Customer Reviews for

Saving Margaret (Vegas Mates Series) (#2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Very enjoyable read. I loved the characters and Sam and Margare

    Very enjoyable read. I loved the characters and Sam and Margaret were absolutely fantastic. I like the mixed shifter mate deal. The story was full of romance, suspense and sadness but all came together in the end to give you hope for the next book. I really enjoy this series and definitely look forward to the next book. Highly recommend if you enjoy paranormal and shifter romances.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I really enjoyed Saving Margaret.  The idea of a bear and a wolf

    I really enjoyed Saving Margaret.  The idea of a bear and a wolf mating??? Wow..did not see that coming, but Scott is adorable and Maggie is funny and cute.  I love how their differences are played up, pack versus nonpack shifters.  You can really sink your teeth into this story.  It is truly about family and the bonds that they have.  Everyone needs an Aunt Breena !! You have to read it to know what I mean...and you will want one too....Reading this book, I kept thinking..ooh, hope they get a book soon.  I mean you just want to know more about the characters.  If you like shifter books, romance with action...you will love this book.  Sad part....the next one is not out yet :(   But I am sure it will be worth the wait !! :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'll be the first to admit that I was a little leery of reading

    I'll be the first to admit that I was a little leery of reading this one after having read and been so disappointed with the heroine in book 1, Chasing Sam. But I am so glad I set that aside and read this anyway. Although there are minor appearances of characters form book 1, Saving Margaret is a book onto itself. I wouldn't even have known it was the second in a series. 




    Margaret exudes everything that it means to be an Alpha's only child. She is strong and independent, yet maintains a soft quality that makes it so obvious why Scott is enamored from the moment he lays eyes on her. Scott is the very definition of a big teddy bear, no pun intended. This bear shifter is both tender and fierce when the occasion calls for it. Their courting had me both sighing and laughing. 




    With a unique world building ability, Ms. Shannan made Vegas shifter politics and a shifter world heartpoundingly real. You know you've got a great story when you find yourself still up at 2am trying to convince yourself, unsuccessfully I may add, that you're really only just going to finish this one chapter then you'll go to bed. Did I mention I was unsuccessful at convincing myself? 




    Saving Margaret has definitely redeemed the Vegas Mates series for me and I can't wait to see what happens next. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    A lot of novellas are lacking something because of length, but t

    A lot of novellas are lacking something because of length, but this is not one of them. In the shifter world, Margaret and Scott find out they are true mates even though they are different species. Also there is war brewing between the old royal line versus North American shifters. This story continues a thread from the first story Chasing Sam and makes for exciting reading. The book is fun and sexy between the H/h with him being a loner type and she from a large extended pack. But there is also a darker, exciting story as the American shifters find themselves in danger. This is a great read and I want to read the next story...now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Great Paranormal Read!!!!! This is the second book in the Vegas

    Great Paranormal Read!!!!! This is the second book in the Vegas Mates series and in my opinion the best so far!! I fell in love with the hot, sexy, alpha Scott and the beautiful, strong, funny Margaret and I am trying to wait patiently for the next book. If you are looking for a great paranormal series full of suspense, drama, humor and hot sexy alpha males this is definitely the series for you. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. Well done Mrs. Shannan. I look forward to reading more of your work in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    Super hot & action packed!!!!I received this book in exchang

    Super hot & action packed!!!!I received this book in exchange for an honest review. Since I read Chasing Sam (book #1 in the series) I was more than happy to except this book. I was looking forward to Saving Margaret and I was not disappointed. The Vegas Mates series has become one of my favorite series. Krystal Shannan's descriptive writing and amazing story line make you feel like you are in the book. And let's talk about the hot love scenes. SUPER HOT!!!!
    Scott is a hot bear-shifter who falls in love with Margaret who is a wolf-shifter. Though their species are not supposed to co-mingle, their bodies are pulled together by a force neither can control. They are mates and no matter how much Margaret tries to avoid it, her wolf needs Scott. Scott is the ultimate alpha male. Tall, strong, gorgeous, and protective of his mate. And let's not forget sex personified. On their journey together they will suffer pain and find love they never knew existed. And will join forces in a battle that could bring down their species existence.
    In this second installment the story continues right from the end of book one and will leave you begging for more after you finish. I am looking forward to book three and anything else Krystal has to offer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The second book in the Vegas Mates series is an intriguing and e

    The second book in the Vegas Mates series is an intriguing and entertaining read that will have the reader craving more.
    The instant attraction of the hero and heroine, Scott and Margaret, is super hot and only gets hotter throughout the story.  While Margaret has a few misgivings about this mating, Scott has none whatsoever and he’s ready to move forward.  The sex between the two is so hot it explodes off the pages burning the reader up.
    The story takes up where the first book left off and while the author gives the reader enough information to catch up, you don’t want to miss the first one.  The Vegas shifters have a very powerful enemy, one that will not hesitate to destroy them if they don’t fall in line.  The action leaps off the pages and grabs the reader’s attention as Scott tries to protect Margaret from the Council.
    The suspense builds throughout the story as the Vegas shifters prepare for war and on top of that they have another enemy that wants to destroy them all.
    The author has created a supernatural world that is very engaging with suspense, action, romance, hot and steamy sex, and bewitching characters that the draw the reader in and keep their complete attention until the very end.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I am looking forward to reading future books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    Enjoyed!

    This is a good story. A real page turner! I couldn't put it down till I finished it. Book two is more intense than book one and I suspect book three will continue the same way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Margaret Taylor, a wolf shifter, is a VIP Hostess Manager at the

    Margaret Taylor, a wolf shifter, is a VIP Hostess Manager at the Mirage Casino & Hotel. She meets Scott O'Hearn, a bear shifter and ex Army friend of Chase Michaels (from Book 1 Chasing Sam) at Chase and Samantha's wedding reception. The moment they see each other, they recognize that they are each others mates. There's trouble brewing because Samantha's pack and others are defecting from the Council which is forbidden. The Council sends agents after the defectors to teach them a lesson and bring the packs under their control again. Margaret is kidnapped and her pack is furious.

    You'll have to read the story for yourself to find out what the outcome is. There is lots of steamy sex, action, mayhem and a whole array of unique supernatural characters. I love the interactions between them all. The book grabs you right in from the beginning to the end. I so highly recommend this book and it's a terrific continuation of Book 1 - Chasing Sam. This one explains things from the first book but you can read this alone.
    (BO)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Saving Margaret by Krystal Shannan really took me by surprise.  

    Saving Margaret by Krystal Shannan really took me by surprise.  This is the second book in the Vegas Mates Series, but it shakes everything up.  It is full of love, joy, and immeasurable tragedy. It definitely sets the stage for some very interesting possibilities.  I very much enjoyed this segment and am looking forward to what will come next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Lightwing bio

    Name lightwing moons 15 looks sliver coat hazle eyes grey paws and ears hes funny caring loving and honst

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Second book in the Vegas Mates series. Couldn't wait to read it.

    Second book in the Vegas Mates series. Couldn't wait to read it. Krystal does an excellent job drawing you into the story!  Can't wait to read her next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed Margaret and her responses to finding out that Scott,

    I enjoyed Margaret and her responses to finding out that Scott, a grizzly bear shifter is her mate. The moments between these two were hilarious at times.




    The continued sub plot from the first book gave this book a bit of continuity in the series. For that reason I would recommend reading the first book first. The first book is just as good and I definitely love everything there is about the Vegas Mates series.




    Ms. Shannan writes a story that is hot, sexy and funny and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Love It!

    I love this series. I have already started reading Vegas mates # 3, and I cannot put it down!
    The author does a great job drawing you into the world she's made and keeping you there (and on the edge of your seat).
    Anyone who loves a great story and is into shape shifters this is the series, AND author for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    BEARS!!!! I adore Bear shifters and Krystal Shannan doesn't let

    BEARS!!!! I adore Bear shifters and Krystal Shannan doesn't let me down with this heartwarming entertaining novel!

    This was absolutely perfect. The characters are perfect. The story line is perfect. No whiny female getting on my nerves to the point where I wanted to stop reading midway through. All of the characters, whether they are main or secondary, are strong. There's the bad guy who was perfect. I didn't get bogged down with a bunch of b.s. page filling details that were not necessary to the story. Everything played out exactly as it should.

    All in all, this is a fun, sassy story about two people falling in love, neither of whom think they deserve it. They make new friends, establish a home for themselves, and live seriously happily ever after- was there any doubt they wouldn't? I seriously cannot say enough good things about this book. Buy it, people, seriously!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Saving Margaret is the second book in the Vegas Mates Series and

    Saving Margaret is the second book in the Vegas Mates Series and it fills in a lot of the questions you have about Sam's Mother at the end of Chasing Sam.
    This book as a lot going for it and you need to read Chasing Sam so you are on par with is going on.
    I really like Margaret and Scott as a couple , there is a lot going on but it keeps you reading.
     Love the part where Scott kinda loses it due to being surrounded by wolves and just wants to be with Margaret. 
    I like that Krystal has expanded the characters, the action, and the drama.
    There is some bad things that happen due to Renata's wolf going crazy.
     I am not going to spoil anything but I like where this series is going and can't wait to read more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    OMG I LOVE Scott!!!!

    OMG I LOVE Scott!!!! I Absolutely LOVED this book. As of right now this one is by far my favorite! I just adore Margaret and Scott. I want a Scott for myself! The books just seem to get better and better as they go. There was by far more sexual awareness and activities in this book. Which I LOVE! It definitely has the danger aspect down which always makes a book so much better. There is also an unexpected surprise character thrown in. This book or rather this series is definitely a MUST read.

    Margaret had been hoping that Chris was her mate. Once she turned 25 she realized that he was not. So she is quite bummed at Sam and Chase's wedding. So imagine her surprise when she is introduced to a big bear of a man. Literally. Just to discover that he is in fact, her mate. She wants to fight it. I mean he's a Bear! But you can't fight your soul mate. Not without consequences.

    Sam's mom Renata has gone crazy! She's no longer in control. Her angry murderous wolf is and the wolf has some huge plans. The council is out to get the Alpha's of the Vegas pack. How better to get to the Alpha's and Beta's then to go through their children. Maggie realizes she has a stalker. Someone was in her window watching her sleep. The first person she wants there with her is Scott. Weird since she wants to fight the mating bond. But she knows she will only feel safe with him there.

    They have a lot to work through to be together because they both want different things. Then what do you know. Margaret gets kidnapped. Now it's a race against time to find her before it's too late. Scott and the whole Vegas pack will have to work together to try and find her.

    This book is excellent. So many twists and turns. There is definitely so much more going on than I am willing to say. I will definitely be reading this book again and I can't wait for more in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Review: I want to start off by saying I love these characters. T

    Review: I want to start off by saying I love these characters. They world with the story very well and I so fell in love with Scott! He reminds me of a friend of mine that is as big as a house but such a lovable teddy bear that would protect you from any problem or nightmare.
    I was immersed in the story and it made it hard for me to put it down. I was on the edge of my seat through the whole story. I wanted to know what would happen next. The dialogue was at the correct amount and it kept the story line moving throughout the book. The scenes felt real and they fit with the story line. 
    There was some unpredictability that worked well with the story line. I liked the ending so well that I cannot wait until the next book.
    My favorite Quote: “His clean piney scent was soothing. She worried it would take years to forget the smell of Alex and the other agent who'd stolen and tortured her, but if she could wake up every morning surround by Scott…she would be just fine.”
    I was given a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1