Customer Reviews for

Saving Sailor: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great summer read - Like taking a step back in time!

I really enjoyed the story of A.J. and her summer on the island State Park. The Author Renne Riva perfectly captured both her sense of wonder as well as intense feelings about life in general. A world where right is right and wrong is just plain old wrong. The Title S...
I really enjoyed the story of A.J. and her summer on the island State Park. The Author Renne Riva perfectly captured both her sense of wonder as well as intense feelings about life in general. A world where right is right and wrong is just plain old wrong. The Title Saving Sailor is a wonderful title as it shows how a single act of compassion can affect everyone around you as well as your attitude toward everything,not always in a positive way. Her relationships with parents, siblings, friends and pets has been carefully brought out through the eyes of a 10 year old. The large Italian, Roman Catholic family reminds me of life when I was a child. We were not Italian, but the Catholic teaching was ever present in our lives as well. A.J.'s pets, and all animals in general were so important to her. All of God's creatures both big and small meant the world to A.J. She felt as though she were under the watchful eyes of God while she was here on earth. Here to protect and value all living things. The star watching nights on her beach were so precious to her, and while reading this story I remembered my own star watching nights while camping all those years ago. Ms. Riva wrote a very valuable story about life, love and family. It was as though the Author Renee Riva, had a video of my life as a child, and brought forth many of the intimate feelings and memories of my youth. Some things I did not even remember until the Author told of them and then POW, That's right, I remembered that, or I did that too! I hope you all read this story and remember what it was like to be 10 again.

posted by JEX on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is character driven, not plot driven...

I'm generally a plot reader and while the storyline is good - there is no plot.

I really enjoyed A.J.'s thoughts on God. He's a huge part of her life and makes it clear to everyone where they stand. She's also very honest - wondering, like a 10 year old does - what ...
I'm generally a plot reader and while the storyline is good - there is no plot.

I really enjoyed A.J.'s thoughts on God. He's a huge part of her life and makes it clear to everyone where they stand. She's also very honest - wondering, like a 10 year old does - what exactly she is to repent for and when it's not really a sin.

posted by GHott on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great summer read - Like taking a step back in time!

    I really enjoyed the story of A.J. and her summer on the island State Park. The Author Renne Riva perfectly captured both her sense of wonder as well as intense feelings about life in general. A world where right is right and wrong is just plain old wrong. The Title Saving Sailor is a wonderful title as it shows how a single act of compassion can affect everyone around you as well as your attitude toward everything,not always in a positive way. Her relationships with parents, siblings, friends and pets has been carefully brought out through the eyes of a 10 year old. The large Italian, Roman Catholic family reminds me of life when I was a child. We were not Italian, but the Catholic teaching was ever present in our lives as well. A.J.'s pets, and all animals in general were so important to her. All of God's creatures both big and small meant the world to A.J. She felt as though she were under the watchful eyes of God while she was here on earth. Here to protect and value all living things. The star watching nights on her beach were so precious to her, and while reading this story I remembered my own star watching nights while camping all those years ago. Ms. Riva wrote a very valuable story about life, love and family. It was as though the Author Renee Riva, had a video of my life as a child, and brought forth many of the intimate feelings and memories of my youth. Some things I did not even remember until the Author told of them and then POW, That's right, I remembered that, or I did that too! I hope you all read this story and remember what it was like to be 10 again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great Read!!!!

    This was a fun read and I admit, I laughed out loud at times.
    This is a "Young Adult" book that even adult adults will enjoy. I love to read books that are page turners and you stay up until 3a finishing them.
    This is not that book, instead, It is an easy read, easy to put down and easy to pick back up, which for its own purpose and own time is also fun to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    Loved this book

    I received this book as a free download on my nook. This book has a little of everything: sibling squabbles, family traditions, honesty, love, humor, religion & guilt, turmoil and forgiveness. I really identified with the characters in this book. It was an easy, entertaining read -- a great book to take on vacation. It is good for tweens, teens and adults. I am itching to read the next two in the series. Thank you B&N for introducing me to a new author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Very Impressed

    I just bought my nook and downloaded to check it out. This story had me captured immediately. If you just want to read a good story; download this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I really enjoyed this story!

    This was a quick, enjoyable and heart-warming read. I find myself still describing scenes to my friends and co-workers that made me laugh out loud or made we reevlaute life simplified through the eyes of a child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    You'll want to be part of this family

    I picked this book up as it sounded good and once I started reading I could not put it down. This story is what time's were like in the 1960s and AJ's love of animals as well as how she lives her young life makes you want to go back to those good old days. This is laugh out loud humor and a book you would recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy a good read, good family and clean fun entertainment. I hope the author let's us be part of this family again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    A Dog's Best Friend

    I enjoyed reading this book. A.J reminds me of myself...wanting to save every animals she finds. I have the same love as A.J had for Sailor like I do for my dog. A quick and enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Saving sailor

    Loved it from start to finish....fantastic story...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    I loved this story! I chose it because I also had a dog named

    I loved this story! I chose it because I also had a dog named Sailor
    when I was a child. He also was a collie mix. I laughed so hard at
    the antics of this family. I really think the book should be made into
    a movie! The author, Renne Riva is a talented story teller and I look
    forward to more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    I loved this book !!! It was well written, I laughed outloud . I

    I loved this book !!! It was well written, I laughed outloud . It made me think about life and brought me back to my childhood.
    please read , you will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Funny

    Good, funny enjoyable quick read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Wonderful and touching

    Wonderful and touching

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    good

    this book was terrific

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    See life through the eyes of a 9 year old girl

    Great writing. I wondered at first what it was going to be but it was an epic about independence, standing for real values and belief in God. I bookmarked many phrases and ideas that stood out from usual stories. Great book and at the end you discover where the plot came from. Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    young minds

    i LOVE this book it was such a fun read its set in a 9 yr olds mind and some what funny at times. it left me wanting more of this girl and her story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    fine

    well it had a lot a catholic stuff i am not a cathlick but otherwize it is fine its quite a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6