Customer Reviews for

Saving Sammy: A Mother's Fight to Cure Her Son's OCD

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    PANDAS

    I personally have PANDAS and it sucks! Im on prozac (not working)! I have severe OCD where i have to write in cursive w/ my body whatever i think, hear, or say. So i rrally rrlated to this book. I also have seperation anxiety.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Thank you

    I was referred book 18 months ago by his school Principal. My son has autism and now a diagnosis of PANDAS
    I do not know what made me not to read your book. But the posting regarding Sammy graduating on face book motivated me to buy it. I have learnt a lot. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Saving one person at a time.

    Anyone who has suffered, or seen someone suffer, with mental illness should pick up this book immediately. The descriptiveness of Sammy's symptoms and the family's frustrations are so clear and accurate that you find yourself immersed in their life as if you were there praying for a cure along with them. I read this book in one long sitting because I simply had to know how they came out from under the weight of OCD and regained a normal life.

    SAVING SAMMY is a heart-wrenching account that will take you from the agony a son and his mother suffers to the bright light of day as his mystery is solved. What Sammy (and so many other children) has been through is torturous and his mother's strength and tenacity pulls them both through.

    This is potentially going to be a lifesaver for those with the same problems as Sammy's who have gone unware of the link of OCD to infection. It is also an eye opener to all mental illnesses and their potential link to a physical cause, something that has not had enough attention brought to it as yet. Is this the case for everyone? Not likely, but possible. It's that possibility of helping just one person that makes this a worthwhile read.

    SAVING SAMMY is also a very important reminder to continue advocating for your child, or yourself, in matters of health until you have found a solution. Questioning experts is no easy task, but following instincts and being persistent as Beth Alison Maloney was for her son may have life-changing results. Follow in her footsteps and get the solution you need, whatever it might take.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    A Clear, Concise Voice for Suffering Children and Families

    I wish I had the money to buy cases of these books to give to every school principal, guidance counselor, pediatrician, child psychiatrist and psychologist. Beth Maloney has provided a phenomenal picture of reality that comes with this heartbreaking story AND gave us a happy ending on which to focus. As another mother who has been part of this "club" of parents watching helplessly as a fully functioning, perfectly normal child "disappears" virtually overnight with PANDAS I could hardly believe that this story could so accurately mirror what our family has been living since 2007. Maloney has given parents like me a beacon of hope and a place to meet so we can walk on together. PANDAS is real. It is a nightmare when no medical professional will help because pediatricians are only interested in sending the poor child on to the psych folks, in spite of years of perfectly normal medical checkups and no previous history of psychiatric issues. Meanwhile, the psychiatric community comes back with "sorry, OCD just doesn't happen overnight, clearly this is a medical problem." It is horrible when no medical professional will help because it is "someone else's problem." And then you are alone. And your child is a mess. And you wonder just how you will go on, who will help, or how the future will turn out. Read this book. Then tell everyone you know that fully functioning children don't suddenly just lose the ability to use their hands, develop OCD, and a host of other problems for no reason. Look for strep. Seek aggressive antibiotic treatment. Saving Sammy is a quick and compelling read. Again, PANDAS is REAL. Thank you, Beth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    Every Physician Should Read

    My son is currently going through the same thing Sammy did. We also had a difficult time finding doctors and even family members that supported our family. Hopefully, this will cause doctors and researchers to take a more in-depth look at PANDAS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    A girl with PANDAS

    I have PANDAS, seperation anxiety, and epilepsy so it sucks I hate it every body would make fun of me but when my mom told me about sammy I found hope that i am not the only person with it and I feel so relieved I'm 11 and I've had it since I was 8 its an amazing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mom's intuition strikes gold!

    Beth Maloney is truly a warrior mom. I am so ecstatic that Ms. Maloney made her son's illness a quest and found the answers that helped her cure her son . Beth's battle was tough but in the end she won a prize noone could ever match, she got her son back. As a mom and educator, it is absolutely inspiring to see such determination to take on the medical establishment and WIN! Pandas is an illness that happens to many kids and I believe that parents who had no clue about it will now have a prayer answered!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1