Customer Reviews for

Saving Mars

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    T What a well thought out, descriptive story of how life on Mars

    T
    What a well thought out, descriptive story of how life on Mars could be. You can almost see yourself looking out over the "Marsian" landscape ( as they like to call it). I liked the way you were drawn into the workings of society and the hardships endured over centuries. You know you've been hooked when you start wondering how they cope with other day to day issues of life on a waterless planet...like washing. LOL!

    I particularly liked the character of Ethan...Jessamyn's brother. He's a genius with a very black and white way of seeing things...not a lot of social skills. It makes for really interesting reading to see how he handles different situations.

    As for future Earth... or Terran...some of the concepts explored are fascinating. I've never read anything like the whole "re -body" experience. For anyone who loves a good sci-fi read this has got the lot. Inter-planetary relations, space travel, adventure, strong interesting characters, romance, and futuristic worlds that are both familiar and alien at the same time.

    I can't wait for the next installment!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    I really love this book! (I may just really love the gift of liv

    I really love this book! (I may just really love the gift of living in C.Swanson's imagination) It's set on Mars (and Earth) in the future. How cool is that? It has a flawed heroine, who loves flawed people. Space travel is incredibly exotic and exciting to think about, and this does not disappoint. I love thinking about what things would be like on Mars and our fair author has examined it from all angles. Even to the degree of allowing for spacesuits, and a rip in a spacesuit...the lack of...hydration, edible food, etc. It is an enthralling book. I could not put it down.




    I would recommend this book to my best friend, neighbor, and anyone I bump into in the course of a day. (and I HAVE recommended it to all of those people)
    Comment Comment | Permalink

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Jessamyn Jaarda biggest concern in Chapter one is her brother, E

    Jessamyn Jaarda biggest concern in Chapter one is her brother, Ethan, and getting a piece of ice. She disobeys orders and is disciplined when the food supply is destroyed. Honestly it’s good if you ignore the fact the military would never take a rule breaker into their system as rule breakers get people killed. This isn’t in most novels or movies that rogues are bad officers, so I’ll leave that alone. She gets to go on the mission to save Mars, and her brother, Ethan, is recruited too. Jess is set up  to rescue her brother and her shipmates. She doesn’t trust everyone, and she’s stuck deciding the fates of her family and the planet.




    I don’t read YA, though my writers friends love the genre. I said yes because it was science fiction and to check out the genre more. I had issues believing the fate of the world in a girl’s hands with no experience. I’m not a fan and have massive issues of disbelief, but this isn’t my genre. What I do know and enjoy is science fiction. To me the author is imaginative and did her research. I never questioned the science, well okay the rebodying thing was interesting, but I’m in. I wasn’t lost. So for sci fi aspect, it’s readable. Just my opinion though, and I’m not in the demographic who reads YA.  I’f give 4 out of 5 stars. Science Fiction saved the read for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Excellent

    Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Saving Mars - Highly recommended - you should check it out!

    Ok, this is one great book, the plot is well developed and has lots of twists and turns. I loved each of the characters, Jess and Eth are so in tune with each other. With the addition of Paval it makes it complete. I liked his way of falling in love with Jess, it happened when he wasn't looking! So cute. Now Jess has a big job in front of her. Guess I'll be heading for book two, hope to see you there. Recommend this series it's a good one so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Recommended for anyone who likes SF or YA.

    Believable and likeable characters, vividly imagined future worlds. A colony on Mars, believed by the citizens of a totalitarian Earth to have died out generations ago, sends a "raiding party" to trade for badly needed supplies. Of course, everything that can go wrong does... the first of four books (just finished reading the fourth book, "Mars Burning" this weekend) with more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Great read.

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Engaging and interesting Scifi

    I enjoyed this novel enough that I purchased all of the rest of the series as soon as I finised this one. The characters were fleshed out enough that I cared what happenechd to them and the story never got boring nor did I have to force myself to keep reading past any point to "get on with it." I finished it a while back and I've read about 5 books since then, so I don't remember any of the character's names, but I remember the story quite well and will probably read the second in the series next. For people who like space scifi and dystopian themes, I recommend this highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Cute

    I liked it at first but I lost interest.

    I would recommend it for YA readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    How to best to describe our heroine Jessamyn?  Picture a younger

    How to best to describe our heroine Jessamyn?  Picture a younger Han Solo at the flight academy doing what he thinks is right when flying his ship, a little difficult with authority but a great pilot doing what needs to be done (and getting in trouble for it too) and that's probably a pretty good description of Jess's character (less fights and shooting though).

    It's a little ways in the future, Mars isn't in contact with Earth any more, but they still need to get some supplies.  Two different societies and Jess is right in the middle of it all trying to save Mars.  

    Earth society has changed (and not for the better) and our main villain is Chancellor Lucca and she puts Cruella DeVille (from 101 Dalmations) to shame!   The Chancellor is also Pavel's (Jessamyn's love interest) aunt so it makes everything a little more complicated....

    Mars society is very rough (think back the to people migrating to the west in the USA in the 1700/1800s) and people/society are amazing, it's very interesting culturally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Cidney Swanson's world of Mars is a feast for the science-fictio

    Cidney Swanson's world of Mars is a feast for the science-fiction senses.  

    Flawless world-building, memorable characters, and heart-stopping action sequences abound in this wonderful story.  Recommended for any reader who likes strong girl characters, and anyone who has ever dreamed of space or space travel.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1