Customer Reviews for

Say When

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Hit close to home

    I love EB's books!! but this one hit me very close to where and what i am living. I wonder and wish I could ask EB how she came up with Griffin's point of view. I was moved by his emotions. So often we can not see or feel emotions from our husbands. And we wonder what is really going on in their heads. And more importantly, do they feel anything outside of a bed sheet?? Griffin had the chance to sleep with a great girl. but he knew that he loved only one and could be with only one. and i love his justifications for loving her with all of her quirks. Love is love. Sometimes it's hard to explain to the masses. So why try??? That's another book for EB. Thank you Elizabeth for putting into words something similar to what I am closely dealing with right now. Hope my life turns out as well as Griffin and Ellen's does in the end. Monica

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Loved it!

    I read this book in under 24 hours-I couldn't put it down! The synopsis is that a long married couple's marriage is coming undone, only the husband doesn't realize it. When Ellen, the wife, tells her husband, Griffin that she is having an affair and wants a divorce-you can really feel his pain and his disbelief that this is happening. Ellen is clearly in the midst of a midlife crisis. I think many women will relate to the situation, if not to her way of dealing with it. The way that Griffin and Ellen deal with their marriage problems and their child, shows us all that there is much to be said for the comfort of a love well known, and the sanctity of family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Elizabeth Berg delivers!

    For women that want more substance and reality with their reading, Elizabeth Berg always delivers. In "Say When", though written from the man's point of view, she delivers a believable scenario of a couple breaking up. How it impacts their child, the wife's strangeness and affair with a younger man, and the pain that we go through for those we love. Not a sappy book, but with honest emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    To Be Seen

    We all ultimately want to be seen by our partner for who we really are. Some people have the keen ability to look into another and see who they are. Although this may not be the central theme in Elizabeth Berg's work, it is significant none-the-less.

    Ellen and Griffin represent those couples that have hit a wall in their relationship. The growth has stopped and routines and regiments have set in. Ellen feels undervalued and underdeveloped causing her to embark on a love affair to feel more fulfilled.

    Griffin's patience serve as a reminder that some people, albeit a fictitious character in a novel, take their marriage vows seriously. This is a must read for those that are feeling disillusioned with the way in which people conduct their serious relationships. It was uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Inside His Head

    As a married woman I found it interesting to 'be inside the head' of the husband in this story--and felt his pain. His love for Ellen was unchanging, even if he himself did...I found it encouraging to think of a man feeling that way. Women often want to know about these deeper feelings within their husbands--but it seems that they are rarely communicated. I find it interesting, now reading some of the reviews for this book, that so many men panned it and so many women loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Very Enjoyable!

    I thought this book was an interesting twist on an often too typical problem in marriages. I genuinely felt for Griffon, and all that he was going through. I have passed my copy along to several friends, A very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    OK but not great

    This is the first book I've read by Elizabeth Berg and I found it to be stuck in neutral for the most part. When Ellen announces to Griffin that she was having an affair, even though he suspected it, I expected Griffin to be angrier and more upset at her than what he was. Instead he was passive as if the affair was going on for years and he accepted it as a part of their daily life. And who would condone their spouse living in the same house while leading separate lives with other people! Maybe a woman but not any man that I know. I look forward to reading other books by Elizabeth Berg even though this was a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    A must read

    This book gives insight as to why couples often divorce. Such real characters and down to earth writing. You can feel the anger, the sadness, and the recovery. Recommend it without reservations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Loved It!!!

    I haven't read Berg before, but thoroughly loved this book. I just ordered 3 more Berg books! I fell in love with both characters. It makes you realize how easily a routine can fall into a rut...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Not as realistic as I thought

    While I enjoyed the book and found some of the insights interesting, I find it impossible to believe that someone would sit back and allow a spouse to have an 'affair'. I don't think the true hurt was ever conveyed. I think the feelings depicted were those way past the initial impact. Still enjoyable and interesting. Always good to be reminded that it takes two, however, on some level it seemed to condone the affair which I belief is never acceptable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    Anyone can relate...

    I picked up this book because I was having one of those 'married moments' when you just can't go one more moment... I read it in one day, and came out of it with a empowered, and enlightened feeling. I was able to identify with all the characters, and it was such effortless reading. Highly recommended,I am going to pass it around to all the women in my life. It is very important to be reminded that men have fears and weaknesses, and it was nice to hear one man's perspective!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Great book

    Elizabeth Berg is a fantastic author. This book is great. It is so realistic and it explores what it feels like to be cheated on in a relationship. It also is a great example that marriages arent always perfect and that to make a marriage work, it takes both partners. A perfect book for couples to read together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    great!

    First, I couldn't book the book down. I am one to never believe a man's feelings when they state that they are hurt since men really don't show emotion. When I read this book it really changed my mind !!! I think this is a great book to read so that women can actually know how a man thinks when the affair happens to them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    Great novel

    I thought this book was great, I read it in three hours because I couldn't put it down. I loved that it was from the point of view of the husband, and even though it was pretty sad, I still really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    I enjoyed this

    I finished it in a weekend, it was different to read about a marriage affair from the view of the husband and I fell in love with their daughter Zoe. Not one of Berg's best, but I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Wonderful

    This is a wonderful book that shows the other side of a marriage. We learn that men react to heartache the same way women do, Griffin's character is heartwarming. You can relate to his reactions to lifes dilemna's. Can't wait to start another Elizabeth Berg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Disappointment

    I found this book boring. Griffin's reactions were more feminine than masculine. Ellen's wanting to talk every other scene grew old and Zoe's whining was annoying. If it wasn't for the Santa scenes, this book would get one star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A heartwarming tale

    Frank Griffin loves his wife and his eight-year-old daughter Zoe and is prepared to do everything in his power to keep his family together. He suspects his wife Ellen is having an affair with her teacher who is giving a night course in auto repair, but Frank is prepared to wait until she comes to her senses and gets it out of her system and never confront her with it.<P> It is Ellen who brings things out in the open by admitting she is in love with Peter and wants a divorce. Griffin refuses to give her one and won¿t move out of the house or their bedroom. Ellen finds the whole situation awkward and finally moves into her own apartment but she¿s at the house every day to take care of their daughter until Griffin comes home. Their impasse is finally broken when Griffin is ready to listen to what Ellen needs to say.<P> There is not a lot of action in SAY WHEN but it is a fascinating character study about two people who share space but fail to communicate. There are many funny moments in the book especially the scene when Ellen and her date meet Griffin and his date at the movie house. The two protagonists are both decent and kind people who go out of their way to make sure any disruptions in their daughter¿s life are kept to a minimum. Elizabeth Berg has written a heartwarming tale focusing on human frailties.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2