Customer Reviews for

Scandal in Spring (Wallflower Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was cute and entertaining!!

Well, first off, i'm wondering where did Matthew Swift suddenly come from. I seriously thought that Kleypas was hinting a romance for Daisy and Rohan from the previous book. When i read this one i was just like, "Where did Rohan go?" He was conveniently withheld from th...
Well, first off, i'm wondering where did Matthew Swift suddenly come from. I seriously thought that Kleypas was hinting a romance for Daisy and Rohan from the previous book. When i read this one i was just like, "Where did Rohan go?" He was conveniently withheld from this one. Do not get me wrong. I do not form some kind of grudge to Matt. I actually liked his character very much. Lilian annoyed me the most in the story though. Everyone who has read the other wallflower books know that she an opinionated woman and we all know that she cares for Daisy deeply but the fact that wanted to keep Daisy by her side so selfishly as to hate and badmouth Swift so much made her appeared so childish. She's so full of herself.
****SPOILER****
If she did not help Matt when he was going to get arrested i would have hated her. The only reason i started liking her again was just because of that but she was extremely annoying until 55pages away from the ending....

posted by Genevieve54 on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Like Daisy

This is the last re-read of the series. I like Daisy. She seems very Alice Cullen like. This book seems to wrap everything up. I don't care for Lillian in this book though.

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Like Daisy

    This is the last re-read of the series. I like Daisy. She seems very Alice Cullen like. This book seems to wrap everything up. I don't care for Lillian in this book though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    A fantastic conclusion for the Wallflowers!

    The story of Daisy and Matthew Swift has its ups and downs. There's on obvious attraction between the two, but Daisy can't make up her mind as to what she wants to do with regard to young Mr. Swift. Matthew on the other hand has always loved Daisy, but he is afraid to get involved with her due to the circumstances of his past. Will they or won't they? All of your favorite characters are brought back for this wonderful conclusion to the Wallflower series. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was cute and entertaining!!

    Well, first off, i'm wondering where did Matthew Swift suddenly come from. I seriously thought that Kleypas was hinting a romance for Daisy and Rohan from the previous book. When i read this one i was just like, "Where did Rohan go?" He was conveniently withheld from this one. Do not get me wrong. I do not form some kind of grudge to Matt. I actually liked his character very much. Lilian annoyed me the most in the story though. Everyone who has read the other wallflower books know that she an opinionated woman and we all know that she cares for Daisy deeply but the fact that wanted to keep Daisy by her side so selfishly as to hate and badmouth Swift so much made her appeared so childish. She's so full of herself.
    ****SPOILER****
    If she did not help Matt when he was going to get arrested i would have hated her. The only reason i started liking her again was just because of that but she was extremely annoying until 55pages away from the ending....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Great

    I started reading lisa kleypas novels after picking up Wallflower Christmas and have not stopped since. This is one of my favorites from the wallflower series. Daisy is just as entertaining as her sister and i realy appreciated the relatability of the characters. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Engaging

    I don't know how Lisa Kleypas does it, but every book of hers is always a pleasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Daisy finds love

    I love the Bowman sisters and related more to Lillian, but found Daisy's story very touching. You're ready to hate Swift, but Kleypas write characters into your heart and he is no exception. If you have enjoyed the series so far, this will not disappoint you. Daisy's personality is so heart-warming, if you weren't in love with her before, you can't help but fall in love with her after this read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Really Cute!

    I think that this novel was one of the best of the wallflowers series. I think that Daisy makes for a great character. She doesn't care what others think and just wants to embrace life to be happy. She dedicates herself to something that she find meaningful and doesn't go back on her word. This was a great read for relaxing and not thinking about everything else going on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet Escape

    This is the fourth book in the Wallflower series. Each one brings something special and different. Daisy's story is no exception. It brings a sweetness not found in the other books. Daisy is a dreamer who yearns for love. She simply wishes it wasn't from the man her authoritative father chose. She resists him as much as he resists her. She, because he's her fathers favorite. He, because he has a secret that won't let him accept her love. The novel doesn't deviate from the standard formula but Ms. Kleypas has a way of engaging the reader with lovable characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    A most loving and giving romance

    This book ended the series with a such a heartfelt romance between Daisey and Matthew. She was delightful. He was wonderfully tragic. This and Devil in Winter were my favorites in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    A Perfect Ending...

    I loved this series and was very pleased with Daisy's (my favorite Wallflower) story. Lisa Kleypas is a beautiful writer and lovers of romance should read all of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    Disappointed by Daisy's regretful unmarried status, despite thre

    Disappointed by Daisy's regretful unmarried status, despite three seasons in London, Thomas Bowman sets his foot down:

    "This is my ultimatum," Bowman said. "Find a suitable husband by the end of May, or I will give you to Swift."

    Silly man, don't you know ultimatums make us want to do the exact opposite?! Scandal in Spring is the final installment of the wonderful Wallflowers series featuring Daisy Bowman, Lillian's younger sister. Oh, she has a task ahead of her indeed, but leave it to Daisy to go after what she wants no matter the objections. And there are plenty, surprisingly from the intended himself! Lisa Kleypas captures romantic essence and enchants effortlessly as always.

    Surprisingly, at the beginning of Chapter 3, I was rather deflated. Where's the Kleypas that makes me ask Albert to bring home dinner, makes me ignore the girls? I kid, I kid...(they're sure not going to read this to prove otherwise!) Thomas Bowman, bully that he is, is going to force Daisy to marry Matthew Swift, a "cold, self-righteous prig". Or so she thought! Who knew this boorish man (whom Lillian loathes as well) would not only mature and transform his former "bag of bones" physique into that of a swoon-worthy specimen, but keep secrets of his own ruination? This is the Kleypas that never disappoints! Matthew has twists that are bound to unravel.

    The secrets of his past haunted his present and endangered his future. Matthew was never without the awareness that the identity he had created for himself could be blown to bits at any moment. All it would take was for one person to put two and two together...one person to recognize him for what and who he really was. Daisy deserved a husband who was honest and whole, not one who had built his life on lies.

    Unfortunately, we do go through several chapters more before the issue of Matthew's duplicity is again mentioned. True to form, however, is Kleypas' steady, experienced hand. She carefully made a darling of Daisy from the beginning of the series. Attach a confident, enigmatic Matthew and you come to crave their connection; you want them in constant contact, demonstrating in glances what they were too afraid to admit.

    When Matthew is too dense to court Daisy, leave it to him to say no without explanations, Daisy decides upon a new strategy: Make herself the object of another's interest. Doesn't take much to rile him after that. Being with Daisy (succumbing to her advances -- she was so bold!) was a gift Matthew never thought possible. Although slower-paced than the other Wallflower stories, Kleypas' masterful, methodical approach of their relationship was engaging. The seduction was splendid; a feast of delicious banter to outweigh the awkwardness of any person's first time. The courtship, though unconventional (you'll understand once you read it), was full of romance and adoration. Soooo sweet!

    But just when the tide turns in favor of a genuine love match (though more expressed through actions right now -- not complaining!), Matthew's past stalks right in. The ominous prediction of a fortune-teller at a local festival startles Daisy:

    Sweet the night a heart was given, bitter turns the day. A promise made in April...a broken heart in May.

    Just how bad is Matthew's secret? A scandal worthy of pushing away Daisy? A wallflower no more, and never a wilting one at that, Daisy was "so delicate and yet was remarkably hardy". Don't underestimate the love of a determined woman!

    A fitting finale for a first-rate series. I loved the camaraderie and affection between each Wallflower as well as her perfectly-paired partner. Kleypas is a brilliant author who knows how to thrill her audience and keep them wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Excellent story

    The last of the wallflowers, Daisy, finds her true love in this story.
    Once again Lisa presents a wonderful tale of the trials of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    loved it! so sweet and engaging 

    loved it! so sweet and engaging 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    It was a good book

    It was a good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Scandal in springtime

    Iloved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Very enjoyable read

    I loved all the books in this series. Wonderful concept and like heroines. But sometimes you just want to slap the hero up the side of his head!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Very Cute.

    This is probably my least favorite in the entire series, but it's still a good story nonetheless. Kleypas never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!

    This is a terrific series. Good story lines but if you are a prude skip over the sex scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best of the Wallflower Series

    Scandal in Spring is the best of the Wallflower Series. Just loved Daisy and Matthew's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12