Customer Reviews for

Saving Sailor: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great summer read - Like taking a step back in time!

I really enjoyed the story of A.J. and her summer on the island State Park. The Author Renne Riva perfectly captured both her sense of wonder as well as intense feelings about life in general. A world where right is right and wrong is just plain old wrong. The Title S...
I really enjoyed the story of A.J. and her summer on the island State Park. The Author Renne Riva perfectly captured both her sense of wonder as well as intense feelings about life in general. A world where right is right and wrong is just plain old wrong. The Title Saving Sailor is a wonderful title as it shows how a single act of compassion can affect everyone around you as well as your attitude toward everything,not always in a positive way. Her relationships with parents, siblings, friends and pets has been carefully brought out through the eyes of a 10 year old. The large Italian, Roman Catholic family reminds me of life when I was a child. We were not Italian, but the Catholic teaching was ever present in our lives as well. A.J.'s pets, and all animals in general were so important to her. All of God's creatures both big and small meant the world to A.J. She felt as though she were under the watchful eyes of God while she was here on earth. Here to protect and value all living things. The star watching nights on her beach were so precious to her, and while reading this story I remembered my own star watching nights while camping all those years ago. Ms. Riva wrote a very valuable story about life, love and family. It was as though the Author Renee Riva, had a video of my life as a child, and brought forth many of the intimate feelings and memories of my youth. Some things I did not even remember until the Author told of them and then POW, That's right, I remembered that, or I did that too! I hope you all read this story and remember what it was like to be 10 again.

posted by JEX on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is character driven, not plot driven...

I'm generally a plot reader and while the storyline is good - there is no plot.

I really enjoyed A.J.'s thoughts on God. He's a huge part of her life and makes it clear to everyone where they stand. She's also very honest - wondering, like a 10 year old does - what ...
I'm generally a plot reader and while the storyline is good - there is no plot.

I really enjoyed A.J.'s thoughts on God. He's a huge part of her life and makes it clear to everyone where they stand. She's also very honest - wondering, like a 10 year old does - what exactly she is to repent for and when it's not really a sin.

posted by GHott on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great summer read - Like taking a step back in time!

    I really enjoyed the story of A.J. and her summer on the island State Park. The Author Renne Riva perfectly captured both her sense of wonder as well as intense feelings about life in general. A world where right is right and wrong is just plain old wrong. The Title Saving Sailor is a wonderful title as it shows how a single act of compassion can affect everyone around you as well as your attitude toward everything,not always in a positive way. Her relationships with parents, siblings, friends and pets has been carefully brought out through the eyes of a 10 year old. The large Italian, Roman Catholic family reminds me of life when I was a child. We were not Italian, but the Catholic teaching was ever present in our lives as well. A.J.'s pets, and all animals in general were so important to her. All of God's creatures both big and small meant the world to A.J. She felt as though she were under the watchful eyes of God while she was here on earth. Here to protect and value all living things. The star watching nights on her beach were so precious to her, and while reading this story I remembered my own star watching nights while camping all those years ago. Ms. Riva wrote a very valuable story about life, love and family. It was as though the Author Renee Riva, had a video of my life as a child, and brought forth many of the intimate feelings and memories of my youth. Some things I did not even remember until the Author told of them and then POW, That's right, I remembered that, or I did that too! I hope you all read this story and remember what it was like to be 10 again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    Great easy read!

    Saving Sailor was an entertaining story with christian values and characters. The story was entertaining and easy to read. It was a short read that would be good for kids from 5th grade up. There were some characters struggling with their choices in life that keeps me from reccommending this for younger children. I very much enjoyed the read and hope you will too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Lighthearted, yet a point to the story

    I really enjoyed this story--I am an avid animal lover so of course I was drawn in by the cover--I am glad I was. The story is a good one and it is an easy read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great Read!!!!

    This was a fun read and I admit, I laughed out loud at times.
    This is a "Young Adult" book that even adult adults will enjoy. I love to read books that are page turners and you stay up until 3a finishing them.
    This is not that book, instead, It is an easy read, easy to put down and easy to pick back up, which for its own purpose and own time is also fun to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    good book, free, give it a shot

    I don't usually read stuff like this. My time being limited I usually go for scifi or fantasy. Wow what a good book. I laughed, I cried, I remembered. It was a heck of a trip down memory lane. The funny parts were so funny I laughed out loud, people looking at me sideways wondering what was I reading.(had my nook in a waiting room) The sad parts were so emotional I cried. (thank goodness I was alone then) It really brought back childhood memories of my own. Boy I wish I could write like this. It was a good story and it was a free one too. Hope you get as much out of it as i did. Well enough heart warming stuff, back to scifi/fantasy for a while.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    Loved this book

    I received this book as a free download on my nook. This book has a little of everything: sibling squabbles, family traditions, honesty, love, humor, religion & guilt, turmoil and forgiveness. I really identified with the characters in this book. It was an easy, entertaining read -- a great book to take on vacation. It is good for tweens, teens and adults. I am itching to read the next two in the series. Thank you B&N for introducing me to a new author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Let me start off by saying I'm a die hard mystery fan. I chose to read this book because it was free through ebooks and I thought a little light reading would be nice for a change.

    I thought this book was great! I loved the characters, they were laugh out loud funny. It was a very refreshing read of a time that was so carefree. The story brought back memories of my lazy summers camping and boating on the lake.

    I highly recommend this book and I will be reading the sequels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Very Impressed

    I just bought my nook and downloaded to check it out. This story had me captured immediately. If you just want to read a good story; download this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Touching and funny book

    This book was very touching and I loved all the characters. I found it to be sweet and so funny that I found myself laughing out loud sometimes. I have thought of some of the funny things in the book several times since I read it. Great family book that I will recommend to my family and friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I really enjoyed this story!

    This was a quick, enjoyable and heart-warming read. I find myself still describing scenes to my friends and co-workers that made me laugh out loud or made we reevlaute life simplified through the eyes of a child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good, clean read

    This book is classified as children's literature and, while I'm certain it would be an entertaining read for anyone in their early teens, the true messages of the book will likely be lost on them. With a unique writing style, this story -- set in a time when life seemed more simple -- is told through quirky characters and with humor. The importance of family, faith, friendship, and forgiveness are ever present. The 10-yr old main character seems wise beyond her years. I found myself thinking "I remember (doing) that!" throughout this book and thoroughly enjoyed the memories that came back to me because of it. I would recommend this book to readers of all ages, readers of all interests.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Remember your first dog?

    This is an excellent story about growing up with your first dog. What summer is suppose to be like when you are 10. Enjoying the lake, spying on your siblings, tormenting your parents. A wonderful story about family and faith. This is a story for the keeper-shelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    You'll want to be part of this family

    I picked this book up as it sounded good and once I started reading I could not put it down. This story is what time's were like in the 1960s and AJ's love of animals as well as how she lives her young life makes you want to go back to those good old days. This is laugh out loud humor and a book you would recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy a good read, good family and clean fun entertainment. I hope the author let's us be part of this family again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Cute

    Enjoyable and cute read about a girl's summer vacation. The book reminds me of the "Wonder Years". It is a Christian fiction novel and I enjoyed A.J.'s trust and love of God. This is a good read for a young girl but adults would enjoy the simple, easy story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    A Dog's Best Friend

    I enjoyed reading this book. A.J reminds me of myself...wanting to save every animals she finds. I have the same love as A.J had for Sailor like I do for my dog. A quick and enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Lighthearted

    Life through the eyes of a 10 year old is comical at times. She is very much aware of her spiritual needs and strives to walk in the direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    teen girl book

    this book was a cute story. I think a teenage girl would really enjoy it. It is about a young girls summer vacation with her family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Saving sailor

    Loved it from start to finish....fantastic story...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    I loved this story! I chose it because I also had a dog named

    I loved this story! I chose it because I also had a dog named Sailor
    when I was a child. He also was a collie mix. I laughed so hard at
    the antics of this family. I really think the book should be made into
    a movie! The author, Renne Riva is a talented story teller and I look
    forward to more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    I loved this book !!! It was well written, I laughed outloud . I

    I loved this book !!! It was well written, I laughed outloud . It made me think about life and brought me back to my childhood.
    please read , you will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16