Customer Reviews for

Say When

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Elizabeth Berg delivers!

    For women that want more substance and reality with their reading, Elizabeth Berg always delivers. In "Say When", though written from the man's point of view, she delivers a believable scenario of a couple breaking up. How it impacts their child, the wife's strangeness and affair with a younger man, and the pain that we go through for those we love. Not a sappy book, but with honest emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    A must read

    This book gives insight as to why couples often divorce. Such real characters and down to earth writing. You can feel the anger, the sadness, and the recovery. Recommend it without reservations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Loved It!!!

    I haven't read Berg before, but thoroughly loved this book. I just ordered 3 more Berg books! I fell in love with both characters. It makes you realize how easily a routine can fall into a rut...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    Anyone can relate...

    I picked up this book because I was having one of those 'married moments' when you just can't go one more moment... I read it in one day, and came out of it with a empowered, and enlightened feeling. I was able to identify with all the characters, and it was such effortless reading. Highly recommended,I am going to pass it around to all the women in my life. It is very important to be reminded that men have fears and weaknesses, and it was nice to hear one man's perspective!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Great book

    Elizabeth Berg is a fantastic author. This book is great. It is so realistic and it explores what it feels like to be cheated on in a relationship. It also is a great example that marriages arent always perfect and that to make a marriage work, it takes both partners. A perfect book for couples to read together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    great!

    First, I couldn't book the book down. I am one to never believe a man's feelings when they state that they are hurt since men really don't show emotion. When I read this book it really changed my mind !!! I think this is a great book to read so that women can actually know how a man thinks when the affair happens to them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    Great novel

    I thought this book was great, I read it in three hours because I couldn't put it down. I loved that it was from the point of view of the husband, and even though it was pretty sad, I still really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A heartwarming tale

    Frank Griffin loves his wife and his eight-year-old daughter Zoe and is prepared to do everything in his power to keep his family together. He suspects his wife Ellen is having an affair with her teacher who is giving a night course in auto repair, but Frank is prepared to wait until she comes to her senses and gets it out of her system and never confront her with it.<P> It is Ellen who brings things out in the open by admitting she is in love with Peter and wants a divorce. Griffin refuses to give her one and won¿t move out of the house or their bedroom. Ellen finds the whole situation awkward and finally moves into her own apartment but she¿s at the house every day to take care of their daughter until Griffin comes home. Their impasse is finally broken when Griffin is ready to listen to what Ellen needs to say.<P> There is not a lot of action in SAY WHEN but it is a fascinating character study about two people who share space but fail to communicate. There are many funny moments in the book especially the scene when Ellen and her date meet Griffin and his date at the movie house. The two protagonists are both decent and kind people who go out of their way to make sure any disruptions in their daughter¿s life are kept to a minimum. Elizabeth Berg has written a heartwarming tale focusing on human frailties.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1