BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Savor the Moment (Nora Roberts' Bride Quartet Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 1130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(608)

4 Star

(280)

3 Star

(141)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

posted by Leah-books on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Let down...

So I've read the other two stories and often found myself actually putting aside the main characters in those two in my growing excitement for this one... I just didn't want to miss a single early detail to what I was sure would be a great story. HOWEVER, I feel like R...
So I've read the other two stories and often found myself actually putting aside the main characters in those two in my growing excitement for this one... I just didn't want to miss a single early detail to what I was sure would be a great story. HOWEVER, I feel like Roberts ran out of steam with this storyline. It's so typical, very little pizzazz, and totally predictable. It lacked the steaminess, quirkiness, suspense, surprise and ultimately the pull at the readers emotions.
The major disappointment was that Del never really developed as a character. It's almost as if Roberts thought she had fleshed him out already in the previous novels, or we'd understand him through his sister (who is still not fully formed in my mind... please don't screw up the next one). Either way, he wasn't cute, persistent and quirky like Carter, or dangerous, fun and sexy like Jack... he just sort of was there as the object of her affection and the reader only gets to understand him through cliches. Even Laurel, whose whole storyline is that she's different from the other 3 because of her background and Roberts had established her as more of an independent private person in the group who didn't share every intimate thought, wound up being boring and obsessed with economic status, but in a wishy-washy sort of way that didn't really create the obstacle the story needed.
A let down with this one.
Parker and Mal were fleshed out a bit more, but Roberts needs to let the readers in on Parker's inner monologue otherwise she too will be just like her brother, a cold cliche. Also, I'm unconvinced Mal will be worthy of the woman Roberts had so far painted Parker, he really needs something to bolster him in the romance dept. v. the sexy fling he seems to be portraying with his attitude.

posted by 164551 on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 58
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    Let down...

    So I've read the other two stories and often found myself actually putting aside the main characters in those two in my growing excitement for this one... I just didn't want to miss a single early detail to what I was sure would be a great story. HOWEVER, I feel like Roberts ran out of steam with this storyline. It's so typical, very little pizzazz, and totally predictable. It lacked the steaminess, quirkiness, suspense, surprise and ultimately the pull at the readers emotions.
    The major disappointment was that Del never really developed as a character. It's almost as if Roberts thought she had fleshed him out already in the previous novels, or we'd understand him through his sister (who is still not fully formed in my mind... please don't screw up the next one). Either way, he wasn't cute, persistent and quirky like Carter, or dangerous, fun and sexy like Jack... he just sort of was there as the object of her affection and the reader only gets to understand him through cliches. Even Laurel, whose whole storyline is that she's different from the other 3 because of her background and Roberts had established her as more of an independent private person in the group who didn't share every intimate thought, wound up being boring and obsessed with economic status, but in a wishy-washy sort of way that didn't really create the obstacle the story needed.
    A let down with this one.
    Parker and Mal were fleshed out a bit more, but Roberts needs to let the readers in on Parker's inner monologue otherwise she too will be just like her brother, a cold cliche. Also, I'm unconvinced Mal will be worthy of the woman Roberts had so far painted Parker, he really needs something to bolster him in the romance dept. v. the sexy fling he seems to be portraying with his attitude.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Another Wonderful Bridal Quartet Book

    What a wonderful book. Great romance (Del and Laurel), humor (kidnapped Prada shoes) and family. HJS (once you read it you'll know what this is) and the pond scenes are romantic and funny.

    We get a litte more insight into Mrs. G, her relationship with Laurel and a few hints that she has a life outside of Vows. The interaction between Mal and the group and Mal and Parker is just enough to make you start the countdown for the final book "Happy Every After"

    A great quick read that you will want to read again!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice and touching story

    Savor The Moment is the 3rd book in Nora Roberts Bridal Quartet series. I'm sorta mixed on my feelings for this book and will explain why.
    This book in the series centers on Laurel McBane and Delaney Brown, who is Parker's brother. Now for those of you who have been following along in the series you will know that Laurel and her three best friends own and run a wedding planning company called Vows. The girls have been friends since childhood and played "Wedding Day" every chance they got while growing up. They turned their passions of weddings into a very successful business with Mackensie as the photographer, Emma as the florist, Parker as the coordinator, and Laurel as the baker/pastry chef. In the first two books, Mac and Emma found "the one" (in Vision in White and Bed of Roses, respectively) and became engaged, though Laurel holds no such expectations for herself. After all, she been in love with Parker's older brother Delaney, an Ivy League lawyer, for as long as she can remember and he considers his sister's friends as his sisters, too. Plus, she believes that Del is too far out of her league.

    Del asks Laurel if she can make a cake to welcome back one of his paralegals from maternity leave and of course, she says yes. But Del makes the mistake of trying to pay for the cake when he picks it up, which insults Laurel. For her, it's the last straw and in the heat of the moment, she kisses Del out of frustration and harbored feelings.
    Shortly thereafter, much to Laurel's dismay at the embarrassment, Del kisses her back and when Laurel flees he, get this, kidnaps her shoes and holds them ransom. Pretty freaking funny and very sneaky if you ask me. When she goes over to Del's to get her shoes back he talks Laurel into dating (sans sex-at first) to see where that kiss might lead.
    Basically the story unfolds, as predicted, after that and they end up falling in love. A beautiful story told and written and the pair are a match made in heaven. The ending actually gave me goose bumps and was proper for the story.
    However, on to the semi-negative portion of the review.with previous novels written by Nora Roberts, who is one of my favorite authors, she always seems to be able to add just the right amount of conflict and confusion with the characters until just the last minute. I expected that with the story between Laurel and Del and actually thought that if ANY conflict would have happened, it would have been better. However, with this story, it was just that, a simple story. I would have liked to see Ms. Roberts mix it up a bit and cause some dramatics as she did between Jack and Emma (now THAT was a novel). For some reason Ms. Roberts just seemed a little of her game in this book and it was a little disappointing. But with that being said, it was still a touching story and I look forward to the next one which will be the relationship with the final party in the series, Parker and the obvious interest Mel. Four stars out of five is my rating on this good book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great fun to read!

    Wedding baker, Laurel, has known Parker's older brother Del since she first met her friend. She had a schoolgirl crush on him, but her infatuation has turned into the real thing. She hid her feelings because she felt he treated her like a kid sister. One day he got her so angry that she kissed him. That changed their relationship. Del begins to see Laurel for the woman she was, not a relative. They start dating and agree to go slow letting their feelings guide them. He fails to tell her how he feels so when Mac's vindictive mother accuses her of going after Del's money and that an Ivy Leaguer like him would never marry a low class slut like her, she begins to have her doubts. I love the witty banter in the weddings between Mac, Emma, Laurel, and Parker. It has romance, humor and lots of family togetherness. Great fun to read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    Pure, totally enjoyable, Nora Roberts

    On those rare afternoons when I sit down with a book to escape the stress of everyday life, nothing fits the bill like a Nora Roberts story. If you're a book "snob", no, there is no deep message, intricate plot twist or grisly murder. But this series has endeared itself to me. I love the characters and feel like I know each one of them, the sign of a truly good writer. Yes, the plot is predictable, but that doesn't hinder my enjoyment, it's actually what I love about them. I devour these books and can't wait until November.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    A great read

    I disagree with the negative or dissapointed reviews. It was a perfect story line to the characters that were highlighted. Laurel and Del were by far the most diversified characters out of all the bride quartet series. Their relationship focuses on a deep life long foundation rooted through friendship, family and love. I am acutally glad it didn't have a major altercation because it wasn't necessary and would have interrupted the flow of the book. That is not who these two characters are or claim to be. Overall, this was a great book and my favorite. The storyline flowed. I read the book within one day. I cannot wait for November!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    I was so excited when I woke up this morning because I knew that this book would be available as an ebook. Just got done reading it, and I'd say Roberts has done it again with Laurel and Del. I can not wait to read Parker and Mal's (we all know it's going to be Mal) story! I just can not wait at all! Del and Laurel's story was so good. I really wished Roberts would have elaborated the shoe hostage situation, but it's ok. It was still great! I got the ebook because I was too lazy to go to Wally World to get the actual book, but I'm still planning on getting a hard copy of this book too!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SAVOR THE MOMENT

    As in all the books in this series there is not a lot going on except the romance of the characters but when you are in the mood to kick back with a light-hearted, fun read and not get bogged down in heavy, thought-provoking material to digest, this one fills the bill. Wedding baker, Laurel, has known Parker's older brother Delaney, (Del) since she first met her friend. Laurel, unfortunately, is more like a sister to Del, but for her, he has been her secret, mystery fantasy love for years. Then, surprise! A playful argument induced a kiss between them that shook them both up. Just the stuff we women fawn all over!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Savor the Moment is another hit in the quartet series.

    This series is about 4 friends, Mackenzie, Emma, Laurel, and Parker, best friends and business partners in a Wedding Planning company called Vows. Savor the Moment is Laurel's story. Laurel McBane is a Wedding Cake Designer for Vows. She has been in love her whole life with handsome Attorney Delaney Brown, Parker's older brother. When Laurel gets mad and kisses Del on a whim, the sparks fly. They have been friends all of their lives, but can Del see past the friendship and protectiveness, and can Laurel open up to Del about her fears and insecurities, before they let their one chance at happiness slip away.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Beautiful...I want cake too.

    Whoever gave this book less then 5 stars, does not know what there are talking about. Laurel and Del are too people that have know each other for a long time and find they have more feelings that they expected and fall in love. The story is so beautifully written.
    They are best friends who work together and share the most intimate times in each other's lives...always knowing how the other one's are felling. Sharing the up's and down's with each other. The entire series is soo perfect. I can not wait until November either..and I wish it did not have to end. I could for sure see myself reading them again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a beach read

    I was glued to the book from beginning to end. i can't wait for the next one in this series. I love the friendship that girls display in each book. If haven't read the first two books you defintely pick them up at your local bookstore.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I want cake!!

    I love this series and will hate to see it end. This 3rd book in the series, about Laurel & Del was beautifully written. Its like sitting around and talking with your girl friends. You can really feel the problems these girls have because all of us have felt at least some of what they go through. A really good read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart stealing

    To finally have what she has wanted her WHOLE life. Laurel and the rest of the VOWS' girls have really been busy. Nora Roberts has out done herself with this series. I cannot wait till the fourth and final book. I want to see all the girls get what they want and deserve. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SERIES!!!!!! I LOVE IT.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Escape...

    Loved the book. The set of characters in this series are wonderful. I feel as if I know them. Ms. Roberts does an excellent job of creating characters that are real and unique. I can picture the houses and gardens -- wanting to be there myself. The romances chosen for each young lady and the corresponding conflicts are perfect. I can't wait to read the next one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Number 3 in the series- the story continues!

    I do love how Nora Roberts writes, and I do love these characters- a group of lifelong friends making their way in the adult world with each others support.
    My only problem is this series is a bit formulaic. I enjoyed the first book in the series completely, the second was nice, the third....the same.
    I do think the fourth book is going to bring the zing back though because Parker is the most intense character in the series. Ultimately I enjoy these books- they are sweet and easy to read. A nice relief from the real world around us.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fine Romance - Sticking with what works

    Nora Roberts is the queen of modern romantic literature for a reason - she has a formula that works and she knows how to stick to it. This is by no means a bad thing, because her writing is so natural and detailed that you are still able to get caught up in the plot, even while knowing exactly how it's going to end.

    In this third book of the Bride Quartet series, we following the continuing story of 4 women who have their own wedding planning business; photographer Mackenzie, florist Emma, baker Laurel and organizer Parker. For this third installment, the focus is on Laurel, resident culinary artist and creator of spectacular wedding cakes. Laurel has had a crush on Parker's brother Delaney since they were childhood friends, but it has remained her secret - until the night she ends a spat with him with a sudden, passionate kiss. Fortunately Del returns her feelings and they embark on a cautious journey from friends to lovers. Dramatic conflict is created by Laurel's concerns about losing a treasured friendship as well as her feelings of inferiority when faced with Del's image as an Ivy League lawyer and unofficial Connecticut royalty.

    There are no surprises here, but the characters are well defined and grounded in reality, so when the expected outcome is achieved, the reader still cares deeply and wants to know more. Groundwork has been laid here for the fourth installment, where the last unattached member of the quartet, Parker, will no doubt become more deeply entangled with local car mechanic Malcolm. I may know how this quartet will end, but with writing as good as this, I look forward to the final chapter.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Couldn't put it down.

    Each book in this series has peaked my interest and made me wonder how the next one will come out or get together. You can kind of tell who they are going pair up but what keeps you going is how she is going to do it and seeing what they will have to go through to get to be with each other. I love the series and am glad the books are coming out so quickly after each other. Nora is one of my favorite authors and I try to get each book as soon as it comes out. It kept my attention and many times had a hard time putting it down to do anything else. I do so enjoy Nora's writing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can not wait for the next one

    I could not put the book down, it was to tell you the book in one word was great. There was even something there between Parker and Mac, next book. This book was about Laurel McBane and Parker brother Del, it is vary romantic and a page turner. I really don't want to tell you much but Laurel it the cake maker of the wedding planners business. Laurel has always loved Del and in the other books you can see why and I would recommend any Nora Roberts book to anyone who wants to just read for fun, or a rainy day book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best is yet to come!

    Though i plan to pre-order this book, i have the first two books in the Bride Quartet Series. I love the way the books seamlessly flow one into the other without missing a beat or the drama. Nora Robert has a way with words and evoking emotions within a reader that i gladly wait for the release of each consecutive book in the series. Plus i found that in the first two books that Del's character had been well developed and that this particular part will give him an even greater depth. Here's to Laurel and Del!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 58