Customer Reviews for

Say Goodnight, Gracie (Charlotte Zolotow Book Series)

Average Rating 5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Say Goodnight, Gracie.

    This was theeee best book ever! i swear! i read this book in 7th grade for a report and i fell in love. i didnt want it to end. i couldnt even put the book down. if someone says anything bad about this book, they have no heart. you really need to read this, if your looking for something attention catching, and this is coming from a girl who HATES reading! HATE IT! the title and cover caught my attention and i already knew it would b a good book. i loved it. i will never forget it. i cried while reading it. it was adorable. loving. sweet. sad. i felt i was in the book, i really did. i felt i knew the characters and as if i was there! i wish the world would read that book. this is defenitly a 5star book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    Say Goodnight Gracie

    This was such a great book! We had to read it for our summer reading. It made me laugh so many times, and then I ended up crying right after! A really good book and I recommend it to anyone looking for a good read. -MeghanLynn

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    So moving

    No matter how many times I read this book it still gets me. I cry every time I read it. Came upon this book by accident in 7th grade or so and have never forgotten about it. I can't wait untoly daughter is a little older so I can share this with her. It is unreal how much you can feel the characters pain... when I saw this on preorder I was so excited. One of the best books that I have ever read. Ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    A long time favorite of mine. I highly recommend.

    A long time favorite of mine. I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romance, Grief, and Glory.

    Morgan is young, smart, and fun loving person. Jimmy, her closest friend, who happens to be born within a week of her, is making his dancing career fly by the limits... Then tragedy strikes all because Jimmy didn't ride with her home.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    This book means a lot to me

    I lost my father to a drunk driver when I was 7. At 13 I read this book and it helped me grieve. I can honestly say I had not fully grieved or the reality had not sank in before reading this book. At that age you hardly meet people that understand what you are going through and this book said everything that I was feeling and made me not feel so ALONE. I truly thank Julie Reece Deaver. This book will always be important to me. I'm 27 now and I don't even know what happened to the one I had and suddenly thought about it. And when I saw the cover, I called my husband over and told him about it and started crying. It was a beautiful story and it will always be a part of me and my healing process, which, if you have unfortunately lost a loved one, you know, never truly ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

    Jimmy and Morgan have been friends all of their lives. After seventeen years of friendship, the two know everything about each other. There is no one in the world that knows as much about Morgan as Jimmy does. He knows how to calm her, how to make her brave, and how to make her laugh. <BR/><BR/>But after Jimmy is killed in a car crash, Morgan has a big void in her life -- one that used to be occupied by Jimmy's friendship. <BR/><BR/>The road to recovery is hard for Morgan. She doesn't know how she can live without Jimmy, this constant she's had her whole life. With the help of her parents, her aunt, Jimmy's parents, and a school friend, Morgan finally comes to cope with Jimmy's death. <BR/><BR/>Julie Reece Deaver writes a very touching story about losing a best friend. While hopefully readers never have to relate to this event, nevertheless, it is very touching and helps readers understand the importance of friendship and love. <BR/><BR/>SAY GOODNIGHT, GRACIE is a story to stay with readers for a lifetime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    WONDERFUL

    I read this book when my ELA teacher suggested it to me and said one of her daughters had read it and liked it. When i read this book i could't belive how heartwarming it is. this book shows a great example of what truelove and friendship is. ANYONE and EVERYONE should read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed this book so much. If you are the type that likes a good cry this is definately for you! The thing that I liked about this book is that it was fairly realistic and not only did it make you cry, but it makes you laugh as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    its awesome

    i loved this book i read it about three years ago, i chose it out of nowhere and i loved it within the first hour i read it completely it made me cry, and it taught me not to take things for granted its awesome i think every one should read it n yet after so long ive never been able to forgett about this book. ever!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    so sad...yet so good!

    I actually chose this book randomely..My teacher was telling us to hurry & get our books so we could go to class. So I saw it & picked it up. I read it & I loved it. This book made me cry & grieve, which is rare for me because i don't cry for things like books or movies. But for some reason I could connect to morgan. I could feel her pain. I love it, it was the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    One of my favorites

    I read this book when I was in junior hight then again when I got older. Could not put it down!!!! I makes you glad to have people in your life that mean so much to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Loved it.

    Wow, Jimmy is one heck of a friend! I loved, loved, LOVED this book. It makes me appreciate the best friends that I have a makes me happy to have them with me. We go through magnificent times and we go through rough times, we have our inside jokes and we have our secrets, but I wouldn't have my life lived any other way. It was recommended to me by my Language Arts teacher, it was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    this book made me look at life a different way

    this book jumped out at me when i read the intro. It made me realize its okay to be sensitive sometimes and cry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Couldn't put the book down

    I was born and raised in Sweden, with English as my second language, but when I was going to eight grade, my family and I went to the US and spent a year there. I had to go to school and reading books was of course mandatory. Say Goodnight, Gracie was the first book I read and I couldn't put the book down! I was rude enough to read it during supper, and I read in the car, where I usually end up sick after having read or such. This book is soo Good, it's great! The best book ever. Thank you Julie Reece Deaver, thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    The best book ever!

    Laughable, cryable, and everything in between! This book is in my top five booklist! I have recently read it and it is amazing and I could not stop crying!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2001

    Awesome book that's very touching

    My friend told me about this book and at first, the title kinda threw me off and made me go, 'This is gonna be boring.' But after I started reading it, I couldn't put it down and it made me cried at some parts...This is a great book if your looking for a teen type book that's not too much of the whole 'Like totally.' thing...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2001

    The best book ever written!!!

    Say goodnight gracie is truley the best book ever written!This is the type of book you can just read over and over again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    Amazing

    This book is amazing, it shows how hard life can be, and that you can over come it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    GREAT, EXELLENT AND ABSOLUTELY MAGNIFICENT

    I believe the title speaks for itself. This is a great 'girl' book. It is such a touching book. I SO recommend this to any teenage girl

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6