Customer Reviews for

Savor the Moment (Nora Roberts' Bride Quartet Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 1130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(608)

4 Star

(280)

3 Star

(141)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

posted by Leah-books on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Let down...

So I've read the other two stories and often found myself actually putting aside the main characters in those two in my growing excitement for this one... I just didn't want to miss a single early detail to what I was sure would be a great story. HOWEVER, I feel like R...
So I've read the other two stories and often found myself actually putting aside the main characters in those two in my growing excitement for this one... I just didn't want to miss a single early detail to what I was sure would be a great story. HOWEVER, I feel like Roberts ran out of steam with this storyline. It's so typical, very little pizzazz, and totally predictable. It lacked the steaminess, quirkiness, suspense, surprise and ultimately the pull at the readers emotions.
The major disappointment was that Del never really developed as a character. It's almost as if Roberts thought she had fleshed him out already in the previous novels, or we'd understand him through his sister (who is still not fully formed in my mind... please don't screw up the next one). Either way, he wasn't cute, persistent and quirky like Carter, or dangerous, fun and sexy like Jack... he just sort of was there as the object of her affection and the reader only gets to understand him through cliches. Even Laurel, whose whole storyline is that she's different from the other 3 because of her background and Roberts had established her as more of an independent private person in the group who didn't share every intimate thought, wound up being boring and obsessed with economic status, but in a wishy-washy sort of way that didn't really create the obstacle the story needed.
A let down with this one.
Parker and Mal were fleshed out a bit more, but Roberts needs to let the readers in on Parker's inner monologue otherwise she too will be just like her brother, a cold cliche. Also, I'm unconvinced Mal will be worthy of the woman Roberts had so far painted Parker, he really needs something to bolster him in the romance dept. v. the sexy fling he seems to be portraying with his attitude.

posted by 164551 on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice and touching story

    Savor The Moment is the 3rd book in Nora Roberts Bridal Quartet series. I'm sorta mixed on my feelings for this book and will explain why.
    This book in the series centers on Laurel McBane and Delaney Brown, who is Parker's brother. Now for those of you who have been following along in the series you will know that Laurel and her three best friends own and run a wedding planning company called Vows. The girls have been friends since childhood and played "Wedding Day" every chance they got while growing up. They turned their passions of weddings into a very successful business with Mackensie as the photographer, Emma as the florist, Parker as the coordinator, and Laurel as the baker/pastry chef. In the first two books, Mac and Emma found "the one" (in Vision in White and Bed of Roses, respectively) and became engaged, though Laurel holds no such expectations for herself. After all, she been in love with Parker's older brother Delaney, an Ivy League lawyer, for as long as she can remember and he considers his sister's friends as his sisters, too. Plus, she believes that Del is too far out of her league.

    Del asks Laurel if she can make a cake to welcome back one of his paralegals from maternity leave and of course, she says yes. But Del makes the mistake of trying to pay for the cake when he picks it up, which insults Laurel. For her, it's the last straw and in the heat of the moment, she kisses Del out of frustration and harbored feelings.
    Shortly thereafter, much to Laurel's dismay at the embarrassment, Del kisses her back and when Laurel flees he, get this, kidnaps her shoes and holds them ransom. Pretty freaking funny and very sneaky if you ask me. When she goes over to Del's to get her shoes back he talks Laurel into dating (sans sex-at first) to see where that kiss might lead.
    Basically the story unfolds, as predicted, after that and they end up falling in love. A beautiful story told and written and the pair are a match made in heaven. The ending actually gave me goose bumps and was proper for the story.
    However, on to the semi-negative portion of the review.with previous novels written by Nora Roberts, who is one of my favorite authors, she always seems to be able to add just the right amount of conflict and confusion with the characters until just the last minute. I expected that with the story between Laurel and Del and actually thought that if ANY conflict would have happened, it would have been better. However, with this story, it was just that, a simple story. I would have liked to see Ms. Roberts mix it up a bit and cause some dramatics as she did between Jack and Emma (now THAT was a novel). For some reason Ms. Roberts just seemed a little of her game in this book and it was a little disappointing. But with that being said, it was still a touching story and I look forward to the next one which will be the relationship with the final party in the series, Parker and the obvious interest Mel. Four stars out of five is my rating on this good book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great fun to read!

    Wedding baker, Laurel, has known Parker's older brother Del since she first met her friend. She had a schoolgirl crush on him, but her infatuation has turned into the real thing. She hid her feelings because she felt he treated her like a kid sister. One day he got her so angry that she kissed him. That changed their relationship. Del begins to see Laurel for the woman she was, not a relative. They start dating and agree to go slow letting their feelings guide them. He fails to tell her how he feels so when Mac's vindictive mother accuses her of going after Del's money and that an Ivy Leaguer like him would never marry a low class slut like her, she begins to have her doubts. I love the witty banter in the weddings between Mac, Emma, Laurel, and Parker. It has romance, humor and lots of family togetherness. Great fun to read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SAVOR THE MOMENT

    As in all the books in this series there is not a lot going on except the romance of the characters but when you are in the mood to kick back with a light-hearted, fun read and not get bogged down in heavy, thought-provoking material to digest, this one fills the bill. Wedding baker, Laurel, has known Parker's older brother Delaney, (Del) since she first met her friend. Laurel, unfortunately, is more like a sister to Del, but for her, he has been her secret, mystery fantasy love for years. Then, surprise! A playful argument induced a kiss between them that shook them both up. Just the stuff we women fawn all over!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Escape...

    Loved the book. The set of characters in this series are wonderful. I feel as if I know them. Ms. Roberts does an excellent job of creating characters that are real and unique. I can picture the houses and gardens -- wanting to be there myself. The romances chosen for each young lady and the corresponding conflicts are perfect. I can't wait to read the next one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Number 3 in the series- the story continues!

    I do love how Nora Roberts writes, and I do love these characters- a group of lifelong friends making their way in the adult world with each others support.
    My only problem is this series is a bit formulaic. I enjoyed the first book in the series completely, the second was nice, the third....the same.
    I do think the fourth book is going to bring the zing back though because Parker is the most intense character in the series. Ultimately I enjoy these books- they are sweet and easy to read. A nice relief from the real world around us.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can not wait for the next one

    I could not put the book down, it was to tell you the book in one word was great. There was even something there between Parker and Mac, next book. This book was about Laurel McBane and Parker brother Del, it is vary romantic and a page turner. I really don't want to tell you much but Laurel it the cake maker of the wedding planners business. Laurel has always loved Del and in the other books you can see why and I would recommend any Nora Roberts book to anyone who wants to just read for fun, or a rainy day book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This one is worth savoring

    To many people, the third installment of the Bride Quartet may not be the best, but I definitely found it worth my time. A light "beach-read", or in my case, plane reading material, that gives you the warm and fuzzies and much more. It's still a romance, but focuses more on the friendship of the characters than the other two books did. Roberts has such a fantastic way of bringing out the details so that I could practically taste the cakes that Laurel made, just like I could see Mac's pictures and smell Emma's flowers in the stories before. Laurel and Del's romance may not be as vivid as the other stories, but I think getting the run-down of the other characters' lives really makes up for it. We even got a good peek at Parker's possibilities with Malcolm. I'm interested in reading about Parker as Roberts has made her more of a passionate and sentimental character than we saw her before.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun summer read!

    This is a charming, light-hearted and happy novel about love and friendship,or is it love OR friendship? No heavy drama. Laurel is a strong gal in spite of coming from a dysfunctional family while Del was raised in a loving, normal family. Laurel and Del have known each other since they were children. Laurel is like a sister to Del, but she has secretly loved him forever. A heated discussion and a surprise kiss changes everything. Insecurities, fretful thoughts, and lots of romance make for a quick summer read. Enjoyed.


    More fun ones but with a little more kick to them were SOMETHING BORROWED, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and TIME OF MY LIFE....and HEART OF THE MATTER...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Great weekend read!

    Nora Roberts is one of my favorite authors. Her bride quartet series is excellent reading if you like funny, touching, light-hearted romantic books. I love the way the chemistry between the characters leap off the pages. If you've read the first two books in the series, then the story line was pretty predictable, but even knowing that, it's still a great read. It, like the first two books, will make you laugh out loud. I've already read Vision in White and Bed of Roses several times, and Savor the Moment twice and I will re-read Savor the Moment again as a refresher right before Happy Ever After is released in November.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great idea for a series!

    I love Nora Roberts serial books. I feel like I become part of a family, and really miss them in between books. I'm also amazed at the way she must have researched cake making. I just wish she'd given recipes! Now, I want to be a cake maker, just like I wanted to take pictures and work with flowers after reading the other two books. Her dialogue is so clever, one can just see the movie running in one's head. At the end of one of her days, I am exhausted from reading all of the work those girls put in. Her stories are somewhat predictable, but I still can't put them down. I always feel a let-down when I finish Roberts' books because I am so lost in the characters, that I don't want to stop. I can't wait for the last of the series, and hope that Roberts will write about all 4 weddings.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I love Nora's Books

    I love it when Nora does a series because there is an opportunity for all the characters to develop over the length of that series. I appreciate that Emma & Jack and Mac & Carter remain an important part of the storyline. Mrs. G is wise and warm and I agree with the other reviewer, I am pleased that there has been more time spent on her character. I look forward to Parker & Mal and the development of their characters. I think my favorite part of this series is the profoundly deep connection between the four women - their understanding and acceptance of each other, their respect for each other, their commitment to each other and their love for each other. And yet they can be angry at something that has happened, they talk about it and make up. The last book is eagerly awaited.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Good book just not as good as the others

    I did enjoy this book a lot but it was very predictable, not as good as first two. Hoping that the last book in the series will be better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nora Roberts is always a great choice

    I love all Nora Roberts books and have been eagerly awaiting this one. Nora Roberts is always a great choice.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    As previous book in the Bride series I have really enjoyed it. T

    As previous book in the Bride series I have really enjoyed it. The characters had a warmth, spunk, adventure, and plain goodness of heart. Cute heart warming romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed book three of the Bride Quartet series, looking forward

    Enjoyed book three of the Bride Quartet series, looking forward to the final story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great Series!

    I have two of the series on paperback and as much fun as those where i think this one was my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For those stubborn pastry artists

    Of the four characters in this series, she's the most stubborn and tomboy. Again, I'm a sucker for all the catering type businesses and professions, pastry arts and baking - so it appeals to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Best in the series

    The best part of the Quartet Series continues to be the friendship between Parker, Mac, Laurel and Emmaline, not the romance. Getting to know the Quartet and how they love one another is the primary focus of this book just like the others. The men and romance are secondary.

    Unlike the first 2 books in the series, I didn't feel as if Laurel's cakes were another character in the book -- unlike the photography in Book 1 or the flowers in Book 2; I preferred this approach. Ms. Roberts spent the time allowing us to get to know the H/h in this one. Surprisingly, Ms. Roberts wrote a bit more--ahem...shall we call it 'heat' between Delaney (who I originally imagined as an uptight, stuff-shirt lawyer based on his description/actions in the previous books) and Laurel than just alluding to it as with Mac/Carter and Emma/Jack. Del became, by far, my fave male character in the series! The 'heat' didnt hurt of course, but it was more the fact that he didnt have any real issues after he and Lauren decided to move forward with a relationship with Laurel. Overall, the story was well-written (no surprise there!) and what little conflict between the H/h was well-executed and believable. The ending did seem a bit rushed to me but didn't take away from the overall enjoyment of the story. On to Book 4!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    Another cute book in the Bridal Quartet. I absolutely loved the first two books in the series and am sad to start book 4 and see the end of the series.

    The four friends with their unique personalities just keeps me reading and reading. It has been some time since I read the first two books and I was back in the story in the first paragraph with little catch up needed. This book centered around the cakes of their wedding business. Laurel a hard working independent woman has been crushing on Parker's brother since childhood. Finally, they are on the same page in this book and their romance unfolds.

    Full of love, romance, and all things girlie - these books are a must grab for days indoors or out by the pool. I can't wait to crack open the 4th book, it is on my nightstand ready!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Romantic Series

    Nora Roberts truly has a great writing style and can tell great stories. This series is no different. The only downside to this series was the reader knows exactly what will happen. Don't read these books when you need a thinker or a mystery. But, great books to read when you just need a break.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14