Customer Reviews for

Say You Love Me (Malory Family Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The best out of all the Mallorys.

Say You Love Me is definitely UNIQUE. Derek Mallory is a loving, tender and chivalrous hero who takes his responsibilities seriously, while Kelsey Langton is a selfless, strong-willed heroine who has good survival instincts. The storyline is different, a bit darker t...
Say You Love Me is definitely UNIQUE. Derek Mallory is a loving, tender and chivalrous hero who takes his responsibilities seriously, while Kelsey Langton is a selfless, strong-willed heroine who has good survival instincts. The storyline is different, a bit darker than the others (Kelsey Langton is auctioned off to the highest bidder at a house of ill-repute frequented by aristocrats The villain is a sadistic, murderous lord). But somehow the lovestory/family bantering keeps this novel light. I bought this novel before I went off to watch a movie, and actually ended up ditching the movie to read this novel. I finished this in about TWO HOURS and re-read the whole book just two days later! It is defnitely romantic, much better than Jeremy's story. In fact, Jeremy Malory is more interesting in THIS book than he is in his OWN book ('A Loving Scoundrel'). Personally I love the friendship between Percy, Derek and Jeremy- whenever those three are thrown in together, they create the most hilarious scenes in the book! You will literally laugh out loud!! The next book in this series is Jeremy's story, but unfortunately, it is not as witty, romantic and engaging as Say You Love Me. In the past Malory books, Percy, Derek and Jeremy would always make an appearance that will guarantee you laughter, but alas, the threesome are no more by the last Malory book.

posted by Anonymous on February 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just ok!!!!

The main characters and their story was really good, but parts of the book just dragged!!! A little disappointed in this JL book

posted by FFC70 on November 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    Another perfect Malory novel

    This book took me for a ride. I love all the Malory novels and this one is no exception. With all the plot twists and Derek finally finding out who his real mother is was something I didn't expect. A must read for all Malory lovers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    another Malory masterpiece!

    sweet and touching, yet hilarious! the Malorys are by far the best storyline created by Johanna Lindsey. gotta love James and Anthony!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Hope she writes more in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Wouldn't recommend.

    When I was looking for something new to read and found this book with it's endless stellar reviews, I thought I would thoroughly enjoy it. I was wrong, and I'm glad only I paid $3 for it. I had to ditch it around pg 50, although I did skim through the rest of the book just to see what eventually happened. I have never read a Johanna Lindsay book so I definitely was not aware of all the other characters in other books that I'm pretty sure show up in this one, that made it more confusing than anything else, although I can understand that is how series in books work. I just couldn't get into the writing style or the characters. Nothing about the characters made me want to care about them, I didn't find them funny (maybe I would have if I had read the other books?), the story was predictable and by the time I got done skimming the book- I found that everything I had suspected in the first 50 pages had come true. The writing style just wasn't my preference. I know most of the reviews are wonderful and I am in the minority of those who didn't enjoy it, but I just don't see the awesomeness of the book. It just wasn't good for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Not bad

    I didn't know what to expect with this book. It's a very easy (and affordable) read. I really enjoyed the two main characters, especially the strength of Kelsey. I thought the bad guy was going to be weak and cheesy but I was proven to be VERY wrong. The ending was a little weak but i enjoyed the book so much it didn't bother me.
    It's a great period piece and has a different twist from other romance novels. I won't say it's the best, but worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    LOVE!!

    I've enjoyed reading the Malory family series. This was an excellent book
    that had me spending all of my spare time reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Eh

    If you dont read all the books in order you wont get it. There are alot of parts where it just keeps going back to the other books in the series and it confused me so its not a stand alone book. The book was okay not as good as id thought

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    I won't be popular here but...this was boring and predictible...

    This is the second book by JL that I read this past year. I read many of her many other books years ago, the moved away from her as I got bored and tried again in late 05¿-06¿ to see if she was more interesting now. I also read ¿A Loving Scoundrel¿ (not bad) and then ¿Say You Love Me¿ (fair). Neither book was bad they simply weren¿t¿.great. The story was plausible and the characters believable, I just didn¿t feel any connection to the main hero and heroine Derek and Kelsey. The plot itself was fine, the action and developments not unusual it¿s just¿Derek wasn¿t all that interesting and frankly, neither was Kelsey. The plot was very basic - girl sells herself to help her family, she pretends to be someone she¿s not, great looking rich guy with title buys her to save her, makes her his mistress, they learn to like and love one another, he wants to marry her, she refuses to avoid scandals to both families, and from there all the details, misconceptions and issues are brought to life. Especially other family secrets long hidden along the way. There were moments when I thought things might get interesting such as Kelsey slapping Derek the first time he got frisky with her as she thought it was his cousin that bought her and not him, then when Kelsey was left alone at his cottage for days without food, water or provisions and she had to fend for herself or when Kelsey finally told cousin Reggie about the whole situation and the truth finally came out but¿nothing went much farther than the basics. Many side characters were interesting in this book ¿ the ENTIRE Malory family ¿ especially the uncles. Even with the evil villain Ashford brought into the story, everything was predictable - Ashford would find Kelsey, make her pay for going with Derek instead of him at the auction and a serious brawl would ensue. Nothing was awful or boring or terrible in this story ¿ it just stayed a bit light and perky for me. Give me MORE in a historical romance ¿ passion, intensity, desire, EMOTIONS. I imagine those of you who are already JL fans will continue to be fans with this book. Those who are not fans will find this story just ok, not at all memorable. I¿ll move on and work with other authors that give me that excitement and joy you get when reading a really powerful and beautiful love story. Wish I could give glowing reviews but, I can¿t. She gets three stars for who she is and trying.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2002

    1st and definately not the last book I ever read by her!

    Say You Love Me was the first Johanna Lindsey book that I ever read. Ever since then I have been a dedicated Johanna Lindsey fan. I have started collecting her books. Every time I go to a book store I buy one of her books that I don't already have. I love this book. I read it all the time. It is a truly moving story. I hope that everyone who reads this book will love it as much as I do!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2001

    A Great Romance!!!!!!!!

    I just fell in love with this book! The story was great with a little mixture of everything! You have to love Derek! Only a woman like Kesley could tame him! If you are a Malory fan this is a must-read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2000

    Simply Romantic

    ...A romance novel you won't regret reading...One of the best I've ever read... If you haven't met the Malory clan, this is a great place to start.. It pulls you in close, takes you to great heights, spinning faster and faster, until finally, all secrets are revealed, all tensions released, and she leaves you begging for another taste of that wonderful magic that is sprung into your heart at the beginning......A definite page turner.....A great ride...A Wonderful book....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    This is the ONE that started it for me.

    I was in the library, if you can believe that, and i saw the title and i knew i had to read it. I've been a fan since then (three years ago)ANd i now only need five more fot the whole collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    a wonderful novel!!

    i've started reading Ms. Lindsey's books four years ago and honestly, i was particularly impressed with her worked them. now that, i've read most of her malory novels, i admit even i'm pretty much interested with that family. this novel was very touching and romantic. the kind of romance that defies all odds and love conquers in the end. after reading the novel, i wished i was part of their story. all in all, this is a truly wonderful romance!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    Malory's are well worth it

    I have read nearly all of the malory family sagas and this is my all time fav. This is the first one that hooked me to the malory's and I adore it. Kelsey and Derek are a great couple and keep you reading to the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Kathy hello?

    Hello?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Fu.ck

    No its just a name

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Susan

    Listens to music unaware

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyed the whole series

    I read the whole Malory series (up through 10 and I'd love to learn there are more on the way), and I enjoyed reading all of them.

    The Malory men are virile, sometimes roguish, humorous, devilishly handsome (I know ... sounds like every good Victorian England romance book, but you can't help but appreciate them), and their women are strong, intelligent, and unafraid. The dynamics between brothers, spouses, in-laws, were all fresh and entertaining.

    I highly recommend this and the other Malory stories. I would say that they're best read in order. I accidentally read #3 first and had to replay some things in my mind when I got back to numbers 1 and 2.

    Worth noting, because this is always important to me, is the length. This book was just shy of 300 pages. Pretty much all of the books in this series are right around the 300 page mark.

    You can read this book singly if you like. It's not one of those series that leaves you hanging at the end of one book, requiring that you get the next one in order to bring the story to completion. I'm just warning you that you'll want to read more by the time you finish this, so take my advice and plan to read this one - after you've finished numbers 1 through 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Damn Jason and the very big bombshells that he gets to drop or h

    Damn Jason and the very big bombshells that he gets to drop or have dropped on him. These little tidbits surpasses any other Malory scandals. Derek & Kelsey provide me with lots of entertainment.




    Lindsey gave the Malory family another entertaining love connection and the villain was truly a villain of epic proportions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    highly recommend

    very enjoyable reading. Just love the Malory family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11