Customer Reviews for

Savvy

Average Rating 4.5
( 497 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(370)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

What's your Savvy?

This work is completely engrossing! I was sneaking it around town just to finish. The flow of the adventure, the realness of the characters and the heart of the writing were key to the success of this piece of literature. Mibs is growing up and about to discover her ...
This work is completely engrossing! I was sneaking it around town just to finish. The flow of the adventure, the realness of the characters and the heart of the writing were key to the success of this piece of literature. Mibs is growing up and about to discover her savvy. Savvy in her family may mean something wild like moving mountains or gentle like baking a perfect cake. While this book looks at one family in particular, I couldn't help but wonder about my own savvy. I believe most readers will wonder about their hidden greatness and savvy.

Before the big day when Mibs finds her savvy, her father is in a horrible car accident. Her family is heartbroken. She and a gang of others go on a hysterical adventure to help her Poppa. On the adventure, she finds her savvy and much about growing up. This is a wonderful story for kids at that in-between age where they just don't feel as if they fit in. It has a wonderful realness to it in the midst of so much magic. I would highly recommend it!

posted by LibraryLisa on February 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Good

My son is 10 years old and he took this book off of the shelf in his Middle School library. I believe he said he "thought the cover looked cool" and that he heard it was a really good book.

My mother read some of it to him & then he began reading some of it but be...
My son is 10 years old and he took this book off of the shelf in his Middle School library. I believe he said he "thought the cover looked cool" and that he heard it was a really good book.

My mother read some of it to him & then he began reading some of it but began to struggle at some large words or hard-to-pronounce words he has never seen before.

I will have to keep this book to the side until next year or the following. It seems like it may turn out to be interesting but it didn't catch my attention right off the bat.

posted by ChrisP72 on October 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 500 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    What's your Savvy?

    This work is completely engrossing! I was sneaking it around town just to finish. The flow of the adventure, the realness of the characters and the heart of the writing were key to the success of this piece of literature. Mibs is growing up and about to discover her savvy. Savvy in her family may mean something wild like moving mountains or gentle like baking a perfect cake. While this book looks at one family in particular, I couldn't help but wonder about my own savvy. I believe most readers will wonder about their hidden greatness and savvy. <BR/><BR/>Before the big day when Mibs finds her savvy, her father is in a horrible car accident. Her family is heartbroken. She and a gang of others go on a hysterical adventure to help her Poppa. On the adventure, she finds her savvy and much about growing up. This is a wonderful story for kids at that in-between age where they just don't feel as if they fit in. It has a wonderful realness to it in the midst of so much magic. I would highly recommend it!

    49 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unique style

    Savvy is a uniquely-styled book that won Newbery honors last year. Its most outstanding feature is the rhythmic nonsense words that flood the prose, creating a style all its own. "Fibertygibbity," "a fizz and a zing," "jump and jive," "razzmatazz," "bumping, jumping," "stumbled and tumbled," "gewgaws," and ".loosening his lip-lock." Ms. Law has a very distinctive and catchy way of saying everything, which makes her book quite unforgettable.

    So how's the story, you ask? Fabulous! Every member of the Beaumont family is gifted with some kind of savvy that shows up on their thirteenth birthday. Grandpa stretches and manipulates the earth, Rocket's sparks with electricity, Fish creates tropical storms, Grandma catches and cans radio waves, and Mibs? She's about to find out. But just before her birthday, her father is in a terrible accident. In an attempt to get to him, she stows away on a pink Bible delivery bus and drags a lot of people into trouble with her. In the process, she learns that turning thirteen signals a lot more changes than just a savvy.

    The cast of characters contains some gritty, down-to-reality kinds of folks. The pastor, for one, is decidedly human. And Miss Rosemary, the preacher's wife, is well-meaning but someone you can't wait to wave good-bye to. Lester, the not-so-bright Bible deliveryman finds that confidence and a good woman sometimes go hand-in-hand. The kids, Will and Fish and Bobbi and Mibs, squabble and fight and end up better friends. And the Beaumonts? Even a savvy doesn't make you perfect, even when perfection is your savvy. By the end, you love them all.

    On top of a great story and great characters, Savvy is sprinkled with little life lessons that make the book all the tastier. Like "you can't get rid of part of what makes you you and be happy." Or "I realized that good and bad are always there and always mixed up together in a tangle." Or my favorite, "when something like that comes along, whether it's an accident or a savvy or a very first kiss, life takes a turn and you can't step back. All you can do is keep moving forward and remember what you've learned."

    While the gibberish words sometimes wore me down, and I imagine they might be challenging for a reader unfamiliar with them, they also add to the book's charm. And Savvy definitely has a lot of charm. Two thumbs way up!

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Savvy... This Book

    I may only be 11 but I love this book! The characters of this book are just amazing and interesting just like the book. There are 4 children in this book on each of there 13th birthdays they will get a Savvy what else happens you'll have to read it!!!

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun and endearing read

    This was a fun and endearing book. Mibs was such a fun character to follow during her journey into discovering herself, her abilities and some surprising friends along the way. Although the 'people with special powers' story has been told over and over now, Law's take on it is refreshing. Rather than creating heroes who have to save the world against deadly foes, the Beaumonts are simple people who want nothing more than to keep to themselves and have as normal of a life as possible. The best part of the book is watching Mibs's bravery and her indomitable spirit throughout some of the most difficult circumstances, simply because of the love she has for her own father.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    I love savvy

    I highly reccomend this fantastic book

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!

    I have read this book and it is amazing! one of the best books i have ever read!!!!!!! I recommend this book for 3-6 graders!! This book has all kinds of adventures and even comedy parts!!! Please read this book It rocks!!!!!!!!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    Love this book

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Good

    My son is 10 years old and he took this book off of the shelf in his Middle School library. I believe he said he "thought the cover looked cool" and that he heard it was a really good book.

    My mother read some of it to him & then he began reading some of it but began to struggle at some large words or hard-to-pronounce words he has never seen before.

    I will have to keep this book to the side until next year or the following. It seems like it may turn out to be interesting but it didn't catch my attention right off the bat.

    15 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    OKAY, 2 OR 3 STARS

    Don't bother buying this book. The plot wasnt great and all they did in the entire book is try to drive to the hospital, where her dad was staying. You know he's gonna be fine by the end of the book so the whole trip is kind of useless. DO NOT BUY!!!

    10 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Hi

    Should i buy it?

    9 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Great book

    It is an awesome book and I can't wait to read the book that comes after it

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    AWESOME

    I don't usually like to reread things but i have read savvy 5 TIMES this book is just so different from others i mean it sounds like a twilight type of thing but it is so not The uniqueness is what i like and the whole series is just amazing
    A
    MUST
    READ
    !!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Pretty good!

    It was pretty good. It was good enough that i read the second book called scumble! It was interesting. I would recomend it to someone who likes a good book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One pink bus and six misfits = Adventure?

    Join five kids, one bus driver, one waitress and a very large pink bus as one girl turns thirteen. Not your average birthday for Mibs Beaumont she must decide whether or not to trust the people she is with as she tries desperately to reach her father in the hospital. Join this ragtag group of misfits who learn they really do have something in common and its ok to be older and different. A thrilling tale and a perfect way to spend eight hours in the car. Ride away with Mibs, Fish, Will, Bobby, and Samson who join each other quite unexpectedly.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo.com

    This was a really fun book to read. <BR/><BR/>Mississippi, aka Mibs, and her family each get a magical gift, called a savvy, on their thirteenth birthday. Rocket, Mibs's brother, has the savvy of being able to control electricity. He is a lot like those comic book heroes, good-looking with electric sparks coming off of his hands. At thirteen, her other brother, Fish, found out that he can control weather, especially causing water storms. So at thirteen the kids become homeschooled and have to learn how to control their special abilities. <BR/><BR/>When the story opens, Mibs is two days away from turning thirteen herself. She is excited about her special birthday when her father is in a horrible twelve-car accident on the highway. He ends up in a coma in a hospital in Salina, Kansas. <BR/><BR/>When she gets her savvy, she is being taken care of by the minister's wife and all she can think of is how to get to her Poppa. Mibs, Fish, her little brother, Samson, and two of the minister's kids run away to find Poppa. SAVVY is the story of their adventures crossing Nebraska and Kansas, trying to control savvys, which is called scumbling, learning to see the good in people, and, of course, the courage it takes to act on your ideals and love. <BR/><BR/>I loved the writing in this book. The author uses a lot of figurative language. Besides metaphor and simile, Ingrid Law also uses a lot of alliteration in the telling of the story. Phrases such as pushing-pulling waves, itch and scritch of birthday buzz, or how about a gaggle of flat-footed goslings. It was remarkable how the author could use language to make this story even better than it already was. <BR/><BR/>So if you want to read a really good story about growing up or if you just love the sound of language, then this is the book for you. Have a really rad read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Amazing

    Its such a great book!!! The names are unique because it helps emphasize how much of a unique family they have. Its tells a story full of adventure,thrills,and some messes and a pinch of romance along the way amazing!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club.com

    Mississippi Beaumont can't wait for her 13th birthday, only days away, because that's when she'll officially get her savvy. All the Beaumont's, except Poppa, have a savvy that is uniquely their own. Mama is perfect, Grandpa Bomba makes new land, Rocket controls electricity and Fish can create storms and move water. Trouble is, the savvy is hard to control when it first comes in, and Mississippi, better known as Mibs, is nervous about what will happen at her party.<BR/><BR/>When her dad ends up in a coma in the hospital after a car accident and her mother leaves the family to be with him, the preacher's wife organizes a birthday party for Mibs, making all the Beaumonts nervous about what will happen on the big day. But the fun really starts when Mibs decides to stow away on a broken down Bible-delivery bus, hoping to reach Salina, Kansas, where she believes she can wake Poppa up. Along for the ride at her older brother Fish, her younger brother Samson, and the preacher's children, Bobbi and Will Junior.<BR/><BR/>Mibs has a great, down-to-earth voice, and readers will happily follow her as she explores issues of family, friendship, budding romance, and finding the things that are special inside each of us. You may just find yourself looking for your own special savvy. You can also look for games and a discussion guide at the publisher's Web site, www.penguin.com/teachersandlibrarians.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Okay

    Hard to get fora ten year old like my daughter

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    SAVVY BY INGRID LAW

    EVERY THING I SAY IN THIS REVIEW IS MY OPINION SO DONT GET MAD AT ME!! I really did not like the book it wadnt really my type but if you like it please dont take my opinion personaly. Although there is ALOT of thrilling adventure by far thisd is NOT the best book ever

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Hiya! :p

    Suck my flabby, crunchy, sweet, oversized, d&*%!!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 500 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25