Customer Reviews for

Savor: Mindful Eating, Mindful Life

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

One of Thich Nhat Hanh's Best Works

Lilian Cheung and Thich Nhat Hanh meshed perfectly for a well crafted work on the fundamentals of eating and mindful eating in our world today. In my opinion it is geared strongly for a Western audience and addresses our over sized portion and lack of control in the ar...
Lilian Cheung and Thich Nhat Hanh meshed perfectly for a well crafted work on the fundamentals of eating and mindful eating in our world today. In my opinion it is geared strongly for a Western audience and addresses our over sized portion and lack of control in the area of eating. It also addresses the fundamental aspects of Buddhist thought in relation to being overweight. It is a must read for anyone (regardless of religion) who wants to learn more and open themselves up for healing in the area of how they eat and the weight control issue. With Cheung being a nutrionist you get the best of both worlds at once in this book. I highly recommend it to you as a reader of Thich Nhat Hanh's books or in the situation of desiring to lose weight but having failed numerous times before. This book is for you.

posted by jjneel2605 on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

False Advertising

I bought this for my eighteen year old son, who is exploring both vegetarianism and Buddhism; we have both been moved by the writing of Thich Nhat Hanh. We were incredibly disappointed in this book, which I bought for him, expecting, in part based on B and N reviews, a ...
I bought this for my eighteen year old son, who is exploring both vegetarianism and Buddhism; we have both been moved by the writing of Thich Nhat Hanh. We were incredibly disappointed in this book, which I bought for him, expecting, in part based on B and N reviews, a mindful discussion of eating and food to find instead what is essentially a how-to diet book!

posted by slmcc on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of Thich Nhat Hanh's Best Works

    Lilian Cheung and Thich Nhat Hanh meshed perfectly for a well crafted work on the fundamentals of eating and mindful eating in our world today. In my opinion it is geared strongly for a Western audience and addresses our over sized portion and lack of control in the area of eating. It also addresses the fundamental aspects of Buddhist thought in relation to being overweight. It is a must read for anyone (regardless of religion) who wants to learn more and open themselves up for healing in the area of how they eat and the weight control issue. With Cheung being a nutrionist you get the best of both worlds at once in this book. I highly recommend it to you as a reader of Thich Nhat Hanh's books or in the situation of desiring to lose weight but having failed numerous times before. This book is for you.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Solid information and practical advice

    I am a registered dietitian and bought the paper version for my mother while on a mindfulness retreat. I downloaded a digital version for myself to check it out first. The information presented, as well as the resources for further information/action are current and legitimate. I enjoyed the way they framed the healthy weight struggle within the idea of mindfulness. For most people I have counseled, that is really the issue. I hope more people choose to read this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Unique Blend of Thought and Application

    Savor - Mindful Eating, Mindful Life is unique blend of practical steps to managing weight and exercise through a mindfulness approach. It would seem that the common sense nature of blending traditional concepts about weight loss and exercise with a centered, spiritual focus would make for easy application, but there is a tremendous amount of depth to the content of the book and as such the application needs to be step-by-step. That can seem difficult in a fix-it-now culture. Perhaps that's the challenge provided by the text and even noted in the title...stop and Savor the experience of where you are...in what you are doing...eating...experiencing. Thich Nhat Hanh writes as powerfully as ever and Dr. Cheung provides clear and concise information about eating and exercise.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Suffering and a cure for suffering

    After my first one-day mindfulness retreat I said what I didn't like was the mindful eating: I just wanted to get it over with. The leader smiled compassionately, unsurprised. She didn't point out that I was the fattest person in the room. I mean, what would THAT have to do with anything?

    The authors assume you have a weight problem. They apply the principles of mindfulness to the suffering of obesity and its cure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    This is a Diet Book

    Do not be fooled. This is a diet book, however its a really good diet book. Even if you do not need to loose weight you can just bypass all the diet talk and move ahead to the mindfulness of eating.
    I do not need to be on a diet but I really appreciated the tools and meditations provided to help me be more mindful of my food and the many methods of eating and consuming that I do.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    False Advertising

    I bought this for my eighteen year old son, who is exploring both vegetarianism and Buddhism; we have both been moved by the writing of Thich Nhat Hanh. We were incredibly disappointed in this book, which I bought for him, expecting, in part based on B and N reviews, a mindful discussion of eating and food to find instead what is essentially a how-to diet book!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    bought paperback

    I bought the paperback because I liked it and wanted to keep going over some of the material.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Still haven't finished this book yet. For me, it was interesting

    Still haven't finished this book yet. For me, it was interesting and in a way like a textbook/reading material for class. I think it is well organized and allows peoples to look at food and awareness of life in a new perspective.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Meh

    Reads like Buddha telling me how to eat, i.e. a diet. I love yoga and so i do like the mindful principles which should be applied to all aspects of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2