BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scandal

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Good

    Very good. At first i thought it would be stupid. She hit him in the head with a kite! But it tturned out to be the best book ive read in awhile. 233 pages and i read it in a day and a half

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Another FABULOUS Tale by Ms. Britton!!

    Ms. Britton does it again in this romantic and witty tale of a Duke forced to live as a commoner for a month in order to keep his inheritance and a smart and sassy 'commoner' who is not so common at all. Rein Montgomery is dismayed to learn that, in order to keep his inheritance, his uncle the former Duke of Wroxly, has set up a scheme that he must live as a commoner for a month and survive by his wits alone. Literally dropped from his carriage in the middle of St. Giles, the recklessly wicked duke is immediately set upon and knocked senseless...by a kite! The kite's owner, a Miss Anna Brooks is a market maid by day, and an inventor in her spare time. She is anything but common, from her unnatural beauty, to her sassy wit, and the very unfeminine-like pursuit of actually using her brain! She is a smart girl, brought low by circumstances, and yet still manages to keep her spirits and values. This unlikely pair soon find themselves falling in love-with each other, while trying to survive everyday life in St. Giles, win a competition, and run for their very lives. They then have to overcome their own issues of self confidence and the extreme difference of their stations in life to see if love really can conquer all. I definitely recommend this book, and if you haven't read any of Ms. Britton's others, get to the bookstore and pick them up! This one is destined for my keeper shelf, right next to her others!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Scandal

    I hate to gush but I'm just so amazed by this author. I was very impressed with SEDUCED and TEMPTED but to my joy she just gets better and better. SCANDAL is the sequel to TEMPTED so if you liked that book you definately need to read this one too. Anna Brooks is a market maid with a tragic past. When she meets Rein Drummond she knows immediately that he's a gentleman. Unfortunately she's also responsible for injuring the man and so she's forced to take him in. But he speaks as if he's a duke (he is) and he makes it perfectly clear that he wants more than one night from Anna. He wants HER. Oh boy. That's the set up, and it sounds simple, but Ms. Britton is a master at taking the familiar and making it her own. Believe me, I was laughing and tearing up the whole way through this book and when I was done I was so upset!! I didn't want it to end. Don't hesitate to buy this book if you love Ms. Britton's work. And if you love to laugh buy this book. Oh man! Just buy the book because I really don't think you'll be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    I LOVED IT!!!!!

    Set in 1819, England. Fantastic, didn't want to put it down. It brought tears to my eyes towards the end. I can't decide if I like this book more than I liked 'Tempted'. They're both sooo good, I think these two were much better than the first 'Seduced'. Also 'Scandal' reminded me of the book 'The Seduction' by Julia Ross. There's a wager to be won in that book also. Ms Britton does get better and better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    Scandal

    One of the great things about being a reveiwer for an online e-zine is the chance to reader wonderful books before they come out. Scandal is one of those rare books. This is an author who, in just a year, has proven herself to be THE up and coming author of historical romance novels. Her stories never fail to make this reviewer laugh and cry. But with Scandal, she reaches new heights. By far her best book to date, I don't want to spoil the plot for you by revealing the details of the book. Just trust me. This is Britton at her best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    fine Regency tale

    The Duke of Wroxley never hid that he detested his nephew Charles Montgomery for taking his son and heir down a wastrel path filled with pranks. So when his son died and Charles became the heir, the Duke insured that the young man would prove worthy with a stipulation in his will. Charles must live in the St. Giles slum for one month without telling anyone or receiving outside help to inherit anything not entailed.<p> In 1819, Charles becomes the Duke and learns of the codicil when he is unceremoniously dumped in St. Giles. Almost immediately, he is knocked out cold by a kite owned by resident Anna Brooks, who takes the injured duke to recover for a few hours in her home. However, he wants to spend more than a few hours with the lovely intelligent Anna and her zany uncle; soon he wants a lifetime with his savior.<p> This is a fun tale due to the antics of Anna, inventor extraordinaire, and her wacky uncle. Dog lovers will agree with Charles¿ uncle that his nephew is a reprobate. Still to his credit, even as he realizes that he is clearly out of his element in the London slums, he is willing to remain there for a lifetime if it is with Anna. Regency readers will enjoy this fine fish out of sea tale.<p> Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Tad Disappointing

    I read the reviews and was SO excited to read this book. I was already laughing after reading the sample, so I figured it wouldn't be so bad to spend $10.00 on a good book. I was totally wrong. Where was the SCANDAL in this book??????? I don't want to give anything away but please trust me that there is no scandal worthy of the title. Just one money hungry person lying and that is definitely not a scandal. And Annie started out to be such a great female but quickly seemed as though she had PMS throughout the book. Almost as soon as Rein entered her life, she lost her spark. The two sex scenes were so lackluster and uninspiring........saying I was disappointed would be the understatement of the year!!!! I really wish there was a way to get my money back. Needless to say, I will never purchase another book by this author. (FRG)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1