Customer Reviews for

Savor the Moment (Nora Roberts' Bride Quartet Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 1130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(608)

4 Star

(280)

3 Star

(141)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

posted by Leah-books on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Let down...

So I've read the other two stories and often found myself actually putting aside the main characters in those two in my growing excitement for this one... I just didn't want to miss a single early detail to what I was sure would be a great story. HOWEVER, I feel like R...
So I've read the other two stories and often found myself actually putting aside the main characters in those two in my growing excitement for this one... I just didn't want to miss a single early detail to what I was sure would be a great story. HOWEVER, I feel like Roberts ran out of steam with this storyline. It's so typical, very little pizzazz, and totally predictable. It lacked the steaminess, quirkiness, suspense, surprise and ultimately the pull at the readers emotions.
The major disappointment was that Del never really developed as a character. It's almost as if Roberts thought she had fleshed him out already in the previous novels, or we'd understand him through his sister (who is still not fully formed in my mind... please don't screw up the next one). Either way, he wasn't cute, persistent and quirky like Carter, or dangerous, fun and sexy like Jack... he just sort of was there as the object of her affection and the reader only gets to understand him through cliches. Even Laurel, whose whole storyline is that she's different from the other 3 because of her background and Roberts had established her as more of an independent private person in the group who didn't share every intimate thought, wound up being boring and obsessed with economic status, but in a wishy-washy sort of way that didn't really create the obstacle the story needed.
A let down with this one.
Parker and Mal were fleshed out a bit more, but Roberts needs to let the readers in on Parker's inner monologue otherwise she too will be just like her brother, a cold cliche. Also, I'm unconvinced Mal will be worthy of the woman Roberts had so far painted Parker, he really needs something to bolster him in the romance dept. v. the sexy fling he seems to be portraying with his attitude.

posted by 164551 on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 608 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Another Wonderful Bridal Quartet Book

    What a wonderful book. Great romance (Del and Laurel), humor (kidnapped Prada shoes) and family. HJS (once you read it you'll know what this is) and the pond scenes are romantic and funny.

    We get a litte more insight into Mrs. G, her relationship with Laurel and a few hints that she has a life outside of Vows. The interaction between Mal and the group and Mal and Parker is just enough to make you start the countdown for the final book "Happy Every After"

    A great quick read that you will want to read again!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    Pure, totally enjoyable, Nora Roberts

    On those rare afternoons when I sit down with a book to escape the stress of everyday life, nothing fits the bill like a Nora Roberts story. If you're a book "snob", no, there is no deep message, intricate plot twist or grisly murder. But this series has endeared itself to me. I love the characters and feel like I know each one of them, the sign of a truly good writer. Yes, the plot is predictable, but that doesn't hinder my enjoyment, it's actually what I love about them. I devour these books and can't wait until November.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    A great read

    I disagree with the negative or dissapointed reviews. It was a perfect story line to the characters that were highlighted. Laurel and Del were by far the most diversified characters out of all the bride quartet series. Their relationship focuses on a deep life long foundation rooted through friendship, family and love. I am acutally glad it didn't have a major altercation because it wasn't necessary and would have interrupted the flow of the book. That is not who these two characters are or claim to be. Overall, this was a great book and my favorite. The storyline flowed. I read the book within one day. I cannot wait for November!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    I was so excited when I woke up this morning because I knew that this book would be available as an ebook. Just got done reading it, and I'd say Roberts has done it again with Laurel and Del. I can not wait to read Parker and Mal's (we all know it's going to be Mal) story! I just can not wait at all! Del and Laurel's story was so good. I really wished Roberts would have elaborated the shoe hostage situation, but it's ok. It was still great! I got the ebook because I was too lazy to go to Wally World to get the actual book, but I'm still planning on getting a hard copy of this book too!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Savor the Moment is another hit in the quartet series.

    This series is about 4 friends, Mackenzie, Emma, Laurel, and Parker, best friends and business partners in a Wedding Planning company called Vows. Savor the Moment is Laurel's story. Laurel McBane is a Wedding Cake Designer for Vows. She has been in love her whole life with handsome Attorney Delaney Brown, Parker's older brother. When Laurel gets mad and kisses Del on a whim, the sparks fly. They have been friends all of their lives, but can Del see past the friendship and protectiveness, and can Laurel open up to Del about her fears and insecurities, before they let their one chance at happiness slip away.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Beautiful...I want cake too.

    Whoever gave this book less then 5 stars, does not know what there are talking about. Laurel and Del are too people that have know each other for a long time and find they have more feelings that they expected and fall in love. The story is so beautifully written.
    They are best friends who work together and share the most intimate times in each other's lives...always knowing how the other one's are felling. Sharing the up's and down's with each other. The entire series is soo perfect. I can not wait until November either..and I wish it did not have to end. I could for sure see myself reading them again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a beach read

    I was glued to the book from beginning to end. i can't wait for the next one in this series. I love the friendship that girls display in each book. If haven't read the first two books you defintely pick them up at your local bookstore.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I want cake!!

    I love this series and will hate to see it end. This 3rd book in the series, about Laurel & Del was beautifully written. Its like sitting around and talking with your girl friends. You can really feel the problems these girls have because all of us have felt at least some of what they go through. A really good read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart stealing

    To finally have what she has wanted her WHOLE life. Laurel and the rest of the VOWS' girls have really been busy. Nora Roberts has out done herself with this series. I cannot wait till the fourth and final book. I want to see all the girls get what they want and deserve. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SERIES!!!!!! I LOVE IT.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fine Romance - Sticking with what works

    Nora Roberts is the queen of modern romantic literature for a reason - she has a formula that works and she knows how to stick to it. This is by no means a bad thing, because her writing is so natural and detailed that you are still able to get caught up in the plot, even while knowing exactly how it's going to end.

    In this third book of the Bride Quartet series, we following the continuing story of 4 women who have their own wedding planning business; photographer Mackenzie, florist Emma, baker Laurel and organizer Parker. For this third installment, the focus is on Laurel, resident culinary artist and creator of spectacular wedding cakes. Laurel has had a crush on Parker's brother Delaney since they were childhood friends, but it has remained her secret - until the night she ends a spat with him with a sudden, passionate kiss. Fortunately Del returns her feelings and they embark on a cautious journey from friends to lovers. Dramatic conflict is created by Laurel's concerns about losing a treasured friendship as well as her feelings of inferiority when faced with Del's image as an Ivy League lawyer and unofficial Connecticut royalty.

    There are no surprises here, but the characters are well defined and grounded in reality, so when the expected outcome is achieved, the reader still cares deeply and wants to know more. Groundwork has been laid here for the fourth installment, where the last unattached member of the quartet, Parker, will no doubt become more deeply entangled with local car mechanic Malcolm. I may know how this quartet will end, but with writing as good as this, I look forward to the final chapter.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Couldn't put it down.

    Each book in this series has peaked my interest and made me wonder how the next one will come out or get together. You can kind of tell who they are going pair up but what keeps you going is how she is going to do it and seeing what they will have to go through to get to be with each other. I love the series and am glad the books are coming out so quickly after each other. Nora is one of my favorite authors and I try to get each book as soon as it comes out. It kept my attention and many times had a hard time putting it down to do anything else. I do so enjoy Nora's writing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best is yet to come!

    Though i plan to pre-order this book, i have the first two books in the Bride Quartet Series. I love the way the books seamlessly flow one into the other without missing a beat or the drama. Nora Robert has a way with words and evoking emotions within a reader that i gladly wait for the release of each consecutive book in the series. Plus i found that in the first two books that Del's character had been well developed and that this particular part will give him an even greater depth. Here's to Laurel and Del!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    My Roses, My Friends

    SAVOR THE MOMENT by Nora Roberts is another winner. I just loved the tight female bonds, and their comraderie. In this novel, gal friendships and guy friendships are the central themes. The characters are real; the setting could be in any town. And, it's not surprising that Laurel and Delaney, our protagonists, find love -- after all, that is the nature of the romance genre. However, what I did find clever are the subtle issues Nora Roberts approaches: weight and diet; exercise; not driving when intoxicated; social class. The plots are skillfully entwined; the message is heartwarming. Also, when Laurel and Delaney decide to consummate their love, it is tastefully and magically done. I enjoyed this story about the ambitious bridal planners, and their handsome, decent lovers. I look forward to the continuation of this "tribe" in the fourth novel of the series. Yes, it's a great read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Great read!!!

    I LOVED the 3rd book in the Quartet series.....Nora Roberts never fails to disappoint. It is very romantic and provides a great chance to sit back, relax, and enjoy. I especially like to do cake decorating as a hobby and looked forward to the "cake" side of the wedding business (I'd hoped there would be a "free" recipe as well, but you can't have everything!!). In reading some of the other reviews, it's stated this book was somewhat of a disappointment as it was predictable, but I disagree.....there is always some degree of repetition in series books so they can stand alone, so I didn't find that to be an issue. Nora Roberts can't write books fast enough -- you can be assured her books are always a GREAT read! Enjoy!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    There's nothing wrong with "happily ever after"...

    I look forward to each book in this series simply because I know that whatever trials and tribulations the main character faces, in this book - Laurel, love and goodness will prevail. There is a happily ever after. A departure from other Nora Roberts' series, The Bride Quartet is much lighter, the main characters still troubled, but balanced by their opposite potential mate who has a heart of gold.

    Laurel McBane, now a premier wedding cake designer, has been fighting her attraction to Delaney Brown since childhood. She has finally reached the end of her rope with Del treating her as one of his kid sisters. Laurel angrily decides to teach Del a lesson and plants a smoldering kiss on his lips. That definitely changes the way Del thinks of her. Then the real story begins!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Bride Number 3

    I have always loved Nora Roberts Stories. A very descriptive writer can make me feel like I am right there in the story watching. Laurel in love with Delaney all her life, her hard work to make something of herself, her giving nature. It all comes together in a wonderful believable way. As a 30 year hobbyist of cake decorating I could really FEEL this story. I think they should make this series into movies.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Romance and fun - great escapism

    Laurel is the pastry chef extraordinaire at Vows and Delaney is their lawyer and her best friend's brother, not to mention a "Boston Brown". Laurel has never loved anyone else since she was little. One day, in a fit of pique. She kisses Del and everything changes. Can she live in the moment and not expect anything but companionship and great sex? Is she good enough for him when her parents fought all the time and she grew up with very little? Or is he just using her and she, him? Nora Roberts does what she does best - romance with a twist of adventure. This third book in the Bride Quartet is satisfying and sets the stage for the last book as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Never A Disapointment!!!

    I have read all of Nora's previous books including all of her series books and this one ranks very high. I love that this series has returned to her roots of good ole' fashion romance. The characters are all thought out and balance each other well. The relationship between the female and male characters is wonderful but I think the real foundation is the female characters together. They have created a family for themselves and revolve their worlds around it. If you have ever had a wonderful group of girlfriends you can relate completely. Absolutely can not wait until the final installment.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series!

    I love this new wedding series from Nora Roberts. I can't wait for the last book to come out. The group of characters have been friends since childhood and have overcome adversity, stayed together, and turned a childhhood game into a business that they thoroughly enjoy and that brings happiness to others. If you want to read a series that you can relax and completely enjoy, I would reccomend this one. Nora Roberts is one of my favorite authors.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 608 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31