BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scam-Proof Your Life: 377 Smart Ways to Protect You & Your Family from Ripoffs, Bogus Deals & Other Consumer Headaches

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    Nice job, Sid

    I look forward to the author's Scam Alert articles in the AARP news each month. In this book, he maintains his quality level of work, if not exceeding it. Scam Alert usually tells the stories of victims of particular scams and then offers prevent this from happening to you guidence. In his book, Sid gives hundreds of useful tips and actions, all provided by named experts, to help you solve any possible consumer problem you may encounter. The advice is not the usual BS you read elsewhere that is comon sense. Rather, the tips talk about secret ways your identity is stolen and how you get overcharged in sleazy non publicized ways. I am a AARP member, but you don't have to be to benefit from Scam Proof Your Life. I have lend it my children who are in their 30's and they have also found it more than useful, and helping to save them money. I am pleased to know that this guy works hard to protect Americans from crooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a fantastic book. Like other reviewers, I found it to be a must buy, an important read, and a great use of my time and money. After reading Scam-Proof Your Life, you will absolutely, positively save money, be a more savvy consumer, and learn stuff you never knew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    Feel Smarter

    I watched this author on Oprah and thought he knew his stuff. Bought this book a few days later and he proved he knew his stuff. Solid advice throughout with a who's who of consumer experts giving it. I feel smarter after reading SCAM Proof Your Life and just wanted to spread the word so maybe you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    If you buy anything, buy this book first

    Whether you're a teenager or a senior citizen, Sid Kirchheimer wil open your eyes to the many sinister ways in which greedy people will try to take your money. This book is indispensible to anyone who buys goods and services of any kind. With the skills of an invesigative reporter, Kirchheimer exposes the many ways any of us can get scammed. He's a clear and enteraining writer who knows his stuff. Kirchheimer has written an important book that will surely rankle those who for so long have taken advantage of us consumers. Full of practial and useful advice, and worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    A sure buy

    This book opened my eyes about various scams and dirty dealings that occur every day. It's not only informative, but also a good read. Other books that are packed with information can sometimes be overwhelming, but this one has a breezy flow and writing style. Very well organized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    A must read for everyone

    This book was informative and easy to understand. Thumbs up~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Get this Book. Protect Yourself and Your Family

    This book is very rich in content. It has easy to understand examples and information to follow to protect you from rotten people who prey on the elderly and the vulnerable. I love this book for what it can do for everyone! Don't be a victim! Get this book and begin today protecting your life from crooks. If you have older parents get this book and help them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Very worthwhile

    This is an excellent book that contains a lot of useful information. Strange enough, I first learned of Scam-Proof Your Life at a session for parents of high school students preparing for college. The speaker recommended this book, which has a very good chapter on getting college scholarships. I wouldn't expect that kind of information in a book from AARP, but this one has plenty of nice surprises, like advice from a professional burglar on where you should and shouldn't hide valuables, and tips from car salesmen on how they rip you off. Most of the information is about everyday issues on how to save money, and some I have heard, but I learned a great deal of new things reading this. I am writing this review because I had to buy this book online because it was not in stock at my local bookstore. Therefore, I think this is one of those books that most people probably do not know about it, but they should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Incredible!!!

    This book is a God-send. When I refinanced my mortgage recently, I followed the advice to shave nearly $600 in closing costs that I would have paid. I have used it to shop for a car, get a new credit card, etc. I am a more confident consumer than I have ever been, thanks to this useful tome of tips and techniques. I also feel well-prepared against the numerous scams outlined in this book. Well-written, witty and thoroughly researched, this book was the best $15 I have spent in years. Truly a masterpiece that you will use day after day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Tried and True

    I bought this book six weeks ago, after hearing the author on a radio program. Since then, I have tried some of the advice detailed in this book and have never been disappointed with the outcome. Although this book offers very good information on preventing scams, including some I never knew existed, it is primarily an extremely well-researched and thorough guide on how to make the most of your money and be a smarter consumer. I read many books on personal finance and believe this one has provided with me far more practical information than the others on everyday and big-ticket purchases. It was very handy when we went car shopping last week and I believe it helped us get a better deal, as we have been shopping since the summer. I strongly recommend it to everyone. It is easy to read and in fact, entertaining and humorous in some parts, and always gets to the point quickly. You will be surprised by how much you will learn in every section (the book is arranged by subjects such as cars, homes, credit cards, etc.) I keep my copy on my bedroom nightstand table, instead of our bookshelf, because I refer to it so often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    The Real Education

    I was sitting on the beach reading this tome of knowledge, and no less than 50 people asked me about it. This is a necessary read for anyone who spends money or time out in the real world. Extremely well documented, an easy layout to pick out the sections you need, and the family anecdotes make this very enjoyable which is not often said of consumer help books. I have already saved more than I spent on the book by following Mr. Kirchheimer's advice on travel. THIS book should be given to every college graduate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    From a non-fiction addict who's so cheap, I squeak.

    I was pleasantly surprised by the range of pertinent information this book covers. If I use just one of the seemingly more than 377 tips, I'll save my cover price expense multiple times over. Great inside info for all ages that can be put to use immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    Outstanding resource

    I thought I would sit down for a few minutes and skim the book, but I couldn't put it down. This book is jam-packed with helpful tips and lots of information that I didn't know, and I generally consider myself a savvy shopper. I realize now how many times I've stepped right into a consumer trap without even realizing what had happened. The author interviewed hundreds of industry 'insiders,' people who are in the best position to tell you how to avoid being ripped off when buying a car, getting a mortgage or credit card, paying a hospital bill, and much more. The section on identity theft should be required reading. This is a valuable book for anyone from high school age (for information about buying a car and the best ways to get money for college) and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    A great book for anyone

    I have enjoyed and learned a lot reading the author's AARP column, and I bought this book based on that. But it has exceeded my expectations. This book contains page after page of useful, practical information, and despite its title suggesting it's about protecting your money, the 'Protect Your Health' has some of the best information on preventing medical errors and staying healthy that I have ever seen. This book is a great investment in yourself, whether or not you are a AARP member. I'm buying a copy for each of my 3 children because I'm keeping mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    A MUST FOR EVERY HOME

    If you buy one book this year, this is the one -- it will more than pay for itself several times over. Don't read it cover-to-cover, but read it at your leisure, with whatever topic seems to capture your interest at the time. Before you know it, you'll have read every page and will be recommending it to friends and family. The content covers every age group, every economic situation, and everyone who either rents or owns a home or apartment, owns a cell phone, a computer, a car, a telephone, or has a student in college, etc. No one should miss this book Sid Kirchheimer, AARP's 'Scam Alert' expert, has done us all a service by writing this book. Don't miss this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1