the death of another and the attempted suicide of a 3rd. The disappearance of the one girl ends up getting the Texas Rangers involved and soon Wyatt finds himself becoming found of Kate. He is also dealing with being a single parent to his 14 year old daughter. Will Kate and Wyatt find the leaders of the prostitution ring and save the girl as well as find love together? Read this great suspense romance to find out.

    What I liked: I really enjoyed this book. Even though the subject and story line was in-depth it was very well written. I really liked Kate and felt bad that her mom did not see what a great thing her daughter was doing. Wyatt came across as a man still dealing with his wife's murder and also struggling to raise his 14 year old daughter. The characters where very real and likeable. The storyline kept me interested and turning pages as fast as I could.

    What I did not like: There was not much I did not like. The subject of prostitution was kind of deep but the book was so well written and it was very eye opening to what it could be like.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Its good &starf

    Must read book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6