Customer Reviews for

Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports (Maximum Ride Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(921)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

James Patterson did it again

This book is better than great, its FANTASTIC!!! The first 2 books were amazing and so is this one. It only took me 4 days to read i couldnt put it down. If u havnt read the maximum ride series yet you definetly should. It is action packed with thrilling adventures that...
This book is better than great, its FANTASTIC!!! The first 2 books were amazing and so is this one. It only took me 4 days to read i couldnt put it down. If u havnt read the maximum ride series yet you definetly should. It is action packed with thrilling adventures that will keep you glued to the book. There are no boring parts in this like there are in some others.

posted by marisab20 on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

horrible

i read vividly and i was so bored i had to stop. if you are like me, save yourself from reading this one.

posted by 6159570 on January 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Maximum Ride: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports,"

    "Maximum Ride: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports," is a Science Fiction young adult novel. It is written by James Patterson, and published by Little Brown Books. This book is about a flock of six kids who got injected with a certain type of DNA. This DNA caused them to have wings. There are groups of people who work at a place called "Itex," or "The School", and these people the kids call the white coats. They are the creators of the kids, but the kids aren't the only thing they have created. These so called white coats made these other creatures called Erasers and they're sent out to kill the flock, but every time they have tried, the flock remains undefeated. Then they made robots called fly boys, and they're like the newer version of erasers. Max and the flock beat the Erasers but can they remain undefeated while fighting the flyboys?

    Max and Fang separate from the younger group of kids, in search of a new home. They haven't seen erasers in four days, so they aren't very worried about leaving the rest of the flock alone. Although they don't think that the kids will be found, ironically, they are captured.

    This led to many more adventures. The suspense will just drag you into the book. The action in this book is awesome, and it has a little bit of romance. The romance in this book adds a little kick to the story. The action in this book and the romance makes it ten times better, because it will lead to other events that will blow your mind away.

    Everybody should read this book because it has such great detail. The Author has a great imagination, and makes everything sound so real. Every time I read this book, it played a little movie in my head, and I think that's what makes it seem so real. The way he describes each and every thing, such as facial structures and the way they look, the way they change, and the way they're different is definitely unlike anything I have ever read before. James Patterson's books are the most detailed, and his books are so far the best I've ever read. Other people should read them. Once you start you can't stop, all the action makes you want to read more, and more. James Patterson is so far one of my favorite author.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Maximum Ride the best series ever!!!

    This is my favorite series!!! With all the action and it actually shows a message about real isssues that some scientists take it to far with their "research" also that people can make a difference if we all stick together. This book is great it is filled with action, drama,and romanace. It is definitely my favorite series in the world!!! I hope you like it!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    save the world

    god book for teens and tweens

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Owo~kk?

    I just started the Maximum Ride series and am almost done with this book. I already know the whole ending of Nevermore, the last book in the series, and you can scroll down a lot to read it is you want. (Youll have 2 scroll down LOT.) The series is sad, emotional, and action-packed. My only problem with the series is that the endings of the books is not suspenceful. Like, you could stop reading at book two and not care how it ends. Another thing is that the main character, Max, is really dumb. She doesnt make the most smartest of choices or the most obvious, and shes really slow. Otherwise, youll like this series a lot. I recommend it for pretty much anyone looking for a book to read. So thx for reading this review! If you want to read the spoiler for the end of Nevermore, scroll down for like a minute:




    Keeo scroling!





    Almost there!!


    SPOILER:
    Max chooses Fang over the other guy. Then Nudge, Iggy, and Gazzy all die so its only that one guy, Max, Fang, and Angel. Ari also joins the flock for some reason. I highly recommend not reading this last book because you will be highly dissapointed of the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    Just for fun

    Great book. A real pay turner.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Perry for TeensReadToo.com

    Max and the flock are back. While she continues to keep the flock safe, she also has to figure out how she is supposed to save the world. The evil plan is days away from unfolding. Half of the people in the world are going to be killed in order to give the worthy ones that remain a chance to thrive. The human race has done such a poor job of taking care of the planet that the Itex Corporation decided only the people with something to offer deserve the right to live in it. <BR/><BR/>Another problem the flock is dealing with is the creation of an updated version of Erasers. Now made of metal and covered with a layer of skin, learning how to take them out takes a little time - especially since these "Flyboys" come equipped with guns! <BR/><BR/>Relationships are strained within the flock in this latest installment of the MAXIMUM RIDE saga. Fang continues to update his blog and attempt to enlist children from around the world to become involved with the fight against Itex and all its subsidiaries. Max doesn't have faith that kids can help, which, of course, causes friction between them and ultimately leads to a split in the group. <BR/><BR/>The reader is tugged along on a roller coaster ride adventure with Max's constant sarcastic commentary to guide them. We see familiar faces as well as meet brand new players in this deadly game. Max manages to thwart disaster, reconcile the flock, and discover the identity of her parents. James Patterson does a nice job of tying up loose ends and leaves the story with a satisfying ending. If there isn't a fourth installment, fans will be happy with the way Max and the rest of the flock land on their feet.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    Its very exciting and always kept me on my toes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Great, fast-paced and exciting read!

    Quotes:

    “Us. On a plane. That seemed so wrong somehow. Redundant.”

    “The flyboys were not so fortunate. One after another they plowed right into the sign, setting off electrical charges that shorted them out and made quite a few of them explode like metallic, furry popcorn. And if you think that’s a gross description, be glad you weren’t there, being pelted by the little pieces.”

    “I motioned everyone closer. ‘Guys, I do believe that France is calling our names.’ Nudge frowned. ‘They’re yelling for flying bird kids?’”

    “I felt like this was the most castley castle I’d ever seen. It was all pointy and chock-full of turrets, with narrow slits for cute Robin Hood arrows and other windows with many tiny panes of glass.”
    “Once more with the hand-waving. It was like hypnotizing a cat.”

    My Thoughts:

    I went to Chicago this past weekend to FINALLY see my favorite band, Aerosmith in concert!!!! They were amazing! I’m originally from Chicago, and even though I love living 5-5 ½ hours away, the drive from St. Louis up to Chicago is straight and pretty boring. Cue audiobook. I borrowed an audiobook from my local library to listen to on the drive to make it less boring. Let’s just say that I missed an exit and had to turn around because I was SO into this story!

    I thought that this was the first book in the series, but it is not. It’s actually Book 3, but I didn’t realize this until I was about halfway through the audiobook. That is a testament to Patterson’s writing, because he was able to provide enough background info that I didn’t realize this wasn’t the first novel in the Maximum Ride series. I think that I would have definitely gotten more out of the story if I’d read the first two, but I don’t think I missed anything or that the story was impacted by not having read the first two in the series already. Compare it to a movie version of a book. There’s no way to be able to fit everything from a book into a 2-hour movie, but the story is still whole.

    Like all of Patterson’s work that I’ve read, this story is fast-paced and exciting from start to finish. Even the slower chapters still continue building the tension that runs throughout the entire novel. This is an original and captivating story where I found myself pulling for Max and her flock, and wishing that they could just live a normal life… or as normal a life as you can have when you’re a teen or kid with wings. In true James Patterson form, there’s even a few twists, and I usually don’t see his coming because I get so sucked into the story. Every novel of his, I know there’s a twist, but I usually don’t see it coming, and even more rarely figure out what the twist is going to be! This is why I love James Patterson, and I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the books in the Maximum Ride series. They’re fun, fast, exciting, and not too heavy that younger readers won’t be able to read and relate to them. I definitely recommend this book, and really enjoyed the audiobook and Valentina de Angelis as narrator. She was great and very authentic as Max!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Luv it

    I luv these books they r h best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Like this series so far

    I am enjoying the creativity of this series. The characters feel real and you really want to keep reading to see what happens. I plan to keep reading the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Very good

    This novel (as all of Patterson's books) was intertaining and intense, though sometimes cheesy. The only ting i disslike about this series is that Max lays the blame on Fang every time SHE screws up and she pushes him away when he tries to comfort her. His ideas are pushed away and he just takes it, all in all whatever ego that he had is deflated. He finally stands up for himself though and that was awesome, though the break up was kind of a downer.... In the end they are brought back together and i think Max sorta finally gets that she needs to listen to Fang sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Pretty Good

    Maximum Ride is a great series so far , this book is really intense, with the flock splitung up and stuff, but I think the second book is
    better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    INCREDIBLE!

    This is a incredible series from James Patterson. Not only can I read it on my NOOK, but now I can read it on my computer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Saving+the+world+and+other+extreme+sports

    Love+it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Okay

    Dammit fang dont split the flock and ps i hate spoiler people

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    AWESOME!!

    I read this book as I did the first ones! This is by far possibly the best series I have read! I cant wait for the movies!- If they make one~ :) highly recomened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the first two...

    I got a little annoyed as Patterson reminded me of everything that happened in the first two books and I hope he lays off that in the subsequent novels. I definitely enjoyed the action, the plot twists and the characters and I look forward to the rest of the books. I just hope Patterson can focus on the current tale and assume more people are reading the entire series as the series progresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book is amazing and awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports is the third book in The Fugitive Series about Maximum Ride. It makes for a good read.

    Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports is the book the finishes off the series The Fugitives and closes most of the mysteries that we have been waiting to be solved since The Angel Experiment. This book starts off with Max and the rest of her adopted avian human halfbreed adopted brothers and sisters running across the United States in a dilapidated minivan from their latest defeat of the School. Soon though they will run into the upgraded Erasers, the Flyboy's that will make their mission to save the world more challenging then ever! But if having the Flyboy's around isn't hard enough the voice in Max's head is telling her that their's a traitor in her flock. Should she believe the mysterious voice and not trust the people that she has called her family ever since she can recall? Or should she take the chance and think that all the run ins with their enemies are because of some bizzaro chip implanted in her arm? And are they ever really going to be able to save themselves, let alone the world?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11