BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Saving Nathaniel

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Recommended story worth checking out!

This book was a surprisingly engaging read! VERY well written and had believable and very well developed characters! It was intimidating in length... at first! I didn't want it to end and I am itching for a sequel to this new found read!I will be curious to investigate ...
This book was a surprisingly engaging read! VERY well written and had believable and very well developed characters! It was intimidating in length... at first! I didn't want it to end and I am itching for a sequel to this new found read!I will be curious to investigate OTHER titles that this author may have! This is a basic romance - that takes place in England and one can actually imagine the scenes, the accents and smell the air that is described! A lot of discussion could be had regarding the dealings of a spouse's death and alcoholism. The fact that the main characters were NOT youthful "Barbie and KEN" was also refreshing! THANK YOU!

posted by meganna_Larsson on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

848 pages

Very well written but boring as all get out. I slogged through to the end hoping beyond hope it would get better. Reading the reviews I thought it was a great read. I found it wasn't. For a freebee and if you have nothing else to read then I say give a go.

posted by Ceithlenn on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    A book to treasure

    Author Jillian Brookes-Ward takes you on a journey in this book. A journey that enriches the spirit and revives romance beyond furtive teenage gropings; and touches honestly and tenderly on the love between two adults each seeking their own truths and carrying their own baggage.

    The author doesn't hide behind cliche's, the dialogue is fast paced, and utterly believable, the characterizations are rich and warm. I want these two characters to be happy. The author invites you to care about them and the outcome of their growing love for one another. This one is a keeper folks, and I will return to it again and again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    Romance as it should be

    This story delives into the often misunderstood depths of unresolved grief and its lasting effects and we see how just one person who understands can make all the difference. There are ups and downs along the way but you can actually feel the two characters falling in love with each turn of the page. Ending is a bit rushed and probably a bit cliched, but hey, there's nothing wrong with that. Beautiful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Loved it.

    It's long, that's for certain, but for 99c it's worth every penny...and more. Great characters and great romantic interaction - once the proverbial penny dropped. Beautifully written, delightful dialog, moments of humour - and tears. Wonderful. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Great Read

    It great to read about older adults falling in love and enjoying theirselves,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    WOW!

    When I saw how many pages long this was, I almost didn't read it. So glad I did - read it in one day! Really liked that most of the book was dialogue, not boring descriptions of the scenery! Thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Such a refreshing and wonderful read. Tim Roux has a way of taking a very simple story and holding you captive with many questions and eager to turn the page. A true delight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    could not put it down

    I enjoyed from the first page. The ending was a bit predictable, but the journey was so wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Absolutely delightful.

    This is a warm romance centered around hope and compassion. I was surprised at the age of the main characters. Not many books cater for the more mature. Yes there are graphic scenes and swearing, but such is life. That is what makes this such a touching, real life story with wonderfully true to life characters. Times of drama are carefully balanced with times of humor. A little over dramatic in places possibly, but again, it is what makes it so natural. I enjoyed the story enormously and therefore rank it as highly recommended. It will leave you warm inside.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    A real rollercoaster

    First off, great cover. Second, what a topsy turvy ride these folks went on. Two people from opposite ends of the social spectrum, one obviously damaged, the other with a few bags of her own. The will they/won't they thrust and parry of their relationship is certainly a rollercoaster, until... The intimate scenes are very tastefully done and one particular chapter had me holding my breath. I won't give away the ending except to say, thank God for that. Phew. Verdict - You get a lot of pages for your money, a real bargain and for that alone, I loved it. The story itself, wonderful. Touching, beautifully written with just the right balance of pathos and humor. More please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2